We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Groupon voucher for a 2 night stay at the end of March 14. The rooms were clean and spacious. A large bathroom & room for two in the bath!
A long awaited break. We thoroughly enjoy our stay at The Kings Head B&B and pub :)

Room Tip: Great rooms with under floor heating
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Gail S
Thanks for the fab review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Many Thanks
All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    204
    82
    35
    18
See reviews for
120
513
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were looking for a weekend break and took advantage of a Groupon deal for three nights. What a great surprise. From the moment we arrived, early afternoon, nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were happy, friendly, and knowledgeable. The rooms are in two new "barns" beautifully designed and furnished and for drinks and/or meals you cross the car park to a old style pub with two dining rooms, one for people with dogs The food is excellent with a good choice of breakfast dishes and a large menu for dinner with extra choices form the Specials menu.
We had a very relaxing time and although we were on a "deal" we will return.

Room Tip: Wi-fi is available but not in all areas however we were lucky in room 31 with good reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Tony C
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are all happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.
Many Thanks
All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We enjoyed a 4 night weekend break in late January staying in one of the superior rooms. I was very much looking forward to the trip knowing the pub and area well. We weren't disappointed - the room was very good, roomy with a spacious bathroom. As ever the food and welcome in the pub was excellent - we recommend the guest ales, breakfasts and chocolate brownie desert (we had it every night).
Only a couple of small negatives, the under floor heating took forever to warm the room, the fridge was cool at best and they could so with some lighting in the car park as it's almost impossible to see where the car park ends and the step up onto the path begins. I do want to stress however that none of this would prevent me returning, albeit I would look out for a special offer next time to keep the cost down.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinksofagirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear pinksofagirls,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and are all happy you enjoyed your stay. Also thank you for your comments we take all feedback on board.
Many Thanks
All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Took advantage of a Groupon offer and this was a great find and the best start to our holiday. The hotel accommodation is top notch with spacious rooms situated in separate blocks slightly away from the pub, so no noise. The staff (all that we met) were very friendly and helpful - whether this was discussing the best (less taxing) route to Worms Head, or the finer points of oat-laverbread muffins, or even the merits of various Gower brewery ales (and I personally recommend Gower Gold and Gower Power). The breakfasts were epic and high quality and you could always plump for the Welsh variant with laverbread. We also eat there twice in the evenings and both meals were excellent. The only niggle was that at peak times (in the morning) the shower pump didn’t always function due to the lack of water pressure. Just time it well. And the lighting arrangements in room 21 will always remain a mystery to us. Neither will not put us from returning to the Kings’s Head: a wonderful hotel in a wonderful landscape, especially if we can take advantage of the two for three night deal that was running when we visited which may provide us sufficient time to visit the brewery at their sister pub.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Boxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear 2Boxes

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed our stay with us and look forward to your next stay with us.
Many Thanks All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We visited this inn last February and enjoyed it so much that we returned with friends during March this year. The rooms are wonderful and spacious with fantastic views. The staff are cheerful and can't do enough for their guests. The breakfast is served in the inn and there is a wide choice that should suit everyone and we chose to eat there in the evenings as well. It was difficult to make a choice from the varied menu but between us, over both evenings, we had seven different dishes and none disappointed! The only very small problem was the spaces between the tables which meant that once sat down, it was difficult to get out again! However, this is probably not possible to rectify as this is a popular, centuries old inn and didn't affect our enjoyment. We'll definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Shelagh0

Thank you for a lovely review, and look forward to your third visit.
Many Thanks
All@the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The accommodation was top of the range. Couldn't have asked for a cleaner, more welcoming room. The staff in the pub and on reception were really friendly and the breakfasts are amazing. Loads of choice and you can easily fill yourself up and not have room for lunch! We had good food in the evening too. The lamb and the mixed fish dish were very tasty. I'd definitely recommend it to friends going to the Gower. The information available for walks in the area could be better but I should have probably researched it better before going. p.s: think the 'tidal clock' has broken! It always said 'high'! For some reason my back hurt in the mornings, so think new mattresses could be in order unless it's me being used to a different bed.
We booked this through Groupon and got a really good deal.

Room Tip: Twin beds not very comfortable?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigra82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Tigra82

Thank you for your lovely review. We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your future visit.
Many Thanks
All@ the kings Head.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Llangennith is at the most westerly point of the beautiful Gower peninsular and is a small and friendly village. It pays to go that extra mile! My partner and I are just back from 5 wonderful days stay. We enjoyed our accommodation, and especially the meals, breakfast and evening every day. The staff, as others have commented, are friendly, efficient and nothing is too much trouble. The menu is extensive enough to enjoy something different every day, even before you check the Day's Specials. It is fresh, well prepared, always at the right temperature and they have got crispy chips down to a fine art! Prices in the Restaurant are very reasonable, and as we were on a "special" deal, the accommodation as well. While we were there the wi-fi in the room (19) was impossible, but there was a good signal in the Pub-Restaurant. No problems with being given a code. Just a few thoughts for the management who I know want everything to be just right for guests... 1) the hotel/pub car park is poorly laid out and maintained and gives a totally inappropriate unfortunate first impression. 2) For guests in the accommodation block a paved/separate path way along the far side of the car park to the Kings Head would be in keeping with the quality of experience in all other regards, 3) Guests should also note that mobile signal strength is poor and the telephone line in the room is not connected. 4) I would have liked to see 2 chairs in the bedroom, not every-one wants to lie on the bed all the time! & Finally, and this is a really minor point...who designed a bath with the plug half way down, so that when you stretch out you are in danger of scratching your back or dislodging the plug?! Overall score 9.5 out of 10. Thank you. We will come again and will be looking to see if my report efforts are to avail!

Room Tip: All nice rooms. We prefer upstairs so there is no possibility of disturbance from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank true2formal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear truetoformal,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. And thanks for the feedback which we relay on from guests to make sure we can get everything up to standard.
Many Thanks
All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangennith
2.3 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
361 reviews
4.6 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
153 reviews
3.4 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Western House B&B
Western House B&B
#2 of 5 in Llangennith
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blas Gwyr
Blas Gwyr
#3 of 5 in Llangennith
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Property: King's Head Inn
Address: Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is A four-star Country Inn with 27 rooms. All of our rooms are of a very high standard, with ensuite facilities and underfloor heating. Our rooms offer a host of features which we hope will make your stay most relaxing. The Kings Head was rated in the top ten summer pubs in Britain by the Sunday Times Magazine, 2006. & recommended in Which holiday magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Llangennith
King's Head Inn Llangennith, Swansea County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing