We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Yoga”
Review of Aliki Yoga School

Aliki Yoga School
Ranked #5 of 7 things to do in Aliki
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Teacher and owner Oona Giesen is recognised by the IYF (International Yoga Federation) and the Dutch society of yoga teachers VYN (Vereninging Yogadocenten Nederland). She started with Iyengar Yoga 44 years ago, around 1973, when she was eight years old. Oona grew up with yoga, and started teaching Iyengar based Hatha Yoga 24 years ago, in her mothers yoga school in Amsterdam/The Netherlands, and in her own yoga school on the island Paros in Greece. Although she has a slightly softer approach, you can feel the influences of B.K.S. Iyengar in her classes.Her classes are down to earth, no chanting, but back to basic yoga, with physical exercises (asanas) and breathing (pranayama) and meditiation. Oona became expert by experience in managing backpain with yoga since she broke her spine in a car accident in 1998 and since then recovered herself extremely well with her yoga.The yoga courses will be held on Paros, one of the most beautiful islands of the Cyclades. The Cyclades are a group of islands in the Aegean Sea, between Athens and Crete, known for its natural beauty and spectacular architecture. Paros is also the most central located island of the Cyclades and ferry boats go daily to different islands.Piso Aliki is a quiet bay, just behind Aliki, a small fishing village at the still quiet south-coast of Paros. There are several lovely beaches close by, a few taverna’s / restaurants at the seaside and beautiful sunsets to enjoy in the afternoon. No nightlife, no discotheques, just calmness and tranquillity…..except for an occasional village party which are realy nice.Piso Aliki and yoga, the perfect combination to really unwind from your daily stress, relax and enjoy life.
1 review
“Excellent Yoga”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The course was great. Oona is a sensitive and alert teacher with genuine feeling for teaching yoga. The sessions were focused and felt inclusive for students of various levels, ages and physical types. I learned a lot about coming into poses more slowly and with far greater awareness than I have in the past. Paros is beautiful and the village where the course is (Aliki) is relatively quiet and has some excellent beaches with nice swimming. I'd come again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ANTON Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlikiYogaSchool, Owner at Aliki Yoga School, responded to this review, 9 October 2015
Dear Els,
Thank you for your sweet words.
Amsterdam weekends will be
january 2-3
january 9 - 10
Hope to see you there;-)
Love,
Oona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
“Great way to slow down”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The retreat has a great structure - everybody stays in the various hotels and accommodations around Alyki and comes together for class in the morning and evening. So the time away from class can be as private or social as you like. The class was really slow and detailed, and Oona pays a lot of attention to how to adjust a pose to your body's limits. I had never done Iyengar style yoga before, and now I want to continue with it! This retreat also brought me to a beautiful place that I know I wouldn't have found on my own. Beautiful beaches, great food, great yoga.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vkfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlikiYogaSchool, Owner at Aliki Yoga School, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello Daniel,
I am happy you liked the yoga AND the place so much.
Aliki has lovely beaches….
If you ever need to unwind again, you know where to find me.
Best wishes,
Oona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Fantastic serendipity”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We found Oona and her school by chance during a 10-day trip to Paros. We could not have been more fortunate. Everything about the experience was as rewarding as it was enjoyable: the location and setting, the facilities and atmosphere at the school and, above all of course, Oona's approach to yoga, her superlative teaching and her warm personality. For those looking for excellent yoga in an authentic Greek-island atmosphere, this is the place. When we return to Aliki and Oona's school, it won't be by accident.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrPoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlikiYogaSchool, Owner at Aliki Yoga School, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi James,
Thank you for your nice review.
I really hope to see you and Maarten again in the future;-)
Love,
Oona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful yoga week in Paros”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

So good was that yoga week on Paros my friend Sue and I have booked again this year. Oona is a very intuitive teacher and her classes reflect her thoughtful personality. Fab yoga on a wonderful island. What more could anyone want?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penelope P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlikiYogaSchool, Owner at Aliki Yoga School, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Penny,
Thank you for your review.
And see you again later this year.
Love,
Oona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sand, sea, sun and yoga”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I've been on Oona's one-week yoga course in Paros twice, but always try to attend her classes whenever I visit Paros - if there isn't a one-week course being run there are normally morning or evening classes available. When I signed up for my first course, I was concerned that I wouldn't have any energy left for anything other than yoga. But that wasn't true. The classes are enjoyable and energising - suitable for bother beginners and more experienced students - and Oona's years of experience and in depth knowledge and expertise, combined with the friendly and comfortable atmosphere she creates, are not to be missed! But there is still time to enjoy the gorgeous beaches and food and really feel like you are on holiday too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Car0l_J84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlikiYogaSchool, Owner at Aliki Yoga School, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Carol,
Thank you for your review. See you again soon;-)
Love,
Oona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aliki Yoga School also viewed

 

Been to Aliki Yoga School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing