We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dog friendly pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King's Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great dog friendly pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Last visited in August 2012 and we had no hesitation in returning, with our two dogs, for another two nights albeit in an only available "deluxe" king size room. Check in was smooth however, having requested a DVD player (due to the very poor weather forecast we had bought some DVDs to watch) and been told it would be arranged, this never arrived.

The rooms are all very nice albeit the only difference we could discern this time, from our previous stay in a quality double, was a bigger bed. The pub is great and really made by the super friendly bar staff. Not quite as dog friendly now as previously they were allowed in the lounge but now just in the bar area. What is it about the UK and dogs? Traveled all across France, Holland, Belgium and Germany with our two last year and they could go in absolutely anywhere.

We had lunch and evening meals twice in the bar and all were very nice. Excellent choice of beers. Breakfast is very good too although someone thought it would be a bright idea to get the decorators to varnish the bar area at breakfast time. The smell made eating in the bar impossible - and freezing cold as they had to open all the doors to let the vapours out.

The Gower is stunning and the locals are all, without exception, most welcoming and friendly. Drive down to the Rhossili beach as it's a long walk down the narrow road. A stunning beach walk to the nearby Worms Head but a steep climb to the Worm's Head Hotel. It looks a nice pub - but we saw it only from the outside as dogs are not allowed inside. Really...

So a mixed review. We would recommend the kings Head bar and we would definitely return for a meal. Would we stay over again in the accommodation - I am not quite so sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Owner at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We can only apologise that we were unable to provide the requested DVD player, unfortunately these have been so popular with some guests that they have chosen to take them home. We are in the process of replacing them.

I note that your previous stay was in one of our deluxe double rooms, rather than a quality double which is why you will not have noticed a considerable difference in the room, other than having a much larger bed.
The dog friendly situation in the pub is being dictated by customers, and there are a number of guests that prefer to have one area that is pet free due to allergies or personal preferences. The larger part of the pub is dog friendly, only the Lounge is restricted.

We have investigated the problem that you encountered at breakfast, and we are happy to discuss this with you if you would like to call or email us. An alternative room was set up at breakfast time, so that the work could be carried out. It is very difficult to carry out these tasks at a time that does not inconvenience anyone. We do apologise if you were not directed to the other bar at the time.

We agree with your comments about the area, it is indeed very beautiful. You can get to the beach from us without staying on the road, by going on to the Downs instead. We are happy to provide directions to guests at any time. I hope this helps. You can also cheat if you wish to avoid the steep climb to Rhossili, by crossing the Downs to Rhossili, and returning via the beach.

We hope you will decide to stay in future and recommend that you request a Deluxe Double as you had when you first stayed.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    199
    79
    33
    17
See reviews for
118
500
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Groupon voucher for a 2 night stay at the end of March 14. The rooms were clean and spacious. A large bathroom & room for two in the bath!
A long awaited break. We thoroughly enjoy our stay at The Kings Head B&B and pub :)

Room Tip: Great rooms with under floor heating
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Gail S
Thanks for the fab review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Many Thanks
All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were looking for a weekend break and took advantage of a Groupon deal for three nights. What a great surprise. From the moment we arrived, early afternoon, nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were happy, friendly, and knowledgeable. The rooms are in two new "barns" beautifully designed and furnished and for drinks and/or meals you cross the car park to a old style pub with two dining rooms, one for people with dogs The food is excellent with a good choice of breakfast dishes and a large menu for dinner with extra choices form the Specials menu.
We had a very relaxing time and although we were on a "deal" we will return.

Room Tip: Wi-fi is available but not in all areas however we were lucky in room 31 with good reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Tony C
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are all happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit.
Many Thanks
All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We enjoyed a 4 night weekend break in late January staying in one of the superior rooms. I was very much looking forward to the trip knowing the pub and area well. We weren't disappointed - the room was very good, roomy with a spacious bathroom. As ever the food and welcome in the pub was excellent - we recommend the guest ales, breakfasts and chocolate brownie desert (we had it every night).
Only a couple of small negatives, the under floor heating took forever to warm the room, the fridge was cool at best and they could so with some lighting in the car park as it's almost impossible to see where the car park ends and the step up onto the path begins. I do want to stress however that none of this would prevent me returning, albeit I would look out for a special offer next time to keep the cost down.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinksofagirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear pinksofagirls,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review and are all happy you enjoyed your stay. Also thank you for your comments we take all feedback on board.
Many Thanks
All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Took advantage of a Groupon offer and this was a great find and the best start to our holiday. The hotel accommodation is top notch with spacious rooms situated in separate blocks slightly away from the pub, so no noise. The staff (all that we met) were very friendly and helpful - whether this was discussing the best (less taxing) route to Worms Head, or the finer points of oat-laverbread muffins, or even the merits of various Gower brewery ales (and I personally recommend Gower Gold and Gower Power). The breakfasts were epic and high quality and you could always plump for the Welsh variant with laverbread. We also eat there twice in the evenings and both meals were excellent. The only niggle was that at peak times (in the morning) the shower pump didn’t always function due to the lack of water pressure. Just time it well. And the lighting arrangements in room 21 will always remain a mystery to us. Neither will not put us from returning to the Kings’s Head: a wonderful hotel in a wonderful landscape, especially if we can take advantage of the two for three night deal that was running when we visited which may provide us sufficient time to visit the brewery at their sister pub.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Boxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear 2Boxes

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed our stay with us and look forward to your next stay with us.
Many Thanks All @ the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We visited this inn last February and enjoyed it so much that we returned with friends during March this year. The rooms are wonderful and spacious with fantastic views. The staff are cheerful and can't do enough for their guests. The breakfast is served in the inn and there is a wide choice that should suit everyone and we chose to eat there in the evenings as well. It was difficult to make a choice from the varied menu but between us, over both evenings, we had seven different dishes and none disappointed! The only very small problem was the spaces between the tables which meant that once sat down, it was difficult to get out again! However, this is probably not possible to rectify as this is a popular, centuries old inn and didn't affect our enjoyment. We'll definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Shelagh0

Thank you for a lovely review, and look forward to your third visit.
Many Thanks
All@the Kings Head
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The accommodation was top of the range. Couldn't have asked for a cleaner, more welcoming room. The staff in the pub and on reception were really friendly and the breakfasts are amazing. Loads of choice and you can easily fill yourself up and not have room for lunch! We had good food in the evening too. The lamb and the mixed fish dish were very tasty. I'd definitely recommend it to friends going to the Gower. The information available for walks in the area could be better but I should have probably researched it better before going. p.s: think the 'tidal clock' has broken! It always said 'high'! For some reason my back hurt in the mornings, so think new mattresses could be in order unless it's me being used to a different bed.
We booked this through Groupon and got a really good deal.

Room Tip: Twin beds not very comfortable?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigra82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Tigra82

Thank you for your lovely review. We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your future visit.
Many Thanks
All@ the kings Head.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangennith
4.6 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.4 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Shoreline
Shoreline
#1 of 3 in Mumbles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Western House B&B
Western House B&B
#2 of 7 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blas Gwyr
Blas Gwyr
#3 of 7 in Llangennith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Property: King's Head Inn
Address: Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is A four-star Country Inn with 27 rooms. All of our rooms are of a very high standard, with ensuite facilities and underfloor heating. Our rooms offer a host of features which we hope will make your stay most relaxing. The Kings Head was rated in the top ten summer pubs in Britain by the Sunday Times Magazine, 2006. & recommended in Which holiday magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Llangennith
King's Head Inn Llangennith, Swansea County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing