We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORTH A VISIT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayor Pelekas Monastery
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2009

hotel is more of a 3/4 star, food lets it down for 5 star. the location is excellent on beach with great sunset views. There was a smell of sewage here and there but you could not pin point where it was from. Also smelt by the pool, a maggoty smell i am sure it was a dead cat or something in the bushes on the hillsides but i was not going down to investigate. The staff are very very nice. We ate in restaurant and it was ok. buffet style but my one complaint was that food is only luke warm and i like my food very hot.
The soups were good. Bread is also very good.
Had one meal in the a la carte restaurant which was really very very good.
My only comment i have for the a la carte is that they should change the lighting to a more romantic/ambiant lighting. its all a little too stark. it would help tremendously to have more ambient lighting. The rooms were very comfortable, dvds on hire from reception if weather is not to good. The cleaner was very nice and friendly and cleaned the room each day and changed towels etc. The only drawback is that there is no place to walk to as such so you are stuck in vicinity of hotel but the beach is excellent so if like us you just want a week relaxation then i would recommend it.
Management continually check on facilities but they should taste the food, as i am sure they would also find the food is served at the wrong temperature. it would not be allowed in an English hotel. Maybe thats why people do get ill. I was ill one night but i think that was more a case of over-eating !!
the massage offered by the thai girl was amazing - definitely give it a try.
We had to move on last night to an inland facing room which was not a problem and helped us as we left at a silly time of 3am. I prefer the sea view rooms, they are much bigger. Also the smaller inland room has only a tiny shower and the shower curtains are too short / hence the bathroom floor ends up soaking wet !! A small thing which they can very easily rectify. LONGER SHOWER CURTAIN NEEDED.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radhadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

879 - 885 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2009

My partner and I stayed at Aquis Pelekas Beach Hotel the last week of September and had a fabulous time, the staff were very friendly really liked George, Yorgious and Robert at the bar, the restaurant manager and head chef, and not forgetting the great Animation team - Pete, Donna, Ellen and Sam. Was a lovely relaxing break with great food and good atmosphere. The hotel was spended and the rooms lovely too, our view from the balcony was amazing and watching the sunset was very romantic. Would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookies80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

nice hotel decent holiday, the most outstanding factor was the entertainment team, they kept my daughter busy all day with activities and was really friendly , were a credit to the hotel, rooms were lovely especially sea view rooms!

If you want great entertainment for kids, i strongly reccomend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We always use Trip Advisor when choosing a holiday so feel it is only fair to report our experience at this hotel. We appreciate that any review is subjective so have tried to be detailed and factual.

We spent the last two weeks in September as all inclusive guests at the hotel and have very mixed feelings about it. The hotel itself is basically clean and tidy, very much a Premier Inn standard, in itself not a problem, but definately not five star. The staff are very friendly but are let down by what they can provide.

The third day of our stay, we both suddenly became violently ill with sickness and diarrhoea. Literally one minute we were ok, then felt queasy and within ten or fifteen minutes were in our room being ill. The hotel was very concerned however denied any knowledge of anyone else being ill. They phoned for the doctor who advised no food and only water for 24 hours and only soup for a couple of days after that. It lasted 24 hours and then a couple of days feeling drained. No one told us whether it was food poisoning or a bug, but we spoke to a number of people throughout the holiday and found that at least one person in each party had been ill - generally on the third day of their holiday. We also witnessed some guests in the pool area toilets being ill - one of which was actually passing out.

The smell guests are referring to is a smell of sewage that is intermittent but quite strong. It was still there on 2nd October when we left.

The food was basic and extremely repetitive and as we weren't sure what had prompted our illness, we were unsure what was safe to eat. We found the food was luke warm and meat served one day as a grill option, was often served the following day on the buffet in a sauce. The soup was good however as was the bread and for several days this was the only thing we felt comfortable eating. The restaurant itself was next to the pool bar with an inside and outside eating area. The staff were excellent however nothing was done by the hotel to get rid of the wasps and wasp nests so eating outside during the day was virtually impossible. The indoor area was very much a brightly lit canteen environment with no atmosphere.

The location of the hotel was very pretty overlooking an excellent beach, although very remote, relying on the hotel bus to take guests into Pelekas village to meet with the bus to Corfu town. This was available a couple of times in the morning until 10.15am and then not until mid afternoon and had to be pre-booked. Also not all the trips met up with the bus to Corfu town. To get to anywhere on the island by bus, you had to go via Corfu town, so this was very limiting. Also taxis are expensive so generally not an option. The best way is to hire a car, but be aware that the driving on the island is pretty manic so maybe not everyones cup of tea.

We found entertainment to be poor based on a couple of members of the animation team providing aqua aerobics, volley ball, karoake and quizzes. However the greek night and pianist were both excellent, providing two nights entertainment each week - more of this would make a big difference to the evenings.

We were very disapointed with the holiday overall. The frustrating thing for us is that it has the makings of a fantastic holiday destination, but is let down by the lack of attention to detail and would't take too much effort to bring it up to the standards claimed on the hotel website. Don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueandPhilSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

This was our second stay this year, the first time with friends and we enjoyed ourselves so much that we went back with our family. The second visit was just as good as our first ,the staff are friendly and always have a smile, the food is good , excellent bar and best rooms we have ever stayed in with beautiful sea views. All the guests said they had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldwide41965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Booked in March, read bad reviews, contacted Aquis for reassurance. Had a really lovely time. Friendly staff & clean rooms & hotel environs. Wasn't happy with room on arrival so contacted reception who without any fuss facilitated a change the next morning to a much better room with a higher view. That made the holiday. Wouldn't go in high season as I couldn't be bothered to put my towel on a sun lounger before breakfast! A perfect late summer getaway. There were loads of wasps around but even when flicked away weren't aggressive!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

My husband and I have just returned from the Aquis Pelakas beach hotel with our two year old son. The complex and hotel were really lovely, and the rooms good and clean. A lot of the staff were helpful and friendly, especially George the barman who always served us with a smile!... it's a good location to get away from it all with a really lovely pool area and beach.
We found the food to be of an okay standard but very very repetative, and for someone who doesn't eat pork or bacon I struggled as they seem to put it in everything! so there's not much selection for vegetarians-literally just pasta with a tomato sauce. I was certainly glad to come home yesterday to eat some various other food.
I must also mention that there were several guests that came down with a vomiting bug while we were there, including myself. I was very sick for 24 hours with constant vomiting. As I am also pregnant I found this to be a great worry. The hotel receptionist did send the Doctor to me but I was just told to drink water and I did feel a lot better the following day, but it still obviously ruined part of our holiday.
Another thing that I will mention is the fact that there were wasps everywhere around the pool, restaurant area and on the beach. My son unfortunately got stung twice.
We had a nice break, and as I said, it's a lovely hotel and complex but we won't be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _shelleymashmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelekas
7.5 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,437 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mayor La Grotta Verde Grand Resort
5.0 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
Mayor Capo Di Corfu
#1 of 4 in Lefkimi
1,439 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,435 reviews
4.8 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor Pelekas Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor Pelekas Monastery

Address: Pelekas Beach, Pelekas 490 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Pelekas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pelekas
Price Range: £65 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mayor Pelekas Monastery 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a romantic getaway or the most entertaining family vacation , the ultimate destination is Mayor Pelekas Monastery. In a magical location , upon one of the best beaches of Corfu, Kontogialos Beach , the journey of your dreams is illuminated by the famous Greek sun and has the smell of a sea breeze. Luxurious comfort , top services and exclusive facilities compose a complete hospitality experience for every member of the family, in Mayor Pelekas Monastery. Our hotel consists of 181 rooms , most of which have a panoramic view of the Ionian Sea and the majestic sunset of Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayor Pelekas Monastery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayor Pelekas Monastery Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing