We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, amazing views”
Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just had a great one night stay at this lovely hotel . Very nice clean room with amazing sea views. Every member of staff was so friendly and happy to help. I was especially impressed when I phoned the night before the stay as I had booked the wrong night - very calmly the woman I spoke to just changed my booking without question . Would definitely stay again and recommend this place to others .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear aprilyoda,
Thank you for your great review.
We hope to have you back with us to stay again.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I am no stranger to the Kings Head having spent most of my summer weekends camping at Hillend and drinking at the Kings in the evenings in my younger days. The pub clientelle has changed over the years from a predominantly young crowd eager to get as drunk as possible to a more mature group of customers these days. The pub has 2 bars, one being a large bar with pool table/TV etc and a smaller bar where people tend to eat when the weather is not so good. There used to be a third "Surf" bar but this appears to be only used as a function room. Outside is a pleasant seating area with plenty of tables with a nice view of the village green and the moorland in the distance. The pub serves very good real ales from the Gower Brewery, brewed at it's sister pub The Greyhound situated in Oldwalls not far away. It also serves delicious food with much of the ingredients sourced locally. The service is excellent with the staff being efficient and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Jez B,
Thank you for taking time to write such a great review.
It is nice to hear you are no stranger to the Kings and we really value and appreciate your feedback.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this to celebrate my partner's birthday on 21st June. I was surprised to find that even in the restaurant we had to order from the bar, not something I was expecting. However, this did seem to work well, as service was fast, even though the restaurant and pub were busy. Food was excellent and the staff attentive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yvonne2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Yvonne2706,
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are happy you had excellent food and a great service - that is what we love to hear.
Hope to welcome you back again.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The King's Head is in a good location for exploring the further reaches of the Gower. Our room was OK but not more than that. Decor was basic, absolutely no frills, curtains not much more than basic strips of material poorly put together. Room overheated in sunny weather, windows couldn't be left open when we went out because of security issue. No wi-fi in room. Food is pretty much standard pub fare: OK but nothing out of the ordinary (certainly not gastro-pub). Staff were willing and worked hard. Overall, we were a little disappointed, particularly in view of the room price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEC127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear JEC127,
Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear you were somewhat disappointed with your stay.
We appreciate individual tastes can vary and we normally exceed expectations.
Kind regards,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Weekend trip. Very nice place to stay and eat. The weather was magnificent which was a bonus and made the spectacular scenery and beaches look fabulous. Hotel and Pub staff pleasant and helpful. Room clean and very roomy with all accessories required. Menu varied and good Pub food served efficiently
Bar does look a little tired. Outside area, front anf back lovley in summer.
Surrounding areas are an absolute delight and beaches some of the best I have seen
Definately be back for a longer visit. If only we could order the same weather!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCool1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear MrCool1953,
Thank you for your great review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here for a walking weekend with a friend. The location can't be faulted as it's very easy to access some of the most beautiful parts of the Gower from here, including the quiet and underrated north coast. We stayed for two nights in the accommodation block, and ate in the pub both evenings. The room was comfortable, spotlessly clean, well equipped, and spacious; whilst the food was good value, varied and well-cooked. I particularly appreciated having proper home-made chips for once. The staff were very welcoming, and happy to accommodate our needs. Great beer from the local Gower Brewery. My only minor gripe is that reception closes at the ludicrously early time of 5pm on Saturday and Sunday, meaning that we couldn't get fresh milk from there for our tea the following morning. Having said this, the bar staff were able to give us some to take back to our room after our evening meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Cathie O,
Thank you for writing this lovely review on us, it sounds like you had a good time exploring the area.
With regards to your feedback concerning reception closing early at weekends, we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused but can assure you this was a one-off as our reception opening / closing times are 9am-8pm 7 days a week.
Many thanks,
All from The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for three nights with our Jack Russell. The Barns are excellent and plenty of room. Furnishings are very good. Very private and away from pub. Pub has a dog freindly bar and you can take your dog in for breakfast and meals. The pub also has a large bar and restaurant in which animals are not allowed. The beaches are wonderful golden sands stretching miles. Owned by the National Trust so all are dog friendly. The whole area is a walkers paradise.Owners and staff very helpful and friendly. Difficult to fault.

Room Tip: If you have a dog request downstairs room in the barns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penderowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Penderowen,
Many thanks to you for writing such a great review on us.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to have you stay with us again.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangennith
3.4 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
712 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,032 reviews
4.6 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
394 reviews
7.1 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
109 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range: £49 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is A four-star Country Inn with 27 rooms. All of our rooms are of a very high standard, with ensuite facilities and underfloor heating. Our rooms offer a host of features which we hope will make your stay most relaxing. The Kings Head was rated in the top ten summer pubs in Britain by the Sunday Times Magazine, 2006. & recommended in Which holiday magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Llangennith
King's Head Inn Llangennith, Swansea County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing