We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and People”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dolphins

The Dolphins
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Batsi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Description: The Dolphins restaurant is located in Andros in the beautiful seaside village of Batsi just above the sea road at the top of the double stairs.It's a family business operating since 1986. Enjoy traditional greek dishes, homemade specialities of Andros, a wide variety of seafood and more! Enjoy our house wine on the terrace overlooking the yacht harbour & with a panoramic view of Batsi bay.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food and People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Yanni and his Gesa and really very friendly and happy people the service and food is super...really great value...you must give it a try..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bevvyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    116
    50
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great place for the sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just returned from Batsi and eaten in The Dolphins each night. The view from the restaurant is superb. The restaurant is run by Yiannis and Gesa and they make you feel very welcome.

As well as the standard menu they had specials each evening, some were traditional Greek dishes such as Kleftiko and Stifado, others were specials. The pork in lemon sauce was a real treat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Visited twice and each time great food, superb service with lots of smiles, great position overlooking the sea, always busy, no hesitation in recommending

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Ate here twice on a four night stay in Batsi. We wanted to go to other places but we were spoilt!
A lovely couple run this busy restautant and make you feel very welcome. The lady remembered me from the beach ( we did go out of season). Simple greek food served very well, in a fabulous location with amazing views, by extremely attentive staff.
I fell in love with Andros and could have eaten at the Dolphin every night.
I've ticked the box that says it was the best meal I have ever had.
It probabably wasn't but ...... this is Greece ......and every evening felt wonderful and ..... we'd had lots of wine .....
I want to go back....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welling, Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good, authentic Greek food and a relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were a family group of 7 who stayed in a villa on top of a nearby mountain and were car less, so we would walk into Batsi most days for brunch and then spend a day at the beach. We would eat before getting a taxi back up to the villa. We intended to eat at a different place each night but ate at the Dolphins on night 2 and didn't bother to go anywhere else afterwards!

This was mainly due to the first place we ate at being less than par and deciding that when you find something that's right why risk being disappointed again. Being of Greek descent the Dolphins ticked all the boxes - from the strongly flavoured garlic in the very fresh hummus, to the tender calamari and the homemade Pastitsou and lamb and orzo dishes. Just like my dad makes. The pace was typically Greek too, allowing us to simply relax and enjoy chatting between courses. The place was busy each night even though it was towards the end of the season and there was a great atmosphere of families and groups of friends eating and enjoying each other's company. If you're ever in Batsi don't miss out on some genuine Greek home cooking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sofibirduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphins also viewed

 
Gavrion, Andros
 

Been to The Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing