We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What I look forward to every Friday.”
Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What I look forward to every Friday.”
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed in one of the rooms last year, very modern yet rustic and very clean yet comfortable. Sad to hear that there were complaints about the cat in the top bar, that's what makes the kings so homely is that it is animal friendly. Short for my age (19) yet I get served alcohol at the bar with no questions asked. Come as a large group most Fridays so it's lovely to be welcomed back with open arms each weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Becky,
Thank you so much for the review and we look forward to seeing you on the weekend,
Many thanks, All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    203
    79
    35
    18
See reviews for
120
507
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here recently for one night as part of our mini roadtrip around West Wales. The room itself was well furnished, with lovely extra touches such as the provision of Cadbury hot chocolate sachets and a mini shoe shiner, you can tell I am fairly easily pleased! We only paid £60 and thought it was excellent value. We ate at the pub that evening (curry night) and the food was delicious. Service was excellent. The rooms are about a 5-10 minute drive from the beach so ideal for surfers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cenhinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Dear Cenhinen,
Thank you for the lovely review,
Kind Regards,
All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the King's Head Inn for two nights in early April 2013. The King's Head Inn is situated at the western tip of Gower very close to incredibly beautiful Rhossili beach. Llangennith itself is a tiny village with just a pub and surf shop. However, Gower has plenty of shops dotted around to include the ubiqitous Tesco Express within essy reach! As for the scenery, it is stunning with many coves, beaches and countryside that is perfect for walking (bring footwear you won't mind getting muddy)!

The rooms are situated approx 50m away from the pub itself - a car park separates the two buildings - great if you are sensitive to noise. In fact, we slept incredibly well both nights as it's very quiet with little light pollution. The rooms are generously proportioned. We had an upstairs room (25) which offers a great view of the coast. The room was clean with a very comfortable double bed, flat screen tv, fridge (reception provides fresh milk), tea/coffee making facilities including biscuits. The bathroom was great - terrific shower and a large bath - and plenty of hot water too. Great when returning from a rainy hike! Underfloor heating
a great idea. Overall, room was clean, functional, spacious and comfortable.

We ate at the King's Head Inn both evenings. There are two bars and whilst you can eat in both, one is specifically for dining and doesn't appear to allow dogs (although you might spot the resident cat who was no trouble at all). If you're a fan of real ales I highly recommend sampling the many Gower Brewery ales - I successfully managed to work my way through them all quite happily!

Food is somewhere in between good old pub grub and gastro pub. Plenty of options including some good specials. The braised lamb shank is superb as is the cheese board. Breakfast was more than competent with fresh fruit, yogurts, toast, muffins plus hot breakfasts cooked to order. Poached eggs and bacon top notch. Good coffee too.

Every member of staff without exception appeared genuinely friendly and were helpful. The two chaps behind the bar were particularly good fun and very chatty.

On Saturday evening a band played some excellent cover versions and the atmosphere was terrific. Great opportunity to meet some of the very friendly locals!

Overall, more than does the job. It's not The Dorchester but it doesn't make out that it is. It's a good olde traditional country pub with adjoining rooms. It does exactly what it says on the tin. Go with that expectation and you will not be disappointed. Thanks for a terrific weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotchickPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear HotchickParel,
Thank you so much for the fabulous review. We are glad you enjoyed and we agree the Gower Brewery Ales are tremendous as is the Cheese board.
We hope you will be back to stay with us again soon, All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Booked 2 nights at the King's Head Inn to get away for a peaceful few days.
The room was fantastic, quite large and modern with plenty of storage, heated floors, a fridge, safe and a really nice bathroom. You can buy a bath bomb from reception.
The view from the room was of the sea in the distance and you are surrounded by country side.
We took our dog with us and when we were outside early one morning there was a sheep and 3 small ponies in the car park eating grass - wow.
We went out for a walk on our first afternoon intending to walk to the beach, which is a good 40 minutes away by foot but ended walking up a huge hill where the views were breath taking.
There is a guide of local walks in your info pack in your room which is useful.
We headed back to our room to freshen up then went down to the pub for dinner, we were welcomed by Ian who was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, everyone was really friendly.
The food was fab and I asked if I could take away one of their traditional cheese boards which they wrapped up for us - please try it, it was out of this world.
On our second day we woke up to grey skies and after breakfast decided to walk to Rhosilli beach but unfortunately the weather was not on our side, we braved it but the weather was atrocious and we got soaked through and blown all over the place, so headed back to our nice warm room for a cup of hot chocolate.
Bear in mind this place is animal friendly, there is a beautiful cat in the pub who likes to come and say hello and sit by your table, apparently people complain about there being animals around, this is advertised as animal friendly so please do not complain if you know this already.
The King's Head is a lovely place to go and if the weather is on your side, even better.
The food is tasty, the rooms are really good, the staff and locals are so friendly and the walks and scenery are second to none, so book it and go and enjoy yourself.
Just be aware that when you book that you may have to wait a few weeks due to it's popularity.
We will go back but when the weather is a bit brighter.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nipper74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Nipper 74,
Thank you so much for the fantastic review and we are glad you enjoyed.
We hope to see you again soon, All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a great weekend, will definitely return and would definitely recommend to others, especially dog owners. As a dog owner it is wonderful to find such high quality, dog friendly, accommodation. Great rooms, modern, clean and separate from the pub so no worry re noise. Food in pub was excellent, good choice and good standard. Breakfast was not as good and seemed to differ in standard from day to day - obviously a different chef from the evenings. Staff really friendly and helpful. Location is outstanding, ideal for Llangennith beach, Rhosilli and the rest of the Gower. We are regular visitors to the Gower and have stayed in many places, we will definitely return to The Kings Head and cannot wait!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room, ask for a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skiathosrunningclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Skiathosrunningclub,
Thank you for your lovely review. All comments have been taken on board and we hope you will be back to stay with us again.
Many thanks, All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was our first trip to the Gower and loved both the warm welcome and the excellent rooms at the King's Head. The rooms were clean and tidy, well laid out and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. The view from the room out to the bay was amazing, especially at sunset. The staff were really friendly and very helpful with advice on the best walks and places to visit in the short time we had. We will definitely be returning and staying here again.

This place is a real gem!

Room Tip: Upper floors are best for the view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 466ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear 466ab,
Thank you for your fabulous review, we hope you will be coming to stay with us again soon,
All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilwern
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel's dog-friendly accommodation is located in a purpose built, modern, well equipped annex at the rear of the hotel and it's car park. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The food in the hotel is varied, plentiful, of a good quality and reasonably priced - with local produce being used whenever possible.
Located in the heart of the village the views are dramatic and at a steady pace, and a short walk you across the sand dunes to Rhossili beach and spectacular coastal scenery. The hotel provides a guide for local walks which we followed and thoroughly enjoyed - walking along the coastal path through sand dunes and pine forests with wild ponies and red-kites for company. All in all an enjoyable stay - the sun always helps but the accommodation and warm welcome equals the scenery and stunning landscapes. Book a table in the dog friendly area of the hotel in advance if you are taking your hound as seating there is limited..but if the sun is shining you can eat al fresco at the numerous wooden tables outside . A glorious place to which we will return again...and again.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor in a dog friendly room - could not fault the cleanliness or friendliness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Janet B,
Thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate all the comments and look forward to your return.
Thanks again, All @ The Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangennith
4.6 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.4 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Western House B&B
Western House B&B
#2 of 5 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blas Gwyr
Blas Gwyr
#3 of 5 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Property: King's Head Inn
Address: Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is A four-star Country Inn with 27 rooms. All of our rooms are of a very high standard, with ensuite facilities and underfloor heating. Our rooms offer a host of features which we hope will make your stay most relaxing. The Kings Head was rated in the top ten summer pubs in Britain by the Sunday Times Magazine, 2006. & recommended in Which holiday magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Llangennith
King's Head Inn Llangennith, Swansea County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing