We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mayor Pelekas Monastery
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A most relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband, girls aged 11 & 7 and myself stayed here in peak season with the aim of having a relaxing holiday. The Aquis Pelekas Beach certainly delivered that. I agree with other reviews that 4* would be a more accurate rating, but the room was exceptionally clean and tidy, and the reception staff most helpful when we had a problem with our air conditioning, getting it sorted out that day. The drainage issue is something that needs attention. We did not suffer any problems in our room, although the poolside toilets could be contributing to the occasional waft by the pool.
However, the beach is simply stunning and the sea clear and sheltered. It does miss the hotel beach bar, but there were always plenty of sun beds around the pool, which was rarely too crowded. The buffet restaurant offered lots of variety, but suffered a little from some interesting refreshed combinations the following day. There was an a la carte restaurant for a supplementary charge, but we didn't feel the need to visit it as we always found things we liked.
The thing that stood out most for us was the friendliness of all the staff, in particular the animation team for their sheer enthusiasm and energy. We had an absolutely lovely time, and were sad to leave. Thank you Mr Mexas and your staff for a most relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room as the others do literally face a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    408
    196
    67
    50
See reviews for
484
582
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned from a two week holiday at Aquis Pelekas (Two adults and two teen boys). Upon arrival, we experienced exactly the same situation as vxr8owner review below, but the staff was very quick to move us when we complained about no view and very stinky sewer system. FYI - the sewer system can't handle loo paper, so you must use the bidets and throw your loo paper in the bin. The other downside is that I found the beds to be very hard, but I prefer a softer bed.

On the flip side, the other recent reviews pretty much sum up what a fantastic place it is, but I'd like to add that the location is really terrific...only 20 minutes to Corfu town, on a gorgeous sandy beach with beautiful clear water. You can swim out very far and it remains shallow and warm. The sunsets were amazing, too. However, at dusk, be prepared to be bitten by a mosquito or two.

The food was actually quite good for an all-inclusive and we loved the fresh fruit, Greek specialities and Greek desserts. The waitstaff was mainly Polish and Romanian and were so friendly and efficient. We loved the animation team, who tirelessly worked from morning till late to make people feel welcome and give us a good laugh. Tuesday night is Greek Night and it was my favourite for food and the entertainment by local dancers was great!

We rented a car for a few days to explore the island and also went into Corfu town (VERY hot 40 degrees!) Achilleon and Aqualand and met wonderful people everywhere we went. We were so glad that we chose the Aquis Pelekas after seeing some of the other areas (Rodas and Sidari, mainly), which were so touristy in comparison. We recommend renting a boat and exploring the coastline (you can rent on Pelekas beach). Amazing crystal clear water with a few fish to observe while snorkelling (hint: feed them bits of bread) and beaches and caves only accessible by boat. All in all, a really fantastic holiday. Great for our teens, too, as they had the freedom to do what they liked, eat when they wanted to, and consume as much ice cream as they could hold!

Thanks Aquis Pelekas!

Room Tip: 6201 has great views, great a/c, overlooks the evening's entertainment shows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WinchesterFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just returned from a week staying at the Aquis Pelekas Beach hotel. I highly recommend it for any family holiday wanting somewhere special to stay. The hotel is more of a 4 star than 5 star and lacks a few special touches. In places the hotel needs renovating, especially the cracked tiles around the pool. We arrived late however were greeted by very friendly staff. After a welcoming beer we found our room which was average but clean. We were left some stale sandwiches and cake but learnt from the future meals that this is nothing to worry about.
The food was fantastic providing something for everyone. The menu was varied and provided many vegetarian choices, the salads were exceptional. The presentation was also exceptional and the buffet was regularly topped up with fresh food.
My praise however goes to the 'Animation' team. I cannot tell you enough how wonderful they all are, especially Tommy the main man. Each day the team provided entertainment from 'aqua gym', beach volley ball, table-tennis, water polo and much more. The evenings were highlighted with hilarious entertainment shows and the most amazing 'Greek Night' of traditional dancing and food.
One point to note though is that the all-inclusive stops at 12.00 midday on the day of departure. For us arriving late on the first night and departing the hotel at 21.00 hrs we only received 6 nights all-inclusive package.
Most of the staff were extremely friendly and the location is beautiful, a gorgeous beach with mountain backdrop. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have just returned from The Aquis Pelekas Beach hotel today with my family after a 10 day stay.
We booked a room with a sea view and upon arriving we allocated a room with a brick wall view due to problems with 'the pipes' in another area. The following morning we were given by way of an apology a free massage, and a meal in the A la carte restaurant' Once settled into our new room with a view we were eventually once more moved due to the awful stench coming from the sewer systems which was unbearable. This new room seemed great until that was, the air con broke down for 2 days leaving me and the family close to breaking point, however that was repaired and from there things went well.

The review :
The scenery is incredible, the sea water absolutely clear and clean although as expected very salty. The hotel swimming pool is small. The restaurant has a variety of food catering for all tastes.

The animation team who conduct entertainment were first class and kept everybody amused, young and old alike.

Particular mention to two individuals at the hotel.

The most helpful waitress was Sophia , a lovely Greek lady with a wonderful smile, helpful nature and a true professional at her duties. She always had a smile and time for everybody...thank you Sophia

On the flip side, if you need to see true greek anger and bad temperament with poor customer attitude, please look no further the famous Irene , who finds breathing the same air as holidaymakers difficult, and clearly does not like working , infact it seems she always must be eating lemons such is her miserable face which does the hotel no favours!!

However all in all a very pleasant experience although no way at all is this a 5 star hotel , the Co-op travel company over 'egged' this as such

This is a 3 star at best based on my UK based experiences not 5 star as sold to me by the travel company.
I doubt I would return to this place ever again unless I win a competition with Thomas Cook, but all in all, a friendly place to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vxr8owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just returned from aquis, pelekas and was one very happy couple..defo not a five star mind..food not brill as am a veggie I was VERY limited but we eate out quite alot so that sorted that, butiful beach, best I have seen as we hired a car and defo the best on corfu..staff polite and friendly EXCEPT MISERABLE IRENE..very rude, woman rotated between the bars..that was my down point also the beach was fab but lots of ciggie buts which the manager of the beach should have sorted..overall 9/10 would defo go back..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toongirls2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

On arriving late at night, the precarious road route to the hotel was a little off putting. But when you enter the main lobby and can look at over the sea it was very re-assuring.

The staff were friendly and polite on arrival, and the bag handler was impressively positive even at the late hour. We where shown to our rooms and given the option of towels to rent at 5 euros each for a deposit, that was returned at the end of our stay.

The room was very spacious and clean, the plumbing under the sink was not the best, but nothing to ruin the wonderful room. The sea view was amazing and was wonderful to return to every night just to sit on the balcony and look out at the sea.

The food was average with the kids mainly eating chips and ice cream however there was a selection of different pasta and rice dishes as well as all manner of meats and cheeses. The drink where watered down however with the pure orange juice tasting like squash.

The hotel its self was very well structured with a main staircase leading to the beach, the pool and pool bar, restaurant and the ampi-theatre.

The pool though not massive or deep was very nice and clean. The pool bar was fine and snacks where served after 4. Another bad note to mention was the pool waitress Irene who was very rude and would after choose cleaning cups over serving a line of guests.

The Animation Team was absolutely brilliant with something for everyone. They held daily darts, ping pong and bowls tournaments as well as volleyball and water polo games. They also ran a yoga and water aerobics session. There is a mini kids club, however it is mainly for toddler aged children. The animator running the club, Carolina, was very nice and my sister absolutely loved her. Tommy the leader was very energetic all of the time and all the animators where enthusiastic all the time, always trying to get guests involved in the activities but never pushing it.

Every night their was a mini disco for the kids and then a show would start at 9:30. The topic of the show ranged from fire performances to Greece and Abba tributes.
The comedy show was also very funny.

The animators day off is saturday, so make sure you have activities planned for then as they are missed massively from the hotel during this day.

The beach is only a short walk downs some stairs or a shirt track from the main staircase. The beach is very nice and the water so clear, their is barely any seaweed in the water. The sunbeds with the striped tops are owned by the hotel, all the orhers are privately owned and you will be charged to use them around €8.

Finally just a note, the hotel has alot of guests from all over europe, most of whome speak english as a second language so there isn't really a communication barrier. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and am hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thorin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We have just returned from Aquis Pelekas Beach after 9 nights there.
We were 2 adults and 1 child and usually we count on what the hotel is suppose to offer in the 5* range, so I will point out what we have seen in 9 days there.

Pro's:

1. Location : hotel is excellent situated on one of most beautiful beach in Corfu. We traveled around Corfu and Pelekas beach is on top. +++++
2. Clean : hotel and rooms are cleaned daily and we were very surprised about it as the regular clean in other 5* stars hotels in Greece or Turkey is done every second day. +++++
3. Animation Team: excellent performance on daily basis!! +++++; Well done Tommy&co! Big LIKE!!!
4. Waiters : very gentile, willing to serve as best as possible ( there were romanians, greeks , ukrainian waiters)++++
5. Spacious rooms with marvelous sea view!!!+++++

Need for improvements:

1. Getting with you own car there it is an adventure. We had GPS, but the hotel doesn't appear on any map available in the GPS device. So, we headed to Pelekas. After a steep road( this is bad setting for GPS done by me :-( ) we got at the entrance of Pelekas village. Hotel doesn't have any sign on the main road!! We had to ask locals from 100m to 100m where it is..No signs at all!!! We get there during day light, I imagine that is a very difficult to get there during the night, especially that the road is extremely narrow and steep!!
2. The beach is public, but the hotel has its own share of it. So, it is considered private beach of the hotel. On left and right are other private beaches which have different owners. It is easy to observe that the "competition" is arranging each day the sunbeds and umbrellas, cleaning the beach, posting trash bins etc. In the same time, Aquis beach part is always in the way the users left it one day before- chaotic. No trash bins around ( only 2 big ones at the beginning of the beach). There is one guy( Dimitris) which is gathering each day the rests).
3.There is as well on the beach a former beach bar, but currently is not working. This is unpleasant as for a beer or a soda you have to climb the stairs( quite steep) and bring your drinks from pool bar. And besides this you need to carry on every time the access card in order to make sure you are resident of the hotel. 5* hotels have working beach bar!
4. Being on a cliff, hotel doesn't have any esplanade in order to have a walk in the evening. It is possible only on the beach or to get out of the hotel and have a walk uphill.
5. The food: we usually eat a lot of fish or traditional food of the location where we stay...This time the fish was a big disappointment: they had only pangasius as fish. 2 days they had Gavros and mussels - this was ok! But ,we are on the island- for God sake, where Sardines and Dorada are the main dish of any tavern.... I have expected more on the fish side. We ate outside for a couple of days - fish and calamari and octopus... Bottom line, the all inclusive menu is one of the worse we had so far in comparison with Rodos , Turkey , Tunisia and Egypt..
6.Small finding ( not very important) - usually the AI hotels offers a food package if you go in excursion over the day. Aquis is not offering , and the reason is that due to hot weather they are afraid not to have health problems from package food. However, we encountered 3 families( including my wife) with stomach problems... however, I do not incriminate the hotel.
7. Minor finding: the hotel has 2 extra restaurants : Olive tree and some Asian type. On all the rest of the hotels we've been the restaurants with specific food were on All Inclusive program. With appointment but no extra charge. In Aquis this is on the charge. Ok, this might be hotel policy!
8. There is air condition equipment and big curtains on each room. I would have place at least a small textile sun cover for all balconies as during mid day and after noon it gets extreme hot and the air condition is not working properly. I think is small investment rather than changing each year the air condition equipment.
9.In general reception staff is ok but some times it gives you the impression of "who cares" ( e.g Elena)


Remark : the hotel management warns travelers that is not suited for persons with disabilities. In deed it is very steep and a lot of stairs. We were ok with it, even though in the afternoon the heat was asking you to go with cable car....

Our conclusion is that the resort , as overall, it's ok, but not for 5 stars. The hotel has 2 main drivers / aces: location and animation team... I believe this is not enough for 5 stars.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with 5xxxx are cooler. Choose only seaview as land view is ...not to take :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tzutzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelekas
7.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,232 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,333 reviews
19.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,341 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor Pelekas Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor Pelekas Monastery

Property: Mayor Pelekas Monastery
Address: Pelekas Beach, Pelekas 490 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Pelekas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor Pelekas Monastery 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway or the most entertaining family vacation , the ultimate destination is Mayor Pelekas Monastery. In a magical location , upon one of the best beaches of Corfu, Kontogialos Beach , the journey of your dreams is illuminated by the famous Greek sun and has the smell of a sea breeze. Luxurious comfort , top services and exclusive facilities compose a complete hospitality experience for every member of the family, in Mayor Pelekas Monastery. Our hotel consists of 181 rooms , most of which have a panoramic view of the Ionian Sea and the majestic sunset of Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Onthebeach, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayor Pelekas Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor Pelekas Monastery Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing