We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sewer works beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayor Pelekas Monastery
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2011

When we arrived we were impressed until we exited out taxi and the stench of poo and urine was awful, we were allocated a sea view room which had a lovely view shame the smell stopped us from sitting on the balcony, the room was tired and in need of lots of work, broken toilet and furniture, which the hotel were not all that bothered about fixing in fact we asked them 7 times while were were there and nothing was done, when we mentioned it again on leaving we were told they had no record of our complaint, says it all
There was an infestation of wasps at the resort so meal times were a nightmare
On day 5 a bin wagon turned up parked at re bottom of the only steps that access the restaurant and pool and stayed there for 24 hours which added to the smell

All in all we spent about 2 whole days of a weeks holiday in the hotel and that's not what you expect from an all inclusive holiday

Would I recommend the hotel - NO not till the maintaince, smell and wasp problems is resolved

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daveywavey1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

From the first day when I come until when I Left; I found the Place very very nice.. Is situated in a nice location In Corfu named "Pelekas" is the second famous beach in this Island with a really amazing sunset... there are nice and big rooms with see veiw and the lobby Bar is Located near the reception and is very cool to take the aperitive before the dinner to see the sunset time.. the restaurant is situated down near the pool and you can have also a dinner some days in A La Carte restuarant.. The Greek Staff of the reception, Bar, Restaurant, Chichen I found them like a Big family.. but above all the management!! I miss them all!! I hope to comeback again..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
32  Thank AlexMilanAc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Director of Operations at Mayor Pelekas Monastery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to place your comments regarding your recent stay at the Aquis Pelekas Beach.

The whole Aquis Pelekas Beach team hope to have the chance to welcoming you back to our resort assuring you an unforgettable second stay .

Kindly accept our warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel itself looked good until we got out of the taxi, the smell of sewerage was awful, and the infestation of wasps was not expected.
The room was tired and dirty and to be honest had seen better days, the vanity unit door was hanging off and when we mentioned it to the hotel, the just took the door off and left the unit missing a door.
The bathroom had a waste pipe grate in the middle of the floor which was open.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jaspermattscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Director of Operations at Mayor Pelekas Monastery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for your comments. We truly appreciate our guests’ feedback, which allows us to evaluate each experience.

All Aquis Pelekas Beach guestrooms were recently renovated and are in use for only for two seasons’ now. We are honestly sorry to hear that the greatest asset of this property namely the large and modern rooms were not of your preference. We wish we had the chance to get more information regarding the room number you’ve stayed at in order to check again all issues raised since your comments need to be further investigated by our team.

We would like to offer our apologies for not meeting your expectations and assure you that we always work to satisfy all our guest’s needs and to make them all feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

When we arrived at 11.30pm the porters were waiting to take our cases to our rooms, as the all inclusive ended at 11.00pm we were still giving a drink, and in our rooms were sandwiches, fruit, wine and water in our fridge. First impressions of the check-in and rooms were fabulous, with a sea view which has the amazing sunsets. We went in the last week before the hotel closed for winter, the restaurant service was terrible, when you arrived at the restaurant no tables were ready for nearly all the meal times we went, dirty dishes, no cutlery etc on dining tables, breakfast finishes at 10am if you went at 9.30am there was nothing left or just the scrap bits what noone wanted, other times the staff were very slow to replenish the empty trays.Food consisted of spaghetti bolognese every evening and lunchtime, salads, cheeses, chips, fritters and a couple of meat dishes. Not good. Afternoon tea was dry sandwiches and dry cake or biscuits. Self service coffee, juice pop were empty at times. Meal times were quite frustrating. Pool area fab. Plenty of sunbeds etc. The hotel is at the bottom of a very steep hill (more like a mountain), with nothing around it so it was very boring. In the gym all the equipment is broken and unusable unless your brave and dont mind hurting yourself!! Rooms were cleaned daily but not well, i had coffee stains on the dresser for the whole week i was there. Entertainment was non existing, which is bad as there is nothing around the hotel to keep you amused. The entertainment staff were there but just seemed to sit around all day doing nothing, most of them were very ignorant, at nights the rooms we were in were right opposite the entertainment staff rooms, who got drunk every night and ran up and down the corridor, shouting, slamming doors and playing loud music. Twice i had to go to reception at 4am to complain, and it still happened every night. You can half expect that behaviour from teenagers in a busy resort, but certainly not in a "5 STAR " hotel.
All in all Hotel and the staff (reception and bar staff) are lovely people, Hotel building itself is lovely, but all the other bad things spoil it, i would not return nor would i recommend it.
There did seem to be a lack of staff, i dont if that was because it was the last week before closure but we still paid a lot of money for a holiday and the hotel should run as normal until the day of closure.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Director of Operations at Mayor Pelekas Monastery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for your feedback, it is never enough to receive such extended reviews about our hotel since the small details are the ones that make us differ and help us improve the quality of our services.

We are glad to hear that you had a good experience on arrival and thank you for finding our rooms fabulous and the hotel building itself lovely. I will also make sure to pass the compliments about the staff and I thank you on their behalf.

We make every effort to ensure that our guests enjoy a positive experience and I am very disappointed to hear that we did not entirely meet that expectation during your stay. I assure you that this is not typical of Aquis Hotels and Resorts standards and thank you for providing your detailed feedback so we may address and improve upon the service you received. Your comments specially regarding to your dining experience will enable me to follow this up directly as well as the team members involved, much appreciated.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at any Aquis property in Corfu, Crete or Kos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

As this hotel doesn't break the bank to stay at I was a little nervous about what it would be like. I needn't have worried - it was lovely.

My room was perfect - awesome sea view - facing west so spectacular sunsets. Great food, lots and lots of choice. The service at the hotel was impeccable. From the porters and cleaners right up to the Managers - nothing was too much trouble. And everyone was so friendly. Special commendations to the staff on the animation team and the cocktail bar, who were brilliant - they made our holiday really exceptional.

There are so many nice extra touches - a plate of fruit and bottle of wine in the room on our arrival, free wi-fi, DVDs to play in your room, and great advice on how to make the most of your time in Corfu.

It is an out of the way location which is nice for relaxing and the area is stunningly beautiful - but even though it is quiet there is lots going on at the hotel so I never got bored. The shuttle bus can take you up to pelekas village and the local bus can then take you into Corfu town. If you have the confidence to drive when abroad then you can have great days out in a hire car.

I will definitely go back there again. Thanks Pelekas guys and gals for a lovely holiday experience.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room and soak up the fantasitc sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Angie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Director of Operations at Mayor Pelekas Monastery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

We do thank you so much for taking the time to recommend our property, we are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The hotel is set on a beautiful beach with stunning views. Just see the sun sets! Hotel is
modern, and kept really clean. My room was spacious and well kept each day by the cleaners.
What really sells it for me is the Staff! Friendly, careing, always helpful. Nothing is too much
trouble for them. From the cleaners, waiters, barmen,receptionist's Animation team,Chef right up to the hotel manager, just wonderful!. I thank them all.

The food was lovely with plenty of choice, thanks Chef Gregory and team.

My last stay at Pelekas was in early July, 2011. It was a fabulous 2 week stay. I just had to go
back. So glad I did. It was fantastic. Pelekas, Thank you all, for everything you have done to make it all so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. Just stunning .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank gilly091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Director of Operations at Mayor Pelekas Monastery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Thank you for your wonderful review and your loyalty. It is so heartening to hear feedback from someone such as yourself that has the freedom of choice among tens of thousands hotels and prefer to visit us twice within the same season, to honor us with a second visit. We are truly happy that we are able to offer you memorable stays. We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

It's not 5 star, but is a good standard. Our room was refurbished and modern with fantastic sea views. The 'entertainment' was like most of these hotels and more of a distraction rather than entertaining. The food was ok, buffet style and what you would expect from a greek island really, lots of salads and cheese, and for those real fussy eaters chips were available every night! My only complaint about the food was the limited choice of fruit - apples and grapes with an occasional nectarine.
We spent most of our days on the beach, so there was a charge for the sunbeds, but that was preferable to the sewer smell up by the pool. I think there were spots around the pool out of the smell, but the beach was much better.
This is a remote hotel, built into the mountainside, so is not suitable for any-one with walking difficulties and really not much there for children. There isn't anything around within reasonable walking distance, so unless you want to hire a car or just laze in the sun this is not the place for you.
we didn't experience the best customer service fromthe staff, but then some of the guests weren't particularly pleasant to the staff either - there may also have been an issue of language as the waiters in the restaurant only had a very basic knowledge of english.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - that's what makes this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FrequentFlyer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquis, Director of Operations at Mayor Pelekas Monastery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

We would like to say thank you for considering our hotel and for taking the time to share your honest opinion with us. I was happy to read that you found our property of a good standard, enjoyed the food and most of all enjoyed the wonderful beach by having pleasant time under the Greek hot sun.

Regarding your rating remark, i is true that the star categories in each country defer, and certainly many guest have different experiences from various hotels i.e different rating in Caribbean than in Mediterranean. Aquis Pelekas Beach hotel is an official 5* hotel as certified by the Greek Tourism Ministry

I am mostly concerned about your comment regarding not experiencing the best customer service and it would be very enlightening to have more feedback on this, since the friendliness, professionalism and politeness of our team is one of our main targets for improvement nover stop working on this aspect.

We deeply appreciate your feedback, all your comments where well noted in order and build on all areas and improve them immediately as our aim is the improvement of our guest’s stay so to ensure your return again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelekas
7.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,431 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
5.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,437 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,435 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor Pelekas Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor Pelekas Monastery

Address: Pelekas Beach, Pelekas 490 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Pelekas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Price Range: £65 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor Pelekas Monastery 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway or the most entertaining family vacation , the ultimate destination is Mayor Pelekas Monastery. In a magical location , upon one of the best beaches of Corfu, Kontogialos Beach , the journey of your dreams is illuminated by the famous Greek sun and has the smell of a sea breeze. Luxurious comfort , top services and exclusive facilities compose a complete hospitality experience for every member of the family, in Mayor Pelekas Monastery. Our hotel consists of 181 rooms , most of which have a panoramic view of the Ionian Sea and the majestic sunset of Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayor Pelekas Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor Pelekas Monastery Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing