We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware late checkout charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayor Pelekas Monastery
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware late checkout charges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I asked to keep our room on as we had a late pickup and were told this would incur a charge of 50 euro plus an additional 15 euro per person to eat and drink after 14:00,we reluctantly paid as there were no other facilities to shower and change,a true 5 star would,this was 3 star at best, food was ok if only lukewarm,and drinks were a bit on the weak side. Only one bar open during the day, due to the location the is not for the infirm as the steps are steep and the lifts are constantly out of order, however the one redeeming feature is the stunning sunsets, a sea view is a must

Room Tip: Most rooms are sea facing,however there are some which are not, ours had a great view room5205
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy737186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    394
    193
    66
    48
See reviews for
464
558
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

I am puzzled by some of the comments in the review named above. I was at the Pelekas Beach Hotel from 30.09.12 to 14.10.12 and therefore was present for much of the reviewer's stay from 07.10 to 15.10.12. Like many before him, the reviewer misunderstands the star rating of hotels which are based on facilities available, not standards achieved. In its facilities, the Pelikas Beach Hotel ticks all the boxes--- en-suite rooms, 24hr reception, lifts to all floors, on-site parking, in room telephones and refrigerators, swimming pool, etc, etc. It is a long list and the Pelekas Beach has the lot and merits its official accreditation. 2-star and 3-star hotels have only some of the required facilities but may still achieve superb standards, whilst a 5-star hotel can fall short of meeting guests' expectations. However, the Pelekas Beach does not fail any realistic expectations.
In 2011 there was some dissatisfaction with Greek holidays in general because of the disruption caused by air traffic controllers' strikes. To combat this, it is my understanding that prices across the board were reduced this year. Costs had to fall commensurately; this may explain why some outdoor furniture on the beach and around the pool was thought less than pristine, but I saw nothing at all wrong with the sunbeds on the major areas of the decking terrace where, incidently, notices warning of slippery surfaces were promptly displayed after any rain. And what else is a wooden decking supposed to consist of but wood?
The rain, as I recall, fell in the late evening and overnight. The hotel provides accommodation for dining indoors and outdoors but, reasonably, for only about 50% of its guests in each area. One evening the Maitre d' saw the squall out at sea and immediately had as many tables and chairs as possible brought from the terrace into the covered restaurant. Despite this, at the busiest time (meals are served for 2.5hrs but the middle periods are most popular) some guests were unable to find a table. I heard the Maitre d' tell them "Please go to the bar for a drink and I will come to bring you to your table in about five to ten minutes". Nothing, surely, could be more reasonable, but it did provoke some into proclaiming loudly that it was a 'RIDICULOUS SITUATION!'. On the next evening something similar developed in the lounge bar; the Hotel Manager immediatelely gave instructions for additional chairs and tables to be brought from the a la carte restaurant one floor below. Were these actions not enough? Hotel staff work shifts, they do not live on the premises. In the event of inclement conditions no-one has a magic wand to produce staff or accommodation to meet situations that can only have ad hoc solutions.
I was sorry to read of the man's accident in the swimming pool but the question has to be asked: why on earth was he standing in the overflow gutter instead of on the pool decking? Sadly, he did serious damage to himself and signicant damage to the pool -- damage that mayl not easily be repaired.
Some of the cost cutting to which I have referred fell, I suspect, on the quality of the ingredients supplied to the hotel's kitchen. However this did not prevent the provision of a great variety of food at each meal, generally well cooked and presented with effort and expertise. Breakfast eggs avalable as omelettes, or fried, boiled-hard or soft- or scrambled; milk: cold, warm or hot for cereals and coffee; food from full English to continental in all its forms. At main mealtimes there were always at least 20 salads in varied combinations; chicken, beef, lamb, pork, fish, variously grilled, roasted, or casseroled ; pastas; and a variety of pies and vegetables-- some familiar, some local; vegetarian options; and deserts, some Greek, and others such as rice pudding, jellies, or 5 flavours of icecream. Not everything on offer was to everyone's liking-- I remember in particular the young lady who, presented at the carvery with medium rare roast beef, asked the chef to leave his station and take her pink serving to the kitchen and char it brown-- and there was an evident reluctance by some to try anything other standard 'Britsh'. However, all the food, especially the desserts, was beautifuuly presented (until mangled by each taker in turn). Being the chef in a buffet restaurant must be the most dispiriting of jobs!
Sadly, the major costcutting fell upon the hotel's staff, all of whom had a 20% wage cut imposed on them at the beginning of the season. The workers in Greece are suffering great hardship, but never once did I see a sullen face or an untoward reaction. Each and everyone of the Pelekas Beach's workers gives 110% with courtesy and a smile at all times. I salute them and their manager, who has maintained morale and team spirit through a very, very difficult period.
I have looked at the prices charged for recent stays at the hotel and these, in general, are around £340 for 7 days. If the costs of the return flights and agents' commission are stripped out, this reduces to about £35 per person per day. For this I, and all the other guests, had available a 5-piece bathroom with emergency alarm, telephone, and toiletries; a spacious, spotlessly clean room with a very comfortable bed, modern fittings including a flat screen TV and telephone,with towels and bedding changed, if requested, on a daily basis; and a balcony with a view to die for; 3 very adequate meals per day, with snacks and ice cream on demand; and unlimited alcoholic drinks from 10am to 11pm each day, All of this came within an hotel in which, for me at least, the lifts always worked, who saw only unblemished exteriors and nothing in need of repair, and was served at all times by staff whose commitment and cheerfulness are to be wondered at. Try getting that in the UK for £35 per day!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mabscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

stayed here in early oct the place was very nice but not up too sandy beach which we stayed last year.what really got us mad was the fact that we arrived late and all they gave us was a stale sandwich so really missed one night of the all inclusive. ok we thought as we dont get picked up until 20.15 hrs ten tens on.but be warned they stopped the food and drink at 14.30 hrs after that we had to pay.this is not right as when we had the same flight times from the sandy beach the food and drink never stopped cant understand how this is not the same through all the hotel chain

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinklelyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich,England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I doubt there's much I can add that hasn't been said before about this hotel but I'll give it a go. I can't believe some previous reviewers have given this hotel 5 stars....they must have rated their holiday. The point I'm trying to make is that I've had some of the best holidays of my life staying at 2-3 star hotels, that doesn't mean the hotel is 5 star. Myself, my wife and our daughter had a lovely week here (07/10 - 15/10/12) and we met some lovely people that made it great. It was not a coincedence though that EVERYONE we spoke to, and that was a lot, said the hotel was nice but probably only merited between 3 and 4 stars. The plus points for us were the location....the beach is nice although littered with cigarette butts in places. The rooms were really nice, large and of a good standard. We found the beds were like sleeping on granite but other's liked them so this can be a good thing I guess. Despite other reviews we actually liked the food which was good and varied and there was always something for everyone. The staff - fantastic and what keeps the hotel going - if you chat to them they will respond in kind, absolutely lovely.
Bad points - generally in need of a refurb (according to another guest we met it was last refurbished in 2008 which I find hard to believe). The swimming pool decking is bare to the wood and a deathtrap when wet. Some of the pool furniture is really tatty and needs replacing. One of the people we met put his foot through the plastic overspill gating that separates the water from the decking and the cut went through to the bone. The hotel acted quickly in regard to his treatment but did not repair the plastic, they simply pushed the broken piece back in place and claimed it had been fixed - everyone could see it hadn't and this was unacceptable. The 2nd half of the week the storms hit and it rained for 3-4 days. I know this doesn't happen often but the hotel really didn't have any contingencies in place for rain and so people just stood around bored. They refused to open up the lobby bar to cope with demand and this left a lot of people frustrated, eventually caving in on the final day. The beach sun loungers are in a poor state of affairs and considering you have to pay for them it's a bit of a kick in the teeth. Finally the lifts broke down a lot....whilst we were in them too! and not just the outdoor lift but the main hotel lifts too, very frightening for some.
On the whole we had a good holiday but I doubt we'll stay here again. According to others the Aquis Sandy Beach Resort is better!

Room Tip: As long as it's sea view it should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live4Hols72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

just returned from the above hotel.Beautiful part of the Island,Hotel rooms very good.Always have a sea view.

Food could be improved.Staff very helpful.
Thankfully the Hotel did not have many children staying and was not full of loud tattoed English people.
Beautiful beaches nearby which were thankfully not too busy

All in all well worth visiting

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Squashplayer04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

If you are looking for a holiday with lots of music, nightlife and parties then pelekas is not for you...

If however you enjoy good food, lovely beaches and relaxing then look no further.
Like many others we read the reviews and went to pelekas with an open mind and as soon as we arrived met our first problem.
The agent who booked our holiday failed to confirm our request for a seaview room but when the situation was explained to the reception staff they managed to sort out another room for us which was available the following day and could only be described as perfect.
The location of the Hotel is remote, but with a lovely sandy beach, clear sea and all the facilities of the hotels pool bar and restaurant just yards away who could ask for more.
The animation team has been mentioned in other reviews but I would just like to agree with everyone else that they were very hard working from first thing in the morning providing pool games, exercise classes, kids clubs etc for those who wished to take part and then later in the evening a cabaret show with a different theme each night. For those needing a comfortable area in which to sit and just chat the lobby bar in the main building is a good choice or take advantage of the Hotels free shuttle into nearby Pelekas.
Some travellers seem to be under the illusion that "all inclusive" means silver service with a la carte type menus 24 hrs a day.. that type of holiday is usually reflected in the price.
The meals may be in a self service enviroment but there was always a varied choice with plenty of everthing to go round no matter how big your appetite with the staff were always on hand to re-charge your wine glass or coffee cup, with a friendly smile and a chat.
We made many friends during our stay with other guests and members of staff.

To Sum up we came away from Pelekas feeling like old friends rather than paying guests.
The hotel is blessed with having a professional team who work well together who are there to help you if you should need them to.

I look forward to going back next year

Special thanks to:

Litsa
Anna
Helen
Kontis
Fotis
Pangions

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave5457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Arrived on the 4rth to 27+ every day until the start of our second week. Then the storms came could be here for another 3 days so we,ve heard? Been to this hotel before so new what to expect so we thought I must say in three years it seems the food has gone down alittle. But all in all we have stayed in worse hotels my wife and 5 year old daughter are enjoying our stay just hope the weather picks up.ps thanks to the hotel manager for my wifes breakfast in our room for her birthday .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny12340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelekas
7.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
19.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor Pelekas Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor Pelekas Monastery

Property: Mayor Pelekas Monastery
Address: Pelekas Beach, Pelekas 490 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Pelekas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor Pelekas Monastery 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway or the most entertaining family vacation , the ultimate destination is Mayor Pelekas Monastery. In a magical location , upon one of the best beaches of Corfu, Kontogialos Beach , the journey of your dreams is illuminated by the famous Greek sun and has the smell of a sea breeze. Luxurious comfort , top services and exclusive facilities compose a complete hospitality experience for every member of the family, in Mayor Pelekas Monastery. Our hotel consists of 181 rooms , most of which have a panoramic view of the Ionian Sea and the majestic sunset of Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayor Pelekas Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor Pelekas Monastery Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing