We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Weekend”
Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
King's Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Weekend trip. Very nice place to stay and eat. The weather was magnificent which was a bonus and made the spectacular scenery and beaches look fabulous. Hotel and Pub staff pleasant and helpful. Room clean and very roomy with all accessories required. Menu varied and good Pub food served efficiently
Bar does look a little tired. Outside area, front anf back lovley in summer.
Surrounding areas are an absolute delight and beaches some of the best I have seen
Definately be back for a longer visit. If only we could order the same weather!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCool1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear MrCool1953,
Thank you for your great review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here for a walking weekend with a friend. The location can't be faulted as it's very easy to access some of the most beautiful parts of the Gower from here, including the quiet and underrated north coast. We stayed for two nights in the accommodation block, and ate in the pub both evenings. The room was comfortable, spotlessly clean, well equipped, and spacious; whilst the food was good value, varied and well-cooked. I particularly appreciated having proper home-made chips for once. The staff were very welcoming, and happy to accommodate our needs. Great beer from the local Gower Brewery. My only minor gripe is that reception closes at the ludicrously early time of 5pm on Saturday and Sunday, meaning that we couldn't get fresh milk from there for our tea the following morning. Having said this, the bar staff were able to give us some to take back to our room after our evening meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Cathie O,
Thank you for writing this lovely review on us, it sounds like you had a good time exploring the area.
With regards to your feedback concerning reception closing early at weekends, we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused but can assure you this was a one-off as our reception opening / closing times are 9am-8pm 7 days a week.
Many thanks,
All from The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for three nights with our Jack Russell. The Barns are excellent and plenty of room. Furnishings are very good. Very private and away from pub. Pub has a dog freindly bar and you can take your dog in for breakfast and meals. The pub also has a large bar and restaurant in which animals are not allowed. The beaches are wonderful golden sands stretching miles. Owned by the National Trust so all are dog friendly. The whole area is a walkers paradise.Owners and staff very helpful and friendly. Difficult to fault.

Room Tip: If you have a dog request downstairs room in the barns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penderowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Penderowen,
Many thanks to you for writing such a great review on us.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to have you stay with us again.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely clean stylish rooms. Peaceful nights sleep. Food great, good selection. Staff very friendly and helpful. Happy,comfortable pub,lovely views. I will stay here again. We only stayed the one night to have a break as full time carers and it was just what we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Julia P,
Thank you for taking time out to write such a lovely review on us.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for three nights in the new accommodation at the King's Head and ate in the pub on two nights. The staff were very friendly on arrival and offered fresh milk for the room, which was a lovely touch. Huge, spacious accommodation, luxurious bathroom and double doors which opened onto a semi-private patio area with bench, just great. The pub is a short walk across the car park, the food was fine, they made an effort with vegetarian dishes which were OK, nothing special, but acceptable. The selection of local ales was great, as is the choice of after-dinner whiskies! Breakfast all good, great veggie choices. The bar area was a bit of a let-down, a bit dingy and in need of a spruce-up, but outside seating fab, with good views from the front of the pub down to the sea. All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have patio style doors to open onto seating area - but that means you can't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Libby000,
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased you had a great stay with us.
We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife booked a two night stay in late May to celebrate my birthday.

The rooms are comfortable and clean with the all facilities you'd expect from a modern hotel apart from wi-fi - which is available in the pub itself. In fact the lack of wi-fi and a mobile signal made for a very relaxing stay indeed.

One nice touch is a series of laminated cards in the hotel information folder with detailed local walks. It's a great location here and we went for a number of enjoyable walks along Rhossili beach, around Worms Head and up and down the lanes.

Breakfast was superb, the bacon is something I, and my waistline, will remember for a long time and the level of customer service was superb throughout.

Llangennith is quite isolated and there isn't a great deal of choice of where to eat. Fortunately the food at the King's Head was very good indeed. It varies from the very good (the Thai curry) through to the truly superb. Try the seafood chowder, full of beautifully cooked seafood including some of the nicest scallops I've ever eaten, the seafood mixed grill, the salt marsh lamb and you must leave room for the cheeseboard.

The pub has a wide, and rapidly changing, range of real ales. Over the course of the weekend I tried each one at least once and none disappointed. Even if you are staying elsewhere, it's worthwhile popping in for a pint and something to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Don_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear The_Don_UK
Thank you for taking time to write a lovely review on us.
It seems you had an all-round great stay.
We are pleased you enjoyed the quality and choice of food we offer.
We hope to welcome you here again in the future.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is my second stay at this Hotel. Rooms are modern, large, with under floor heating, fabulous bathroom and comfy bed. These rooms are as good as more expensive hotels.

The pub is across the car park and is a traditional inn with a great atmosphere. The staff are very friendly as is the pub cat! The lunch and dinner menu's have a good choice of dishes made with local produce. The view is very good from the tables outside the Hotel.

The beach is about 2 km away down hill but you can drive down and park at the caravan sites for £3 per day.

This area of South Wales is very beautiful. Beaches are surrounded by dunes and rocky cliffs. I recommend the walk out to Worms Head from Rhossilli - check the tide times at the coast guard station near the causeway. Also visit Blue Pool - a natural deep rock pool which is refreshed at high tide. This is great for kids and is accessible along the beach at certain tide times or via a scramble down rocks from the coastal path.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear TRUDY R,
It is lovely to hear you are a returning customer.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us for the second time and we hope to welcome you back a third time.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangennith
3.4 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
722 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,051 reviews
4.6 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
394 reviews
13.1 mi away
The White House
The White House
#18 of 22 in Swansea
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western House B&B
Western House B&B
#1 of 5 in Llangennith
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range: £55 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is A four-star Country Inn with 27 rooms. All of our rooms are of a very high standard, with ensuite facilities and underfloor heating. Our rooms offer a host of features which we hope will make your stay most relaxing. The Kings Head was rated in the top ten summer pubs in Britain by the Sunday Times Magazine, 2006. & recommended in Which holiday magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Llangennith
King's Head Inn Llangennith, Swansea County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing