We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and quite location”
Review of Caretta Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caretta Beach
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gerani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My family really enjoyed the nine day we stayed at the hotel in July and we recommend it to other families and others that want a quiet and a relaxing vacation. The food is good both at the hotel and the hotel next door, which has a more extensive menu. The beach is nice and have some snorkling opportunites at a reef a couple of hundred meters away. And if you are really lucky you can see some Caretta turtles. There was a nest only 15 meters from the hotel at our stay. The Gerani village fills the basic needs and have enough tavernas, bars and shops for your daily needs. Platanias and Agia Marina are a few kilometers away and have a Lidl shop, souvenirs, internet cafés, lots of restaurants and feels very exploited.

Room Tip: As always in Greece and Turkey the beds are really hard
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristianP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Caretta Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Me and my family had a lovely stay at Caretta beach hotel. It is a quiet hotel with a frendly athmosphere. The pool is good sized and the hotel is just by the beach, so the kids spend more time in the water then on land. Thea, Barbara and the rest of the staff are all very service minded, frendly and welcoming, they make you feel like home from the first moment. There are also a few good resturants and a mini market in walking distance from the hotel.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Ragnhild76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed for one week in june 2011. We had a two room apartment, bathroom and kitchenette for 65€/night. Plus: great location right on the beach, Perfect for families with younger children, the beach is not crowded. Near minimarket. Gerani i think is a very gold location for exploring western Crete. It's a quiet place, but only a five minute taxidrive to Platanias and a bit longer to Agia Marina. The hotel staff was alleays helpfull. Minus: cleaning could be better. But overall a very good place!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeppe28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We had a very relaxing visit to Caretta Beach. The location is perfect for a peaceful getaway. Set on a beautiful scenic beach and with wam welcoming staff who can't do enough to help, it is an ideal holiday location. Close (14km) to the large town of Chania but still far enough away to escape the hussle of a busier location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Luv2GetAway65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Took me a few tries to finally find the driveway but that is really the only negative words to say about Caretta Beach. The staff is great, the grounds are well taken care of, the beach is quiet, romantic, and peaceful. The rooms are nice, well cleaned and maintained. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at thishotel for three weeks in June and July of 2010. The hotel is well located, on a quite stretch of beach, away from the noise and the crowds but only a few minutes away from the nightlife, restaurants and other attractions. We had a rented car but for those who prefer public transportation the stops are only a few minutes away by foot. Our room was quite spacious and very comfortable with a kitchen that was equipped with a fridge and stove. The rooms and the entire hotel were impeccably clean. The staff were just amazing. Thea, Barbara and Elizabeth were wonderful hosts, ready to help make our stay all the more enjoyable. They were very helpful with suggestions and recommendations for day trips and excursions. Once or twice a week the staff planned theme dinners (Cretan or typical Greet dishes) and the owners of the hotel would come by and eat witht the guests.The owners Alexandros and his parents are charming people, fluent in Greek, English and German. The food was simply amazing and the service was first class. All in all, we had a wonderful vacation and we just cannot wait for the next opportunity to come back and stay at this pearl of a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niksy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We spent two wonderful weeks in this little hidden gem of sophistication. The hotel is the perfect size, not too large to become an impersonal resort - just the right size with a small number of rooms and enough infrastructure with a restaurant / bar.

The staff members we encountered were all amazingly helpful and could speak both English and German fluently. The chef, Barbara, was both professional and creative - her dishes by far outstripped most of the local tavernas we ate on while on the trip and made dinner a pleasure. Thea, did an excellent job of housekeeping, providing assistance and general administration.

The location of the hotel is great and even though it is outside of the main city on the West of the island (Chania) it was an easy cheap bus ride to go there for sightseeing. Although a rental car is recommended to get around the island we managed perfectly by taking bus trips from a very conveniently located bus stop close by. The neighbouring town Platanias is within walking distance and contains most of the nightlife. An additional help was the small supermarket located a stone's throw away where we could stock up on essentials for lunch prepared in a small kitchenette in our room.

The hotel is literally on the beach with its own strip of comfy deck chairs and umbrellas to lounge around on in the lazy sunny skies. All in all, it was just what we needed to take a good breath and escape for a while in Western Crete.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkydino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerani
0.3 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Gerani
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solimar Aquamarine Hotel
0.6 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vagia Mare Hotel
Vagia Mare Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lito Beach
Lito Beach
#26 of 68 in Platanias
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caretta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caretta Beach

Address: Kydonias, Gerani, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gerani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gerani
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gerani
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gerani
Price Range: £42 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caretta Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crete, the island of King Minos, of hospitality and blessed nature, invites you to spend your vacations in a calm and pleasant way. Allow us to introduce you to your holiday paradise. In the western part of the biggest Greek island, the island of Crete, in the footholds of the White Mountains, directly on the mile long Chania beach, in Gerani village near Platanias, we welcome you at the Hotel Apartments Caretta Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Caretta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caretta Beach Gerani
Caretta Beach Crete/Gerani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing