We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Crete has to Offer!!!!”
Review of Caretta Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caretta Beach
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Gerani
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Crete has to Offer!!!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The pros are endless, our stay here was mark with day in day out attention to details and we felt more like family than guess. The Staff goes the extra mile to make you feel as comfortable as humanly possible and just when you think they can do no more, they do!!! Caretta Beach has everything that is expected at a well place 5 start resort, yet some resorts can benefit from Carreta's quality of service...It is simply the best I have ever seen and I have seen many. Cons there are none the place is that good!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinoH2O13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    23
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed at Hotel Caretta Beach last summer and I must admit that my partner and I had a great time. The hotel itself was in a very good condition, our room was very clean and in a decent size. It was located in the village of Gerani, where we were able to find whatever we needed (supermarket, restaurants etc.). All the popular bars were both locals and tourists go were also very close and Chania was only 15 min away by car, which was very convenient for us!

The staff was very friendly, welcoming and happy to give us all the info we needed in order to make the most of our time there!!!

I am pleased to recommend this hotel to anyone, who want to visit Chania and have a great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grammatiki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We really enjoyed our time here. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean, and comfortable. We would recommend this place to anyone. The costs were just as stated, so there were no surprises.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epe
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We spent 5 days in Caretta Beach Hotel and we had a super stay.
A very pleasant welcome; Thea picked us up in Gerani village. Thea and Barbara did everything to make our stay pleasant. They are very good hostes.
Nice and clean rooms, a nice swimming pool and a top location at the clean and quiet beach.
I can recomment this place to everybody who wants a place far from the noise of platanias direct on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank falconing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Hello. We spent 10 days at Caretta Beach in the beginning of August. We went there with two kids - then 4yrs and 2nd one - 15 months.

First the good:
1) Great and friendly staff. Starting with Barbara who looks after the kitchen is very helpful and offered to cook some food (soup) for our children. Really tasty and good value. Also all the staff is very helpful and really friendly. Only problem was she kept it to "cool down" in the heat, so it didn't later keep for as long as it would back at home.
2) In the appartment there is a small hob, where you can warm your food or prepare small snack for kids. Some basic pots, pans, glaases, plates, cuttlery are all available.
3) Hotel offers fans, hairdryers, kettels, coffee makers for free upon request.
4) Nice eating/restaurant section in the hotel.
5) Pool air condidtioning and rather clean and not so busy beach right next to the hotel. SO a good to spot to go to with kids, especially, if they still need to have their midday nap (also because of the heat aroud noon)
6) Shutters make all the difference. Once tried it without having shutters closed and it was much warmer in the room, despite air con. The other hotel just next to ours didn't have them and I was really feeling sorry for their guests.
7) Small hotel, everybody seems to more or less recognize/socialize with other guests. There were also many other families with kids, so good occasion to make friends. Good and quiet place to go with kids.
8) will repeat this to show gratitude - really friendly staff, incl. cleaners. Give tips - people here have work only from May - Oct!
9) Hotel gave us for free a small room to keep our luggage and to have somewhere to go to after we've checked out of our room. Not conditioned though, but had a bathroom and a bed, so really good to have this.
10) Close to shops (for food, papers, basic supplies, swimming toys, etc) and other restaurants.
11) Help in booking cars, arranging taxis, airport transfer.


But...

1) It would be nice, if the hotel turned on air con before guests' arrival. It was almost unbearable, when we enetred the hot room hot not being cooled for the entire day.
2) Staff won't tell you directly that you can keep air con on all the time by keeping electricity on after detaching special key from the room key.
3) Air con was in only one of the two room of our appartment. It's settings were either a hurricane or having it switched off altogether (that was unbearable). Eventually my husband slept on his own in the room with the air con, while I and the kids slept in the other room. On top of that we had the wall-mouted fans switched on.
4) Restaurant - lovely food, but practically no choice. Everyday there was something different, but you had to have the same thing as the rest of your family (so no sharing, etc) and the price was practically the same as in the restaurants. Therefore, several times we went to nearby Hotel/restaurant to eat there. Lovely food too. There were even more restaurants close to the hotel too, so lots of choice if you want some variety. Good prices too.
5) Too bad there is no DVD player in the rooms and also only a tiny TV mounted really high, so difficult to watch anything other than the news anyway (although for us, it wasn't the biggest problem).
6) Overpriced airport transfer, return - 100 euros, while it was maybe half an hour drive.
7) Originally I booked Seaview Appartment on ground floor, but when we arrived we were given 1st floor appartment. I didn't really mind - view was better. Later I found out that our ground floor appartment was given to some (very, very nice) other guest, who arrived earlier and noticed that the 1st floor was much hotter. Such a shame, because 1st night my little boy couldn't fall asleep because of the heat (and me too) and eventually fell asleep at 5.30am Greek time, after we moved to the room without air con and switched the air con on in the other room (this was cooling our room a little bit and we were not feeling as if in the middle of a cyclone.
8) tiny bathroom with really small shower so you cannot even use the curtain without having it stuck to your naked bottom. therefore we were not using it and the water was all over the bathroom. Also - this wasn't so great to give a bath to the kids.
9) Most of the hotel towels which we got were really rough in touch. I was saving the soft ones for the kids, but even then a couple of days we had only rough and hard towels. So had to be careful using them for kids.
10) No beach towels
11) It would be nice if there was at least a small rug/ runner close to the beds, it would have made the place much more cosy and wouldn't make the cleaning that much more difficult. (our 15-month old son liked sitting on the floor, so we had to use the blanket. not great)
12) too bad the single beds do not have "bed-ends" and it's simply like the mattrace just ends which is quite annoying, because you might push the pillows out of the bed.
13) No covers on the beds, which makes the room look bare, and makes it not very nice to sit in such room with not-made beds.
14) Complimentary bottles of water on arrival would have been nice. We arrived late in the evening and after a late dinner (yes, the staff waited for us to eat late!) it was too late to go shopping (especially, if you don't know the area and its dark and late), so we had no water in the heat. Had to drink cooked tap water. Yuck. (Another thing is that we forgot to buy some water in the hotel restaurant, I just bought 750ml bottle of water to go with our dinner on top of our alcoholic drinks while eating, so that was the only water we had. And in August in Greece, 750 mls of water is nothing...)
The following day in the shop we realised that the local SPRING WATER was really cheap - 2euros for 6 bottles x 1.5 littre each. It wouldn't have been such a big deal/cost, if the hotel provided a couple of bottles of water and maybe some basic snacks (as a welcome gift or a start to next day, before breakfast). We paid 120 euros per night, so those 2 euros were not such a big amount of money.
15) Lastly, baby cot is rather poor quality with a blanket inside instead of the mattrace, so if you can spare a couple of pounds on this, better bring your own and pay for the transfer (but bear in mind - no 7-seater taxis in Crete. Drivers use ropes to keep your stuff from falling out of the open boot of the car).
16) No entertainment for kids (no slides, nothing).

Despite numerous "BUT's" above, you can see they in fact are small fixes. Cheap and easy to fix. Most important thing ARE there - nice location, friendly staff, good food and overall it is probably also not very expensive. Clean and good.

Hope it helps. Would I come back? Probably not. Would've rather booked the lovely (from outside at least) 4* hotel in Gerani village.

Room Tip: Staff will give you a set of keys and a "key for electricity" and tell you mustn't det...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Iwona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We spent our third holiday at Caretta Beach in the beginning of July. This time we were the whole family (three generations) and everyone of us enjoyed the stay. For some of us this was the first time here and they were positively surprised that we hadn't exaggerated when describing how wonderful the hotel, its location at the beach and the friendly staff is. One of the highlights every day were the delicious dinners. Also everything else we needed from the hotel including the transfer from the airport, the arrangements on our late arrival, help in car rental and good advises for our day-trips to other parts on Crete (including a hike in the Samarian gorge) worked excellent. Warm thanks again Thea, Barbara and everyone else in the Caretta Beach staff!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank krk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoetermeer
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We just came back from our holiday on Crete, at Caretta beach hotel in Gerani (near Chania)

Arriving at the airport our rental car which we booked with caretta beach was ready to go! A good start.

We had a great time at Caretta beach! A nice spacious apartment with view at the pool area and the sea. Because of the nice small garden with palm trees between our balcony and the pool area we still had some privacy sitting at our balcony.

Most of the times we had lunch or snacks and dinner at the hotel. The food was of very good quality and the service was excellent, thanks again Thea and Barbera!
They even made babyfood for our 1 year old baby and you could have your dinner at your balcony if you wish.

Caretta beach hotel is away from the touristic parts. a supermarket is in the vicinity (5 min walk)
Here you can get fresh baked bread every morning from 7.30 lt.

there were also a few restaurants in the area but we haven't been there.

The touristic place Platanius is only a 10 min drive by car. full of shops, hotels, and good to know a very good medical centre. just in case!

We had a daytrip to the magnificent Balos on a boat. These boats depart 3 times a day from Kissamos, 35 min drive by car. I went there with my 9 year old daughter. It's a must to go there if you like spectacular views and snorkeling turquoise waters ; )

We booked our holiday through the internet. The apartment via the website of Caretta beach hotel and our flights separate with Transavia from Amsterdam to Chania and return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gerani
0.3 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Solimar Aquamarine Hotel
0.6 mi away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Indigo Mare
Indigo Mare
#18 of 69 in Platanias
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lito Beach
Lito Beach
#25 of 69 in Platanias
97 reviews
1.7 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caretta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caretta Beach

Property: Caretta Beach
Address: Kydonias, Gerani, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Gerani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gerani
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gerani
#1 Family Hotel in Gerani
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Gerani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Caretta Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crete, the island of King Minos, of hospitality and blessed nature, invites you to spend your vacations in a calm and pleasant way. Allow us to introduce you to your holiday paradise. In the western part of the biggest Greek island, the island of Crete, in the footholds of the White Mountains, directly on the mile long Chania beach, in Gerani village near Platanias, we welcome you at the Hotel Apartments Caretta Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Caretta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caretta Beach Gerani
Caretta Beach Crete/Gerani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing