We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, pleasant place to stay”
Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King's Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a weekend at the beginning of June for a friend's wedding. We arrived late on Friday night after being caught in a large traffic jam on the M4 following an accident. Upon arrival, the receptionist was very friendly and mentioned that she had been expecting to wait around until we showed up as she had heard of the big accident on the motorway. She was very helpful and showed us to our room.

We had a twin room on the ground floor not too far away from the reception area and the room was lovely. We had two single beds, a wardrobe, dressing table, chair and TV. The room was very spacious and so was the bathroom. We were very comfortable there. They even had toiletries in the bathroom. Couldn't see a hair dryer though although i luckily didn't need one.

Next to the Inn was a pub which served the breakfast. Wonderful choices; full english, mini english, croissants, toasts, orange juice, tea, coffee, etc. The weekend we stayed happened to be a wonderfully sunny one so we used their outdoor seating area to eat breakfast. The view from their outdoor area is amazing on a clear day, we could see the sea and the wonderful green land - it had a real holiday feel! The coast is about 20-30 minute walk from the Kings Head Inn, better if you have a car to drive down there.

The wedding couple held a function on the Friday night at the pub, gave them a function room with some traditional Welsh dishes. It was a great way to see the couple and meet people who would be at the wedding in a relaxed environment. Great food too.

The location of the hotel is in the middle of nowhere (for us London folk!) and is quite a long drive to get to, however, it is wonderfully peaceful and beautiful. If it's easy for you to get to, I would recommend this hotel as we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAmyYa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hello Miss AmyYa,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Its lovely to see City people coming away for a total chill out!
Now you have discovered us we hope you will make the journey again sometime to revisit our beautiful Gower!
( hairdryer was in the desk draw)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 835 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

Me and my partner were lucky enough to win a free nights stay at The Kings Head and were a bit dubious at first. However, when we got there we found out it wasnt a con and was chuffed to bits. The fantastic receptionist showed us to our room which was gorgous! Underfloor heating, massive room, very comfortable and gorgous views. The staff in the restaurant were also wonderful and the place was absolutely beautiful :) Definately recomend to anyone and everyone. Thank you again Kings Head :) x

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyFoundHerNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Kirsty,
Thank you for your review and kind comments. Hope you come back to stay with us soon.
Kind Regards,
All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The King Head hotel and pub was brilliant. Real people will love it hear, whilst people who consider the 'look' of a Sausage to be the most important thing in their day(previous review) may not. My sausages were fab by the way, as was the rest of my freshly made and served breakfast. The pub way busy and friendly and the range of local beers from the Gower brewery should not be missed! The bedrooms were spacious and well appointed, clean and modern. I spend many nights a year in hotels for business so consider myself a mattress-a phobe, as you never know what you get. I slept like a log...the beer may of helped a little. My wife, daughter and I enjoyed the whole experience surrounded by the beautiful Gower countryside.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms easy access for those on wheels. Al rooms are far enough away from the pub so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear GYB2000,
Thank you for the fabulous uplifting review. We really appreciate the time spent on reviews and positive feedback is so rewarding.
Hope you come back soon,
All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Just come back from Gower and will remember Llangenith and the King Head with great fondness.

The room was generously sized, well kitted out and very clean.

The staff were as friendly as any I can remember, the beer was great, and I'll definitely go back.

I've looked at a couple of reviews that reflect how busy the pub (garden) can get.

When the sun is out, this is among the best places you would ever want to be, so of course its busy !

Go and find out for yourself why everyone wants to be there !!!

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Ian B,
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you enjoying the beer garden soon sampling some delicious new specials from our new chefs and sampling the fine Gower Brewery Ales on offer.
Hope to see you soon,
Lara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Just spend a long weekend at King's Head Inn with my Wife, Parents, and our Dog. It was the perfect choice for accommodation. The location is perfect for a proper Welsh experience. Very small country town with amazing coastline within walking distance. The best beaches and views in Gower and lots other place within a short drive away, including: Castles, Swansea, Walking Trails, Beaches, and Pubs/Restaurants. Everyone was very friendly and the food at the Pub was amazing. It was packed every night we were there as it was a bank holiday weekend. The service was slow at times but understandable given the crowd of people. They certainly did there best to get food out as quickly as possible and the wait was worth it....the food was absolutely amazing and I recommend going with one of the specials (food on the menu is good by specials are even better!). Breakfast was included and all very good as well. Highly recommend this place for a nice quiet and relaxing vacation far from busy city life where you will find the most amazing countryside, coast lines, and authentic Welsh cuisine!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Josh H,
Thank you for your lovely review. we really appreciate all feedback and having such a fabulous review really makes it all worth while.
Thank you so much and we hope to see you all again soon,
All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Poor food
- the sausages looked rancid
- the gammon was under-done

Poor service
- we ended up waiting 2 hours for our food (to be fair they did warn us of an hour wait)
- our complaint went under-answered while the manageress hid in the kitchen for thirty minutes
- the bar staff expected us to mop up a spilt drink

I would strongly recommend that you don’t bother with this place; it was the worst experience I’ve ever had in a pub.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Ross T,
Sausages are from our local butcher and we normally get really good feed back from them and all the meat supplied by the award winning butcher.
Bank holiday Sunday was exceptionally busy with hundreds of meals served. We were very aware and tried our utmost, as this number of customers only occurs very rarely when there is excellent weather on a bank holiday this was the busiest day we have had for six or seven years therefore unfortunately unavoidable delays occurred.
I am sorry you felt that I 'hid' but I went to help the kitchen.
I hope you are able to come and eat with us on a normal weekend in the future and be writing a better review. I also hope you add more reviews to your portfolio and not somebody who makes an account just to slate somewhere, hope you actually praise places when they do a good job.
Kind Regards,
All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

King's Head Inn is a great pub/B&B ideally located on the Gower. Located around 15 minutes walk from the beach it overlooks the countryside and is a great jump off point for walking and surfing.

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a slight issue with hot water on the first evening but this seemed to sort itself out. We had fresh towels delivered to the room every day which was great as well. Overall, i was impressed by the quality and cleaniness of the rooms.

Breakfast is included in the price of the rooms and they put on a super spread. There is a good choice of cooked breakfasts which are vital after a night on the Gower Power (the local ale).

The dinner menu is simple, effective and well priced. The specials board was also full of tastey dishes. The food is good and the portions are sizeable. As some of the other reviews point out, on Sunday (Bank Holiday) the restaurant did end up getting itself in a bit of a pickle by taking too many orders, resulting in 3hr waiting times! Clearly this is far from ideal, however, i do not believe that this is a true reflection of the pub and its management in general. For example, on Saturday, again another busy night for the pub, we only waited 30mins for our food.

The staff are extremely friendly and tried their absolute best on Sunday to keep a very very busy pub happy. Having talked to management on the Monday morning i think they will have learned their lesson not to take more orders than they can handle!

Overall, i would highly recommend the Kings Head. On a good day i can't think of too many other pubs which are well positioned to take in the sun, and enjoy some good food and beer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear John A,
Thank you for your review and thank you for being so understanding.
We are glad you liked the room and the breakfast.
Hope to see you all again soon,
All @ the Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangennith
5.6 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,010 reviews
3.4 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
703 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
164 reviews
12.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
182 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range: £81 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is A four-star Country Inn with 27 rooms. All of our rooms are of a very high standard, with ensuite facilities and underfloor heating. Our rooms offer a host of features which we hope will make your stay most relaxing. The Kings Head was rated in the top ten summer pubs in Britain by the Sunday Times Magazine, 2006. & recommended in Which holiday magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Llangennith
King's Head Inn Llangennith, Swansea County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing