We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great pub, with a lovely view! ”
Review of King's Head Pub

King's Head Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great pub, with a lovely view! ”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Having ordered a quick snack for lunch, we were very impressed!

We had a salmon sandwich which was lovely freshly poached salmon & an amazing local pork & apple burger! Was both really good!

If you're in the area, I would defo recommend a visit!

Helpful?
Thank natsz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Pub, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Red229,
Thank you for your great review.
We hope you will call in again!
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    129
    52
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful place & manager v accomodating & full refund when gave critism”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went for my fathers birthday whilst he & my mother were visiting. Place is situated in a great area, and rather conveniently you take take dogs as long as you sit in the beer garden outside. Perfect!! My scallops starter was amazing cooked to perfection. |Infact all the food was great except just 1 dish the risotto (very bland, other members of our table tasted it too and we all agreed) We mentioned this to a waiter who very promptly came back with the manager. A bit intimidating but nevertheless the manager was friendly, said he would speak to the chef and come back to us. He did and gave us a refund, explained that the chef does not season too much incase people don't like it, but I think the manager was being kind to the chef because it was seriously under seasoned. (my parents were chef's for years who were with us and they agreed) Anyway, the manager gave a full refund on the risotto and we ordered some desserts. Again I would highly recommend this as a perfect place to go summer of winter. Guaranteed fantastic food and service & I shall return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pookieljhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falmouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very dog friendly.”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Separate area in pub for dogs for owners to drink and eat. Nice outside seating with wonderful views. Good choice of real ales. Food very good selection of local produce. Very popular for surfers so the pub has a good atmosphere. Staff are great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank penderowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Pub, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Penderowen,
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review, its so nice to get positive feed back about our real ales and good food. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good country pub”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The only pub available in town offers good food. but let itself down for how the toilette are cared for.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gilberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Pub, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hello Gilberto R,
Thank you for your review, we do agree the food is good.
As for the toilets,the pub is very old and we are always updating, the toilets are next on the list.
But thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bloody Lovely and dog friendly too!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Visiting the Kings Head made our day complete! We had a Fish and Chips - lovely non greasy, crisp batter on the Fish and PROPER Chips, real homemade Tarter Sauce and lovely mushy peas - seriously Delish! Meat Feast Pizza was equally well made and very big - clearly topped with their own toppings etc - non of this shop brought rubbish. Onion rings done in the same batter as the fish - just as fresh and crispy. Generous portions, you won't go hungry!!!Great service - lovely bar and waiting staff - everyone was welcoming and my dog was welcomed too! Fab place, fab staff, fab food! Thanks for giving us a great late lunch - a great end to a lovely day on Llangennith Beach. We will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Alexandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Pub, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Alexandsteve,
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed your experience at the Kings Head.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King's Head Pub also viewed

Llanmadoc, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Oldwalls, Swansea County
 
Llanrhidian, Vale of Glamorgan
 

Been to King's Head Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing