We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of King's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Head Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Llangennith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We loved the Kings Head! It's location in a quaint village 5 minutes drive from the beautiful surfing beach was ideal.

The food in the pub restaurant was excellent and very plentiful (especially the local Fish & chips). It is worth booking a table at the weekends as the pub can get busy. The breakfast is also well worth getting up for and sets you up for the day.

Our room (no.23) on the first floor had a great view over the countryside to the sea which was handy for checking the surf.

The 4 star rating is well deserved for the rooms which are very spacious and tastefully decorated. We found that the wi-fi worked OK in our room but it is true that phone signal is not great in the pub but that was not a problem as we wanted to get away from it all.

We would not hesitate to stay at The Kings Head next time we visit the Gower.

Room Tip: Book a room on the first floor to benefit from the (distant) seaviews. We stayed in room no.23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Albion79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Albion79,
Thank you for taking time out to write us such a great review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back here again.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Absolutely delightful king room. No complaints whatsover. Reception was very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast taken in pub ( see separate review). If you want WiFi then bring your router with you! Car park needs some hole filling but not scoring down accommodation on that basis.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear David M,
Thank you for writing us such a nice review.
We hope to welcome you back again.
Many thanks,
All@ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our first visit to the kings head and we were not disappointed , our room was clean comfy and very spacious with fantastic views ! , we chose here as it was dog friendly , it certainly was too !!
The food is fantastic , staff very friendly , what more could we ask for , felt very at home there , we highly recommend it , with or without dogs , the whole area is stunning and we will certainly be returning ,

Room Tip: Wifi is very limited , so if you can't live without it don't go !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Whatty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Whatty66,
Thank you for your great review.
We are very pleased to hear such lovely comments and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Once again I have returned to the Kings Head and can't fault it again. Clean room lovely food and drink, what more can you say, very people friendly place. And of course the area is wonderful to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Somersetboy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Somersetboy1952,
Thank you for a fab review.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

There are many lovely things about this place. The location is outstanding - there can be nothing finer than sitting outside on a summer's evening having a meal and overlooking the green land. Food was good and not expensive. Good breakfast. The staff both of the pub and the b and b side were friendly, helpful and often funny.
No problem with this place as a pub but as a b and b I liked it less. our room was functional and clean, so by no means awful. However it was depressing. There was nothing soft in the room except the bed. The floor was tiled with a pattern and texture that looked dirty even though it wasn't. View out the window was not the countryside but the other modern b and b block, not at all what you want to see out your window on holiday. We had an offer of three nights for the price of two which was reasonable. I think you would have felt very disappointed if you had paid the full whack,£125 a night.
.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms on the first floor are up a steep flight of stairs. (There is also a steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear loglet,
Thank you for your feedback.
We agree that our location is outstanding with amazing views and scenery.
Its nice to hear you enjoyed your food and rated our customer service.
We hope to have you stay again in the future.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just had a great one night stay at this lovely hotel . Very nice clean room with amazing sea views. Every member of staff was so friendly and happy to help. I was especially impressed when I phoned the night before the stay as I had booked the wrong night - very calmly the woman I spoke to just changed my booking without question . Would definitely stay again and recommend this place to others .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear aprilyoda,
Thank you for your great review.
We hope to have you back with us to stay again.
Many thanks,
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I am no stranger to the Kings Head having spent most of my summer weekends camping at Hillend and drinking at the Kings in the evenings in my younger days. The pub clientelle has changed over the years from a predominantly young crowd eager to get as drunk as possible to a more mature group of customers these days. The pub has 2 bars, one being a large bar with pool table/TV etc and a smaller bar where people tend to eat when the weather is not so good. There used to be a third "Surf" bar but this appears to be only used as a function room. Outside is a pleasant seating area with plenty of tables with a nice view of the village green and the moorland in the distance. The pub serves very good real ales from the Gower Brewery, brewed at it's sister pub The Greyhound situated in Oldwalls not far away. It also serves delicious food with much of the ingredients sourced locally. The service is excellent with the staff being efficient and friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lara J, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Jez B,
Thank you for taking time to write such a great review.
It is nice to hear you are no stranger to the Kings and we really value and appreciate your feedback.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
All @ The Kings Head

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangennith
3.4 mi away
The King Arthur Hotel
The King Arthur Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reynoldston
712 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,033 reviews
4.6 mi away
Culver House Hotel
Culver House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Eynon
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fairyhill
Fairyhill
#2 of 2 in Reynoldston
394 reviews
7.1 mi away
Vista Hotel
Vista Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llanelli
109 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ashburnham Hotel
Ashburnham Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pembrey
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Inn

Address: Llangennith | Gower, Llangennith SA3 1HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Swansea County > Llangennith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Llangennith
Price Range: £56 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head is A four-star Country Inn with 27 rooms. All of our rooms are of a very high standard, with ensuite facilities and underfloor heating. Our rooms offer a host of features which we hope will make your stay most relaxing. The Kings Head was rated in the top ten summer pubs in Britain by the Sunday Times Magazine, 2006. & recommended in Which holiday magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your King's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Hotel Llangennith
King's Head Inn Llangennith, Swansea County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing