We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Batsi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights and we were very pleased with the hotel. The location, pool and overall decor were great. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable with the added items such as a kettle and fridge which you don't readily find in Europe. Also a good shower which is always important. The staff were exceptional and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Overall,our stay at the hotel could be described as far more than pleasant!The bedroom,the decoration,the clean spaces,the balcony and its breathtaking view,the helpful staff together with the delicious breakfast made our weekend unforgettable!The only thing that could be improved is the bathroom..In my opinion it should be redecorated so as to be in accordance with the minimal styling of the room.All in all it's an excellent choice especially for someone that wants to enjoy the serenity and the harmony of the island.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisha1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

we are so lucky and we have in our three fav isles, only picked the best places to stay!!!
again here, what a place!!!! very warm people, just outstanding....
again, very beautiful rooms, great stuff, cute location....
recommended!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank york v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The breakfast is very interesting, tasty and varied. The staff were very friendly and I even sometimes struck up a conversation regarding the best places on the island. The only thing I think could be improved on is the sun beds. They should have a towel spanning the size of the bed so a sunbather does not feel burning discomfort from the hot leather exposed to the sun. I experienced quite bad discomfort when lying down bevause I would feel my head or body burn. And I think the pool should be a little heated before opening. Very nice and peaceful hotel but I would not reccomend visiting during peak heat season as due to the structure, the Mediterranean sun accompanoed by the wind is going to beat down on your head when the heat is intense.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glamgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We felt like we'd walked into a 70's health retreat when we checked into this hotel but it turned out to be a very pleasant experience. It had lots of space, large common areas, billiards table etc

Location is convenient with only a 5 minute walk into town and the hotel has a lovely view over the bay. Staff were excellent and very accommodating. Breakfast was very good. The hotel was excellent value for money.

The room design was strange with a small landing area when you first came into the room and then you had to walk up some stairs to the actual room/bathroom. Overall the hotel feels a bit dated and moving around the hotel is strange. For example even though the hotel is only a handful of floors you need to take a single lift each time you move around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espresso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Upon arrival to Mare e Vista we had a positive and a negative surprise. The positive was that the view from our huge upper floor balcony was amazing, panoramic, really beautiful. We spent many evenings relaxing there. However, it was impossible to sit on the balcony in the morning and until 3-4 pm because it had no shade. They could have at least put an umbrella or so.
The negative surprise was the interior of the room and the bathroom. Really old-style, dated, what you would expect from a cheap room-to-rent. I didn't expect to have a plastic shower curtain in a 4-star-hotel, I was very disappointed because I am disgusted of them.
Anyway, there were some more positive points as well, like the really nice personnel, from the reception ladies to the cleaning ladies and the breakfast staff. They were all nice, kind and tried to respond to our needs in the best way possible.
The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the towels were soft, although some of them had some old stains.
The air-conditioner was old technology and we had to leave some doors and windows open for fresh air otherwise we woke up with headache.
There was every day cleaning service, but the room wasn't very clean in general. The door and window shutters were dusty and I don't know when was the last time that the balcony was cleaned, but it wasn't recently.
The breakfast itself was ok, could be much better. For example all juices offered were sugary like they were made from diluted sirup. There was also a very small selection of fresh fruits (melon and watermelon) and the rest were canned. On the good side, you could order any type of coffee without extra charge. Breakfast was served until 10:30 which is early for a Greek summer holiday where many people like to stay up till late at night.
The parking garage wasn't as bad as previous reviews describe it, some of the places were too narrow for a normal car, but with some luck you could find one of the larger spaces. We only had to park outside 2-3 times.
The pool was nice, we only used it once and it was ok. Note that it's not allowed to use the pool from 15:00-17:30 and after 21:00 (or 21:30) so as not to disturb guests of nearby rooms.
The location in Batsi was very convenient, there was a nice nearby beach with a beach-bar and you could walk down to the main street and beach of Batsi within 5 minutes. There are however many steps involved which can make it hard for people with walking difficulties.
Overall, the people who run this hotel are nice and friendly, but the hotel itself needs serious renovation or it should have much lower prices for these rooms.
If we visit Batsi again we will rather choose some cheaper room-to-rent. It was not worth to pay so much money just for nice view and friendly service, can also find these with half the price.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have better and more panoramic view, especially the rooms on the right side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbgath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is a fabulous little hotel with friendly staff and spotlessly clean, comfortable rooms. We stayed in one of the smaller double rooms on the top floor. The room was bright, comfortable and we had a fabulous view from the balcony as the hotel is situated high up the cliff and overlooks the bay and harbour. The walk into Batsi takes about 5 minutes down some steep steps just down the road from the hotel. The walk back up is strenuous (70 steps apparently) but perfectly manageable. Batsi, has a good selection of restaurants and cocktail bars and is quiet compared to tourist centres on other islands. The swimming pool, although small, is clean and well maintained and there are adequate numbers of sunbeds for customer use. The hotel supplies towels if you wish to visit a beach. The little beach just round the corner at the far end of the town was wonderful.

Room Tip: The smaller double rooms afford a wonderful view across the bay and harbour. Although described as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singleparentfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batsi
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chryssi Akti
Hotel Chryssi Akti
#3 of 7 in Batsi
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Krinos Suites Hotel
Krinos Suites Hotel
#1 of 7 in Batsi
173 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aegean Castle
Aegean Castle
#1 of 1 in Paleopoli
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Perrakis
Hotel Perrakis
#1 of 1 in Gavrio
195 reviews
8.3 mi away
Paradise Art Hotel
Paradise Art Hotel
#19 of 23 in Andros
72 reviews
2.8 mi away
Andros Holiday Hotel
Andros Holiday Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gavrion
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas

Address: St Nicolas street, Batsi 84503, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Andros > Batsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Batsi
Price Range: £37 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying on the slope, within 200m from the seashore, the MARE e VISTA - EPAMINONDAS (****) hotel-apartments, overlooks the bay and the picturesque village of Batsi. The hotel is built in levels, offering the most beautiful view of the island from each one of the apartments' verandas.According to the composition of the family or company of guests, there are several options of rooms or apartments, which can ideally accommodate from two to five persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Vista Hotel - Epaminondas Batsi, Andros, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing