We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Food & Live Music = Perfection”
Review of Themelos

Themelos
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Batsi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: ΄Themelos΄ is a unique bistro in Batsi,Andros for our menu selections-always using extra fine local products in each vegetarian,seafood and meat delicacy we offer-and for the carefully chosen house wine and spirits! We are located at a renovated former onion warehouse, a building that dates back to 1913,facing a small alley at the heart of the village.Serving 09:30 AM-03:30 PM and 06:30 PM-01:00 AM. ΄Themelos΄ was established in 2007.We aim to be a point of reference in the island's life, combining hospitality with culture, regularly hosting musical theme evening, covering a range of genres from rembetiko to jazz, art exhibitions and other cultural workshops and events. We are hosting 'travel'- a group show during July and August. Participating artists are graduates of the Athens school of Fine Art. They tackle the theme of travelling in its multiplicity of dimensions; travel as detournement, inner inquiry, personal exploration. A tool to understand both the self and the world. Visual art including video projections and installations will be on show at the first floor of΄Themelos΄.
suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Food & Live Music = Perfection”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Meandering through the alleyways of Batsi we heard the gentle tones of a jazz trio and were drawn to this unique venue. The welcome from the charming owners was equalling appealing as interesting menu. The dishes had all the wonderful textures and flavours of greek cuisine but prepared and served in a very ambitious way. Overall this was a very enjoyable evening and would say it is a MUST for any visitor to Batsi.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank villacaldera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    37
    9
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place to be”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I ve been recently in Themelos after Easter.
There was a greek music event that evening.
Food was selective and excelent
Stuff was very fast and friendly
They gave us all the important info for the island
The singer's voice was also amazing
Great memories with traditional amazing greek food, greak greek music in a very cosy space!
I ll see you soon Themelos! ;-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only discovered this gem at the end of our holiday”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The food is excellent and the owners have managed to create a wonderful ambience in the short time they have been open. You can be sure of a friendly welcome and great food. Highly recommend

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PeddyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themelos, Owner at Themelos, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very happy that we managed to satisfy your culinary requests.
We hope to see you back soon, so you will be able to try the new dishes that we prepare.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, Themelos”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Beautifull place, great food, lovely people. When you visit Batsi, it is a must to have dinner at this lovely place. The owners of Themelos are so friendly and welcoming and the food is great, Greek food with a twist.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MiekeUithoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themelos, Owner at Themelos, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear friend,
Thank you for your visit and your complementary review. We are very happy that we could satisfy your culinary quest.
We hope we will see you back soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Greek with a twist”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Themelos looks lovely, very trendy, very arty, just behind main stretch of restaurants. It's a shame that it is not on a thoroughfare because many people just do not pass it & wouldn't know it was there, and the setting is so pretty. Somehow they need to advertise where they are. The food was nicely done and slightly unusual - beet root salad was just chopped beet root ( which was lovely) with a crunchy dressing which didn't particularly taste of anything. Veal was lovely as was the crunchy shrimps and good wine. However, my main criticism is that there was not a menu, we asked for 1 but was told it was only in Greek, so the waitress listed all we could have, which I had forgotten by the time she got to the end, and of course we had no idea of prices! They had a lovely printed flyer in Greek and English setting out their history and all the things they did, including cookery classes, but no menu in English with prices! Big mistake! I like to read the menu a couple of times before deciding what I want. It would be a shame if people didn't go because it really is nice, but please, please, get something written down in other languages, even if written on a blackboard, people need to read something and to know how much they are going to pay! There is a lot of competition in Batsi, this is a bit different, they need to capitalise on that.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Themelos, Owner at Themelos, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Christine, Thank you for your comments, and the good words about Themelos. It was loving having you. We take your comments under serious consideration, and it was a shame that you have not the chance to see our new menu which came just fresh from the press! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Themelos also viewed

 
Andros Town, Andros
 
Gavrion, Andros
 

Been to Themelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing