We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Julia”
Review of Dorana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Diafani B&B and Inns
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Julia”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

From the hotel you have a very beautiful view of the sea and is facing the Town it's breathtaking !!!!! The rooms are very clean ,and we had good service it's walking distance to everything .spent 3 nights there and will go again next time we visit.Karpathos is a very beautiful Island if you did not visit you must go there .The owners make you feel welcome and the price for the hotel is cheap !!Hope we can see you again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    21
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
5
37
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Once again had a lovely stay. Besutiful clean rooms and Minas and his wife make you very welcome. The new apartments are finished and Minas showed me NO 10, lovely apartment separate bedroom, large bathroom and balcony. Lovely view of the sea. Right on the front and short walk to everything. Cannot wait to revisit.

Room Tip: I normally stay in No 8 as large balcony and gets sun most of the day and has excellent views of mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Cowgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Dorana in September.

Pros: Central location, just off the main strip (steps off). Large balcony, facing the town and sea. Cost - it was very cheap (E25) so that I feel a bit bad compaining about anything else. However, I would prefer if they raised the price a bit and provided better service/cleaning etc. Short walk from the Diafani port.

Cons: The suite was dirty when we went in (long hairs on bed and pillow, dishes dirty etc.) At E25, all I expect is basic cleanliness. The chairs on the balcony were old and breaking and uncomfortable (which is a shame, because an improvement to the balcony would have seriously improved the overall experience), they no longer have the mini-market referred to on their website. The owners were very rarely around. Basics like dish soap on the kitchenette were not present, meaning we had to go by a bottle for our few days use.

Other Diafani info: There is only one store in the town, and it is small and very expensive. Bring stuff up from Pigadia if you can (like cereal, coffee, tea etc.) The twon gets slammed during the day when the tour boats are in, but as soon as they are gone, it is very quiet again. Eat at La Gorgona - seriously good food.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

You need at least one hour and fifteen min to go there from the port (if you are greek, otherwise it must be even longer) and the owner says its maximum 50 min. (From the airport is more than two hours.) The road is dangerous with many turns and scarps. 2 kilometers dangerous dirt road with no guard rail. The rooms have very bad quality matresses and you wake up feeling pain. The beach is a small port with stones and rocks. There is no good beach in the wider area. If you see offer of this on the internet is no real offer and you can achieve even lower price without the offer. You only have 4 choices of taverns to go for food in the area, and it s quite expensive. We had prepaid 6 nights and when we asked them the first day if we could stay only for 2-3 days, they said they give no money back at all, because the rooms were all full, which finally was a big lie, as proved later. The owners need to take seminars on tourism and professional behaviour.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katerina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Hi all my second visit to these apartments and still fantastic. Cleaned regular, toilets, bedding etc, near to beach and village. + If anyone is planning going from June, Minas has two fantastic apartments, that are going to be ready, that look that they are going to be really special. Only downfall for for me was no WIFI, on top floor rooms, but apparently that is going to be dealt with. I would definitely recommend a visit here, as clean and lovely people.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cowgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenos aires
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

very modern rooms, delicately clean, very near from the centre, friendly staff. a very nice value-for-money option.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ColoBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed here at the Easter, rooms quite big and very clean. If self-catering as I was it would have been nice to see a few more pans etc. Other wise well catered for. It is on the main road into the village (although village is very small and not like the road is a motorway), which was not a problem at that time of year, as double glazed, but not sure what it would be like in the summer. Minas the owner was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure everything ok. Would recommend a stay here as location is great

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cowgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diafani
17.1 mi away
Alimounda Mare
Alimounda Mare
#1 of 16 in Karpathos Town (Pigadia)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
19.0 mi away
Finiki View
Finiki View
#1 of 2 in Finiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balaskas
Hotel Balaskas
#2 of 3 in Diafani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Alkioni
Hotel Alkioni
#1 of 1 in Finiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
13.8 mi away
Blue Horizon
Blue Horizon
#54 of 95 in Karpathos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
12.7 mi away
Miraluna Hotel
Miraluna Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lefkos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorana Hotel

Property: Dorana Hotel
Address: Diafani 85700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Karpathos > Diafani
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Diafani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dorana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorana Studios are located at Diafani which is at the Northern part of Karpathos. According to most people this area is the most ideal place for relaxation and walks. Diafani is famous for its abudance of fish, diving and spearfishing opportunities. Dorana Studios consist of studios, some double bed, triple bed and a studio with four beds. There is even an apartment with six beds. We have two new family apartments also. All studios have their own balcony and a beautiful sea view, which by the way is only 50 meters away from the studios. The port of Diafani is 200 meters away and close by, you will find restaurants, ouzo bars with traditional appetizers and fish taverns which have fresh fish everyday. If you want to see the amazing sunrise and enjoy Macarunes you can go to Olympos, the most traditional village of Karpathos. It is seven kilometers from Diafani; transportation is on a daily basis. You can also go on daily excursions to different beaches and to the nearby island of Saria by boat. Convinced the hotel organizes programs for individual consumers but also to groups up to 15 people in the trails since the place is ideal for walking to many and clean trails that are all signposted. Even do and guided tours paths but also the island of sarias by ferry from DIAFANI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dorana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorana Hotel Diafani, Karpathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing