We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit - maybe the last !”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Blas Gwyr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blas Gwyr
Ranked #3 of 7 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2nd visit - maybe the last !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was a return visit to Blas Gwyr after my first a couple of years ago. The village of Llangennith is one fantastic place - the scenery is some of the best I have ever seen across the World - no exaggeration.
Unfortunately Blas Gwyr has not made any great improvements. Parking is a nightmare unless you arrive on a bike - only space for 4 cars and 2 of those are the owners cars. Our room (Llyrlys) was beautifully designed but not very clean - cobwebs high in the ceiling and quite thick dust. The owner Dafydd, was not there to meet us (a note was stuck to the door) and in fact when we finally saw him late at night he seemed to have no time to welcome us.
The breakfast was ok but certainly not 5 star or even 4 actually.
So in the future , will return to Llangennith but unfortunately not to Blas Gwyr.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brummies83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    35
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
94
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed for three nights in May. The owner was helpful and clearly wanted guests to have an enjoyable stay. However it felt as if his heart wasn't in running the place and it seemed to be too much for him. We had the best room and it was lovely on the surface but it wasn't terribly clean and was starting to look a little tired. Bed was very comfortable. We'd stayed in a rather luxurious B and B in Bath the night before our arrival, paying £15 less per night so the comparison with Blas Gwyr was not favourable. Breakfast was fine but not outstanding. Wifi didn't work and it appeared that had been the case for a while. The phone signal was also very weak. We didn't go to Wales to spend all our time on the internet, but we did feel cut off and couldn't look up places to visit. We could pick up a signal in the courtyard but as it rained much of the time, this wasn't a great alternative. The tv picture quality was very poor. Again, on its own that wouldn't be a problem, but coupled with the lack of internet and phone it wasn't what I'd expect. I felt that we paid for 5 star accommodation which just didn't live up to expectations. That said, we had a fab time, a great location and The Gower is just stunning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dylanvillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Originally booked to stay here with my boyfriend for a couple of nights as a short break away! When we arrived at the hotel, we were faced with an issue (Not the owner - Daffyd's fault, but the technical team behind the online booking). It had turned out that the booking had not actually been made, despite money being taken out of my account due to a technical issue. After speaking to a very unhelpful and rude response team behind the issue, Daffyd welcomed us into the food/sitting area (which was very well designed, clean and modern with a county feel about it). He then took the situation into his hands in order to help us find an accommodation at such short notice! He was extremely helpful, rung around businesses in the local area to try sort something out but unfortunately had no luck. In the end, we stayed with friends of his in a private holiday apartment down the road. Luckily we had Daffyd, as he arranged a deal with the owners at the same price we paid with his b&b, sorted everything out at short notice and took us there himself. Despite the issues we encountered, without Daffyd our break away would undoubtly of been ruined, so if you are reading this thankyou very much!! I only regret we didn't get to stay at this b&b as the location was perfect (out of the way of Swansea City centre but only a short drive away, with the beautiful llangeneith beach a 5 minute drive down the road). The accommodation looked beautiful and I have no doubts my experience with Blas Gwyr would've exceeded my expectations! A gorgeous b&b, with a very welcoming, helpful owner and excellent customer service!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly9606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Blas Gwyr at the beginning of June and had a really relaxing and enjoyable stay. Dafydd the owner is a charming host and was very knowlegeable about places to visit and eat in the area. Blas Gwyr itself is a bijou group of rooms around a sunny central courtyard. Our room was Grug and it was very tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable with nice touches you'd expect from a boutique B&B. We particularly liked the fact that Dafydd had sourced locally produced bath toiletries ( which were very good) that could be refilled rather than just dumped in the bin after each guest had left.
Both my partner and I are vegetarian and this didn't pose a problem for Dafydd either, so we had a delicious breakfast which included homemade, traditional Glamorgan sausages, which contain no meat.
This was a beautiful, peaceful and relaxing place to stay. LLangenith is very well situated for all the local attractions on the Gower.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful weekend in the sunshine at Blas Gwyr at the end of May. Beautiful location with the beach close by. The room was fantastic, breakfast was very tasty (especially the Glamorgan sausages and local cake) and Dafydd was very friendly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beckselizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from a lovely weekend walking, the weekend was made especially nice by choosing to stay at Blas Gwyr our room was really nice and we really liked having our own front door,the courtyard was a fantastic sun trap and it was great to sit outside and have a cup of tea (or glass of wine!) after a days walking. Dafydd was really welcoming, very knowledgable about the area and cooked a great breakfast. What a stunning area and a great place to stay, hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having never visited this area before, we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful beaches and surrounding countryside and Blas Gwyr was a great place from which to explore. We are Southampton football fans and were attending a match in Swansea, so were thrilled with this rural idyll just half an hour from the city. The owner Dafydd makes it a welcoming, friendly place and we were grateful for his tips and excellent knowledge of the area. Breakfast was a particularly fantastic experience, very personal, and the room was spacious and comfortable. We particularly liked the design of the bathroom, using the original stone in a trendy design. It's a five minute walk to a great pub with nice food and a lovely half hour walk to a stunning, deserted beach. There's a lovely courtyard to relax in. The rates are not cheap, but in our opinion Blas Gwyr was well worth what we paid. I'd like to return with a larger group and book the whole place. We really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoreleiReddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangennith
4.7 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
12.2 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
3.6 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#1 of 7 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Western House B&B
Western House B&B
#2 of 7 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blas Gwyr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blas Gwyr

Property: Blas Gwyr
Address: Plenty Farm, Llangennith SA3 1HU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Blas Gwyr 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blas Gwyr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blas Gwyr Llangennith, Swansea County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing