We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming and generous family run hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Batsi
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and generous family run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

We couldn't have asked for a better start to our island hopping holiday. From the outset the communication from the hotel staff was excellent, even offering a better deal than the one I had purchased through booking.com. We were given free transfers to and from the hotel and an extra free breakfast on the morning we arrived. All the staff were friendly and attentive to all our needs. In short we couldn't have asked for more. The hotel in not brand new but it is well looked after and is incredible value for money. We will definitely recommend this to our friends and would only stay at this hotel if we return to Andros.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_UK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    55
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
60
58
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

The hotel advertises as a 4 star hotel but is no way near that categorization. Where to start from... The building is very old and in very bad condition, which is evident on the outside, as well as within the rooms. Big cracks on all the walls, old windows, old furniture and generally the place needs a huge lifting. Some desperate decorational attempts to look chic in the lobby, just look cheap.
The breakfast is one of the very low points as it offers only the absolute minimum of choice in a tiny buffet. Cold boiled eggs (as no rechauds are being used on anything), cheapest quality of cold cuts , one kind of cake....bread and thats it. Not a single effort to keep things decent or spend some money to improve the quality. Ready makes me wonder how with that breakfast the hotel got 4 stars categorisation. Politeness during service is completely absent from the breakfast personnel (1 old lady to be precise), she didnt offer the slightest smile or greeting during the few times that we had our breakfast there.
The only plus side to this establishment is the fantastic view from the rooms and the polite owners. Everything else is a waste of money (on an island that doesnt offer many options anyway to be fair). Prepare yourself for rent-a-room quality.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TsanFnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MareVista, Owner at Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear readers/travelers,

Thank you for your interest in the Mare e Vista Epaminondas hotel and for taking the time to read our post.

Our hotel was built in 1985, making it one of the first big establishments on the island of Andros.
It is a family-run business, that constantly aims to improve the building and its services.
Last partial renovation of the hotel was 5 years ago, however every year during winter maintenance, the building is well taken care of.

As far as our breakfast is concerned, we try to promote the Greek/Mediterranean breakfast in a continental buffet which includes:

Two types of bread
Home made cake
Biscuits
Ham, cheese and turkey or mortadella
Feta cheese, olives and tomato served with basilico or capers
5 different types of jam (one of which is home-made) and honey
3 types of juices (including homemade lemon juice), milk and a variety of tea
Nespresso, American coffee, and all other types of coffee with no extra charge
5 different types of cereal
Natural Greek Yogurt
Fresh seasonal fruits, 2 types of compote & a variety of dried fruits
Boiled eggs, freshly made fried eggs, bacon and sausages

During the high season, breakfast is served by two members of our staff, both of which are young in age. We stand to doubt the validity of the statement with regards to the presence of an "old lady" among the staff.

Our breakfast is until 10:30 and although the buffet is not refilled after this hour, our staff kindly waits until approximately 11:00 to clear the buffet, in courtesy to the guests who have arrived or stayed late.

However, after 10:30 we cannot guarantee that all of the above are going to be found in the same quantities.

Lastly, our hotel offers covered parking area, swimming pool, children's playroom, table tennis and billiards, as well as room service, bell boy, bilingual and helpful staff, thus justifying our 4 star level.

Thank you again for taking the time to read our response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We totally enjoy this extraordinary hotel with the amazing stuff and very chic and elegant owner. Thank you for make our staying in the early days of august 2010 unforgettable. Definetely we will visit again in the future this friendly, cosy, and with amazing view hotel!

Room Tip: amazing hotel with amazing view in the gulf of Batsi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aikaterini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Just got back from staying in Cyclades Islands, stayed for 3 nights in Batsi. The hotel was nicely decorated and we had a free upgrade to an apartment which was lovely, it was large with seperate kitchen, lounge and nicely decorated, although a little dark. We had fanatistic views from the veranda, over the beach and the village. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only downside to anyone with mobility probelms would be the steps leading down to the village.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaK2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel last weekend and it was an amazing experience!
Wonderful decoration, very big rooms, very clean!
Extermely helpful and polite personnel!
And great value for the price!
I highly recommend this hotel; one of the best I have ever stayed!!!
Way to go!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stmardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Danae and her mother at the reception will take care of all you need with a sweet smile.
very clean hotel, nice view of Batsi from the big veranda of our apartment, big apartment decorated in the white and blue colours of Cyclades and everything you need to feel at home, is there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evitasaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Attiki, Greece
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We have spend four nights in Mare e Vista Epameinondas, in a very clean and quiet room with nice view of Batsi... Nice breakfast every morning and a small but cozy pool in case someone is too bored to go and explore the gr8 beaches of the island!!!! Ladies at the reception more than friendly and helpful, any time you need them and on any subject make your stay joyfull!!! Thanx a lot and c u soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CosStam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batsi
0.3 mi away
Krinos Suites Hotel
Krinos Suites Hotel
#1 of 6 in Batsi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aneroussa Beach Hotel
Aneroussa Beach Hotel
#2 of 24 in Andros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
8.5 mi away
Anemomiloi Andros
Anemomiloi Andros
#1 of 3 in Andros Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chryssi Akti
Hotel Chryssi Akti
#3 of 6 in Batsi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Perrakis
Hotel Perrakis
#1 of 1 in Gavrio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
2.8 mi away
Andros Holiday Hotel
Andros Holiday Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gavrion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas

Property: Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas
Address: St Nicolas street, Batsi 84503, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Andros > Batsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Batsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying on the slope, within 200m from the seashore, the MARE e VISTA - EPAMINONDAS (****) hotel-apartments, overlooks the bay and the picturesque village of Batsi. The hotel is built in levels, offering the most beautiful view of the island from each one of the apartments' verandas.According to the composition of the family or company of guests, there are several options of rooms or apartments, which can ideally accommodate from two to five persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas Batsi, Andros, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing