We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayor Pelekas Monastery
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Holiday”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Just back from our two weeks holiday. Lovely hotel,food was good some thing for every body. The staff were great. nothing was a problem to them. The beach was to die for.We had a sea veiw room with a Queen size bed you could,t have asked for more. The only down side was there was no where to go for a walk, once you were there ur there.A great hotel to go and chill out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    408
    197
    67
    50
See reviews for
486
583
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

September 24 – October 1 2012
After reading some of these reviews, I wonder if we actually stayed at the same hotel, as we found our stay an absolutely relaxing experience, admittedly the initial drop off by the transfer coach was a little off putting, as we were left in front of the “Pink House” on the hill, but within 5-10 minutes the mini-bus from the hotel had arrived, and we were whisked to our destination, after firstly being shown the village of “Pelekas”.

Check in was smooth and our cases taken to our room, (room 4306) initial impression of not only the room but the layout of the hotel was very positive, not what we had been led to expect from several comments we had read from previous visitors.

The actual location of the hotel I would class as remote, and only suitable for abled bodied people, due to the steep paths and roads in the locale, car hire is an option to get about the island, or take several organised trips, but another alternative is to use the local bus service (2 euros to Corfu town, but only 1.5 if ticket purchased beforehand from the super market etc) the hotel provides a free shuttle service to Pelekas and the local bus stop, well worth using the shuttle, unless you like mountaineering, as we found out taking a local walk on the roads around.

Pelekas village and the back alleys well worth a walk around, and the views from "Kaisers Throne" was amazing, as you could see across to Corfu town, don't forget your binoculars and camera, although there is a fixed binocular up there.
Great little beach just past the small harbour below and left of the hotel, only ever saw two other people on it, but be careful actually getting on to it, as rocks are a little treacherous.

Ask at reception for any DVDs available, we only found out about that at the end of our visit, and with only two English news channels on the TV, it may be worth it, but as we did not go on holiday to stay in and watch TV, it was never an issue.

The animation team were very hard working and keen during the day’s sports/fun activities, and are worth watching in the amphitheatre at night where they are very entertaining. On the whole all the hotel staff were extremely helpful, informative and friendly, and rooms were kept very clean.

Meals were taken in the Pelagos restaurant, buffet style, and with over 300+ people to serve, the staff did marvellous to keep it all flowing, clearing crockery and utensils, yes the décor is very cafeteria like, but I think it has to be given the turnover of people, and practicalities of keeping everywhere clean, the food selection in our opinion was absolutely first class, plenty of variety and hot, with beef, pork, chicken, turkey, lamb and all kinds of sea food always available, with fresh vegetables, salad and fruit, and delicious desserts, one would have to be very finicky not to find something to their taste at each meal, vegetarian meals were on offer but limited, but every hotel we have been to has the same issue, drinks available included white, rose and red wine, local lager beer, all kinds of soft drinks and tea and coffee.

Bar drinks are free until 23:00 with nominal prices charged after this time, the snacks available from 16:00 between lunch and dinner, were unusual sometimes i.e. meatballs and potato croquettes, but sandwiches, chips and chocolate sponge cake were on offer too, and certainly satisfied any hunger pangs you may have till dinner.

Definitely book a sea-view, as the vista and sunsets are spectacular.

There is a mini market on site, but the range of goods limited, there is a very good super market within a 5 minute walking distance from the hotel, just turn left out the entrance, and prices are cheaper.

Regarding the sewerage smell, at certain times throughout the day, it is very noticeable, but as most if not all Greek islands work on the septic tank system, it is not too surprising, and don’t forget we all contribute to it :0)

To avoid the issue regarding cessation of all inclusive, I would recommend just booking better flight times, ours was 12:45 midday.

There are better 5* all inclusive packages out there, but at a lot more money, as we have found in the past, but this hotel, at this cost, provides excellent value for money, just compare, take your choice, and pay accordingly.

To summarise, everything is in place for a complete get away from it all, relaxing break, and no need for vast expenditure on any extras etc.

We would definitely recommend it to friends and family.
Gez & Poll Baker.

Room Tip: Sea view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank G B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week in September 2012 with my husband and father. Sadly I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who has worked hard all year round and is expecting a lovely holiday. It's not all negative, there are some really good points. It has fabulous views, the staff are friendly, there is an excellent choice of food and the rooms are large and clean. What ruins it is the almost constant strong smell of sewage which comes and goes depending on which way the wind is blowing. My father could never sit out on his balcony because he was near the source of the smell. The food is well presented and there is a fabulous choice. Sadly some of the dishes were lukewarm. I am told that this is normal for Greece but I am not sure that this would meet health and safety regulations in a British restaurant. I would be very wary if I would have been feeding a child from the buffet. We paid for seven nights all inclusive but only got six. The Thomas Cook rep said we should have checked the small print, which incidently only mentioned vacating rooms by midday not that the all inclusive would finish. Funny that the small print doesn't include the free smell of poo. Sinus tablets are on their way to her as I write this!!!! I actually booked this holiday in the Thomas Cook shop. I was told by the advisor that we had to vacate rooms by midday, which is understandable, but that the all inclusive would continue until 11pm. On site we were told that the all inclusive finished when the rooms were vacated. So it would appear that we were being catered for before we had even taken the flight??? We could extend the all inclusive - for a price. Why would you do this though when you have already paid for the service? We were lucky because we had hired a car. We could eat out. Without a car you would have to use the tavernas on the beach at Pelekas but these close quite early, around 8pm. For others, tied to the hotel, it is quite possible that they would not have had anything to eat or drink from midday and bearing in mind that the guests of two flights to Britain were not being taken to the airport until 2.15am, I find this totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The best things about this hotel was the beach, food & friendly staff, not so good is sewage & garbage smells near to the restaurant/pool area. The rooms were nice & clean but we did move because we were in rooms near the cooking extractor outlet, the reception staff were very helpful when we enquired about moving to lovely room on other side of hotel close to beach. The hotel is a bit secluded so don't expect night-life, shops, bars nearby, the best entertainment night was the Greek night on the terrace over-looking the sea, a beautiful setting.
The hotel is terraced on a steep hill with lots of steps & the lift was'nt working for 2 days so not for the faint-hearted. There is a free mini-bus which will take you to the main bus-stop to catch service bus to Corfu town (E1.50 ew).
We all loved the beach, relaxing with friends & the food. It's not 5* but it was'nt 5* prices so you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: coming down from reception I would think rooms on the right hand side are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denisehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Great place to relax and enjoy sea view!4 star hotel!7 day was OK for me and my wife-if I gone stay more-will be to much!Food good-Drinks( all inclusive cocktails didn't feel alcohol)!Very cheap beer and Wines-couldn't drink them-went to Kerkyra to get good Amstel beer and bottles of Wines!Staff in the restaurant wasn't so good-They ask me almost every evening that room card(didn't even say good evening-straight asking card-then I ask to get me wine to another waiter-he have the empty bottle in hands and whent to feel up ,but came back and said WE ARE CLOSE-didn't step extra mile for guest:)!little bit funny!In reception I try to say something to get information-but she picking up the phone and saying to ME Wait!!Strange!That is a little thinks-but Hotel place is very nice and they weather amazing!Very great place for couples!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgars C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing weeks holiday from this hotel. The hotel is lovely, the room that we stayed in ( 5401) had a lovely big comfortable bed (I had the best sleep there that I have ever had on holiday) with a fantastic view over looking the beach, it was cleaned and fresh towels renewed if we needed them every day and we could not fault it in any way, also a good shower with plenty of hot water at any time which is normally not the case we have found on previous other hotel stays. The food was what we would expect of an all inclusive package, a Good breakfast, fresh ingredients with plenty of choice, as was the lunch and dinner, I would say that the childrens food was a bit limited for choice but my two boys who are 4 and 2 always managed to find something they liked to eat, we certainly never went hungry! We found the location of the hotel for what we wanted was perfect for us, we just wanted a nice hotel, with good food, a good safe pool for the children and a great beach, we were not botherd about shops and bars etc, and that is what we got. The wooden decking around the pool is great for young children who are contantly running around, although it did tend to get a bit slippy near to the steps area as this area was contantly wet, but at least if they did slip over it wasnt too much of a hard landing!. We found the staff in the most to be freindly, helpful and with good humour, the animation team were the best we have ever come across and were fantastic with the children, we dont usually go in for the hotel entertainment but we found this to be good fun and actually "entertaining"!! my two little ones loved it! all in all this was probably the best holiday we have had in Corfu, and we have stayed in other resorts on the Island, we would definately recommend it!! just wish we had booked two weeks instead of one!

Room Tip: sea veiw room is a must, although I think that is most of the rooms anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familyof5034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

dont go to this hotel,all inclusive runs out 14.30 .if you have late flight home,you have pay 26 £ POUND to extend it to 23 hours.food not cooked properly,not a5* more like a3*. staff helpfull wont be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelekas
7.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,243 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
19.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,338 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
16.2 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor Pelekas Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor Pelekas Monastery

Property: Mayor Pelekas Monastery
Address: Pelekas Beach, Pelekas 490 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Pelekas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor Pelekas Monastery 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway or the most entertaining family vacation , the ultimate destination is Mayor Pelekas Monastery. In a magical location , upon one of the best beaches of Corfu, Kontogialos Beach , the journey of your dreams is illuminated by the famous Greek sun and has the smell of a sea breeze. Luxurious comfort , top services and exclusive facilities compose a complete hospitality experience for every member of the family, in Mayor Pelekas Monastery. Our hotel consists of 181 rooms , most of which have a panoramic view of the Ionian Sea and the majestic sunset of Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayor Pelekas Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor Pelekas Monastery Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing