We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (891)
Filter reviews
892 results
Traveller rating
487
244
97
42
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
244
97
42
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubunderfloor heatinggower brewerycurriescar parkcurry nightrhossili beachhuge bathcheese boardworms headdog ownerssmoked haddockbooked a tablewelsh breakfastfresh milklava breadthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
584 - 589 of 892 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a great weekend, will definitely return and would definitely recommend to others, especially dog owners. As a dog owner it is wonderful to find such high quality, dog friendly, accommodation. Great rooms, modern, clean and separate from the pub so no worry re noise. Food in pub was excellent, good choice and good standard. Breakfast was not as good and seemed to differ in standard from day to day - obviously a different chef from the evenings. Staff really friendly and helpful. Location is outstanding, ideal for Llangennith beach, Rhosilli and the rest of the Gower. We are regular visitors to the Gower and have stayed in many places, we will definitely return to The Kings Head and cannot wait!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room, ask for a room with a bath.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skiathosrunningclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Skiathosrunningclub,
Thank you for your lovely review. All comments have been taken on board and we hope you will be back to stay with us again.
Many thanks, All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our first trip to the Gower and loved both the warm welcome and the excellent rooms at the King's Head. The rooms were clean and tidy, well laid out and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. The view from the room out to the bay was amazing, especially at sunset. The staff were really friendly and very helpful with advice on the best walks and places to visit in the short time we had. We will definitely be returning and staying here again.

This place is a real gem!

Room Tip: Upper floors are best for the view over the bay
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 466ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear 466ab,
Thank you for your fabulous review, we hope you will be coming to stay with us again soon,
All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel's dog-friendly accommodation is located in a purpose built, modern, well equipped annex at the rear of the hotel and it's car park. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The food in the hotel is varied, plentiful, of a good quality and reasonably priced - with local produce being used whenever possible.
Located in the heart of the village the views are dramatic and at a steady pace, and a short walk you across the sand dunes to Rhossili beach and spectacular coastal scenery. The hotel provides a guide for local walks which we followed and thoroughly enjoyed - walking along the coastal path through sand dunes and pine forests with wild ponies and red-kites for company. All in all an enjoyable stay - the sun always helps but the accommodation and warm welcome equals the scenery and stunning landscapes. Book a table in the dog friendly area of the hotel in advance if you are taking your hound as seating there is limited..but if the sun is shining you can eat al fresco at the numerous wooden tables outside . A glorious place to which we will return again...and again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor in a dog friendly room - could not fault the cleanliness or friendliness of staff.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Janet B,
Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate all the comments and look forward to your return.
Thanks again, All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I had wanted to stay near Llangennith for a few nights with my son so I booked into the Kings head.
The rooms were good quality and comfortable.

The down side was the cleanliness of the rooms - there was more sand on the floor than on the beach when we arrived. I got hold of a brush the next day and the amount of sand and animal hairs brushed up was horrible.
The staff were not a happy bunch and we only met one member of staff that had any customer skills.
The food in the Kings head Inn was not good. The food arrived three quarters of an hour after ordering on the first night and was greasy. They had run out of ketchup and just said sorry.

The breakfasts for the three mornings, we suffered it, consisted of over done and crispy egg, bacon like leather, tasteless sausages, cold beans and greasy mushrooms. My son tried something different every day to try to find something edible - sausage sandwiches - tasteless and greasy, Scrambled egg - looked like a leather egg pat.
We also shared the eating room with a menagerie of cats and dogs.

So thanks to them for spoiling a few days and taking a lot of money for such poor unclean and miserable a time.

Room Tip: Don't stay there unless you want a holiday with your pet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GPjgM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear GPjgM03,
We are sorry to read your review & that you felt this way. Had we known about the problems we would have done our utmost to rectify them at the time.
We pride ourselves on our rooms especially the cleanliness and would like to assure you this is very unusual & have put further procedures in place to assure this does not happen again.
Our staff are very friendly & helpful and we are surprised at these comments.
We offer a wide selection at breakfast with a cold buffet offering fresh fruit, yoghurts, muffins, cereals,croissants & you can help yourself to toast.
Again we are sorry you felt this way,
All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

An amazing room, under floor heating and lovely fittings etc the pub could do with updating but the food is really nice with a big choice. Very light room with big window and a shower room to die for. Great location for walking and was told I can bring the dog next time to.

I would say its a little expensive for what it is, not so much the room the Pub and the car park need attendance

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurajenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear LauraJenkins,
Thank you for the review and all comments have been taken on board.
We hope to see you again in the future,
Kind Regards,
All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews