We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our purposes”
Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King's Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Stayed here on a photo workshop. The room was clean and comfortable although after the first night the room was not serviced. Didn't make too much difference to me as a quick tug of the quilt had it in place but others on our trip were not happy that the floor was not swept and sand got everywhere.
We ate most nights in the pub. They were so accommodating even when we got back late. The food was great, home made, hot and tasty. Sometimes there was a delay in getting all 14 meals out in good order but that was not a problem. The beer was great and the cheeseboard certainly worth a try.
Will definitely come back

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Tony P,
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you again soon,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
There are newer reviews for King's Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

The appealing accommodation is located to the rear of the pub and car park.

The positives;

The rooms are modern, large, warm and comfortable.
The receptionist was brilliantly helpful.
The huge bath was so welcome after a day’s hiking and there was no shortage of hot water.
Such a comfortable large bed!
Very good drinks tray and hot chocolate is always a bonus for hikers!
Good breakfast and thank you for keeping lavabread on your menu when some other places have given up on it!
Perfect location.
High strength free wi-fi.

The negatives;
‘Flat’ hard towels that I suggest need replacing?
Noise insulation between rooms was a problem for me especially as the tiled floors appear to echo sound particulary from hard-soled shoes and inconsiderate guests with loud voices. I guess not much can be done to stop that?
I just felt that the midweek price was steep given the prices quoted by some other reviewers however as it was full then I probably paid a premium? It would certainly be good value under £100 but not what I paid!

Overall its clearly a popular place to stay but I would probably not return due to the noise intrusion and high price. My advice would be dont reject staying here based on my review as it would be good if you got it for a lower rate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gowerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear GowerGuy,
Thank you for your review and all comments have been taken on board. Thank you for the positive feedback as well as the constructive criticism which I can assure you has been taken on board.
We are in the process of setting up a contract with laundry companies with better linen.
Ensure to look at our website as we do some great midweek deals including 5 nights from Sunday for just £299.
Many thanks,
All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We have just spent a relaxing 3 day leisure break at The Kings Head in Llangennith. We last stayed here four years ago.The accommodation is excellent, clean, comfortable beds, lovely under floor heating, just a pleasure to stay once again. There was only one problem this time around, Ten of us stayed to celebrate 3 special birthdays, we had booked a meal on the Sunday night , pre booked what we had choosen to eat, to make it easier for the Chef, or so we thought. The meals were not good, not hot, meat tough, poor service, waitress didn't even come to clear the tables and ask if we enjoyed the meal, or to even ask if we wanted dessert or coffee. The pub lost out in takings, as the next night, we had to choose another venue to eat at. We hope to stay there in the future, but, whether we eat at this pub, we doubt, and that is such a shame, as the atmosphere is really good usually, with dogs welcome, and is just a friendly place. Hopefully, the Manager can check on the problems, and make sure it doesn't happen again.

Room Tip: Room 18 has a huge bed, great!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poodle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Poodle8,
Thank you for the review. All your comment shave been taken on board & I can assure you this was a one off. We were made aware of the situation on Sunday & have put in measures to ensure this does not happen again,
Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back to stay with us soon and dine with us too.
Kind Regards, All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed in one of the rooms last year, very modern yet rustic and very clean yet comfortable. Sad to hear that there were complaints about the cat in the top bar, that's what makes the kings so homely is that it is animal friendly. Short for my age (19) yet I get served alcohol at the bar with no questions asked. Come as a large group most Fridays so it's lovely to be welcomed back with open arms each weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Becky,
Thank you so much for the review and we look forward to seeing you on the weekend,
Many thanks, All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here recently for one night as part of our mini roadtrip around West Wales. The room itself was well furnished, with lovely extra touches such as the provision of Cadbury hot chocolate sachets and a mini shoe shiner, you can tell I am fairly easily pleased! We only paid £60 and thought it was excellent value. We ate at the pub that evening (curry night) and the food was delicious. Service was excellent. The rooms are about a 5-10 minute drive from the beach so ideal for surfers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cenhinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Cenhinen,
Thank you for the lovely review,
Kind Regards,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the King's Head Inn for two nights in early April 2013. The King's Head Inn is situated at the western tip of Gower very close to incredibly beautiful Rhossili beach. Llangennith itself is a tiny village with just a pub and surf shop. However, Gower has plenty of shops dotted around to include the ubiqitous Tesco Express within essy reach! As for the scenery, it is stunning with many coves, beaches and countryside that is perfect for walking (bring footwear you won't mind getting muddy)!

The rooms are situated approx 50m away from the pub itself - a car park separates the two buildings - great if you are sensitive to noise. In fact, we slept incredibly well both nights as it's very quiet with little light pollution. The rooms are generously proportioned. We had an upstairs room (25) which offers a great view of the coast. The room was clean with a very comfortable double bed, flat screen tv, fridge (reception provides fresh milk), tea/coffee making facilities including biscuits. The bathroom was great - terrific shower and a large bath - and plenty of hot water too. Great when returning from a rainy hike! Underfloor heating
a great idea. Overall, room was clean, functional, spacious and comfortable.

We ate at the King's Head Inn both evenings. There are two bars and whilst you can eat in both, one is specifically for dining and doesn't appear to allow dogs (although you might spot the resident cat who was no trouble at all). If you're a fan of real ales I highly recommend sampling the many Gower Brewery ales - I successfully managed to work my way through them all quite happily!

Food is somewhere in between good old pub grub and gastro pub. Plenty of options including some good specials. The braised lamb shank is superb as is the cheese board. Breakfast was more than competent with fresh fruit, yogurts, toast, muffins plus hot breakfasts cooked to order. Poached eggs and bacon top notch. Good coffee too.

Every member of staff without exception appeared genuinely friendly and were helpful. The two chaps behind the bar were particularly good fun and very chatty.

On Saturday evening a band played some excellent cover versions and the atmosphere was terrific. Great opportunity to meet some of the very friendly locals!

Overall, more than does the job. It's not The Dorchester but it doesn't make out that it is. It's a good olde traditional country pub with adjoining rooms. It does exactly what it says on the tin. Go with that expectation and you will not be disappointed. Thanks for a terrific weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HotchickPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear HotchickParel,
Thank you so much for the fabulous review. We are glad you enjoyed and we agree the Gower Brewery Ales are tremendous as is the Cheese board.
We hope you will be back to stay with us again soon, All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Booked 2 nights at the King's Head Inn to get away for a peaceful few days.
The room was fantastic, quite large and modern with plenty of storage, heated floors, a fridge, safe and a really nice bathroom. You can buy a bath bomb from reception.
The view from the room was of the sea in the distance and you are surrounded by country side.
We took our dog with us and when we were outside early one morning there was a sheep and 3 small ponies in the car park eating grass - wow.
We went out for a walk on our first afternoon intending to walk to the beach, which is a good 40 minutes away by foot but ended walking up a huge hill where the views were breath taking.
There is a guide of local walks in your info pack in your room which is useful.
We headed back to our room to freshen up then went down to the pub for dinner, we were welcomed by Ian who was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble, everyone was really friendly.
The food was fab and I asked if I could take away one of their traditional cheese boards which they wrapped up for us - please try it, it was out of this world.
On our second day we woke up to grey skies and after breakfast decided to walk to Rhosilli beach but unfortunately the weather was not on our side, we braved it but the weather was atrocious and we got soaked through and blown all over the place, so headed back to our nice warm room for a cup of hot chocolate.
Bear in mind this place is animal friendly, there is a beautiful cat in the pub who likes to come and say hello and sit by your table, apparently people complain about there being animals around, this is advertised as animal friendly so please do not complain if you know this already.
The King's Head is a lovely place to go and if the weather is on your side, even better.
The food is tasty, the rooms are really good, the staff and locals are so friendly and the walks and scenery are second to none, so book it and go and enjoy yourself.
Just be aware that when you book that you may have to wait a few weeks due to it's popularity.
We will go back but when the weather is a bit brighter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nipper74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Dear Nipper 74,
Thank you so much for the fantastic review and we are glad you enjoyed.
We hope to see you again soon, All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangennith
5.6 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,001 reviews
3.4 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
692 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
163 reviews
12.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Western House B&B
Western House B&B
#1 of 5 in Llangennith
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range: £79 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is A four-star Country Inn with 27 rooms. All of our rooms are of a very high standard, with ensuite facilities and underfloor heating. Our rooms offer a host of features which we hope will make your stay most relaxing. The Kings Head was rated in the top ten summer pubs in Britain by the Sunday Times Magazine, 2006. & recommended in Which holiday magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Llangennith
King's Head Inn Llangennith, Swansea County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing