We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel bedrooms and bathrooms are not 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Quinta do Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I spent 13 nights in this hotel in September. The location is superb for lovers of peace and quiet and lovely fresh air being situated on the Ria Formosa. Everything in this 5 star resort is expensive particularly the restaurants and the car hire and a car is essential for both going out to eat and also to play golf at the numerous beautiful courses around this area. We have stayed in this hotel many times before and the service continues to be excellent as does the quality of the food being served . However, it is extremely expensive to stay and eat in this 5 star hotel which would be okay if the bedrooms and bathrooms were modern which they are not. The Wi Fi does not work well in the bedrooms and around the pool area, there are no flat screen on the walls and the bathrooms are very old most of which do not have walk in showers!
It is many years now since the Orient Express Group spent a vast amount of money here before selling the hotel and I am sad to say there has been little modernisation since that sale to the present Portuguese owners . The hotel is freshly painted but the beds, curtains and carpets are all very tired and worn! All the staff try really hard to make your stay enjoyable but there is no Hotel Manager around to complain to since Mr. Alvarez left 2 years ago. A coffee shop area in this hotel would be a great asset as the bar area on the first floor is so old fashioned and dark and it has no hotel lounge in which to sit when the weather is bad.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Sea on the South side can be very hot in the day and at night when the temperatures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eny_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelQuintadoLago, General Manager at Quinta Do Lago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at our hotel.

I took good note of all your observations, to further improve our service, and of your preference for walk-in showers, which we will certainly attend in a future stay; rest assured that your kind comments about our staff and service will be conveyed to all.

Please accept my sincere apology for not having made myself more visible during your stay, although I am at guests disposition at all times, as is our guest relations Rui Coelho.

We thank you for your preference and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Hotel Quinta do Lago.


Kind regards,

Daniel Alexandre do Adro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

I spent a week in Quinta do Lago with my mother. This hotel is perfect for anyone who would like a quiet, high quality holiday.

Everything was perfect, the staff were was always professional and friendly (absolutely perfect), the room was beautiful, the view over the lagoon was nice and the food was excellent as well.

I will return to this hotel and can only highly recommend it to anyone who likes peace, class and good quality.

Room Tip: If you can, pick a room with lagoon view, it is worth the price and gives you amazing views from you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xLadyGreyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Quinta do lago hotel has the best location in the quinta do lago just on the edge of the end of Ria fornosa and walking distance from the GiGi beach and Gigi beach pavilion where you can enjoy ourselves with fresh fish and seafood. The hotel has its own beach beds private area on the beach and the service in the hotel are of good quality very good services and the rooms are nice and large. Breakfast is good but it can be improved.

Room Tip: order room with Ria view and enjoy the sunset in the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

stayed there 3 years in a row, and still can surprise us.
excellent hotel, very quiet.
excellent staff members, very kind and helpful.
the better place to rest in algarve, very near to the beach,
the restaurant is excellent.
pools and poolbar service is excellent.
the kids club is amazing.

beach service could be improved.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent. The bar and restaurants, are at the 4th floor, altough no noise in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbk6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We recently returned from about our 18th visit to the hotel. Had a wonderful time . We often wonder why we keep returning, but somehow it has this hold over us and we keep going back. It is in a wonderful position with great views over the Ria Formosa and sea. They have the most wonderful staff and we are always well looked after. They make us feel so special, yet we are very ordinary. They treat all guests the same. We have been all over the world and even lived in the US and other European countries. This hotel is very, very special . We wouldn't keep going if it wasn't so good. Some of the bedrooms need updating and look a little tired, but they are so comfortable. I will keep our bedroom number a secret!! It is the only hotel I feel so sad to leave. We see the same faces year after year which is lovely. They wouldn't keep going if it wasn't so good.

Room Tip: The ones on the higher floors are good, some only have a walk in shower. If you prefer a bath make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VonyWaltononthames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Great and wonderful. Happy to be here. I just arrived in and am here with my fiancé. Lovely rooms, great breakfast and beautiful weather, what's not to like???? I love the climate but its the staff at the hotel that make it so magnificent. Great management and great feel

Room Tip: Sea view side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuvtravellingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just had a short stay here for our first wedding anniversary and had the most wonderful time. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, attentive and helpful and did all they could to accommodate us. Our room upgrade was of course most welcome as was the bottle of champagne and fruit basket for our anniversary and the bed, bath and room strewn with rose petals. It was lovely and you could tell the staff were thrilled at our appreciation of all their efforts. We ate in the restaurant and the pool bar and had the breakfast and the food was excellent. As someone with a severe seafood allergy, they were most accommodating and even came up with additional menu suggestions for me to add variety.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, I probably shouldn't be as pleasantly surprised as I am given this is a five star establishment but this hotel goes the extra mile and deserves great praise. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelQuintadoLago, General Manager at Quinta Do Lago Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear guest

It was a pleasure to welcome you for the celebration of this special occasion and I am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Quinta do Lago. Your appreciation has been passed on to all, who thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Always at your service,


Daniel do Adro
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinta do Lago
2.3 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,680 reviews
20.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
8.9 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Vilalara Thalassa Resort
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Country Club
Four Seasons Country Club
#1 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
796 reviews
9.2 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Do Lago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Do Lago Hotel

Address: Quinta do Lago 8135-024, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quinta do Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#3 Family Hotel in Quinta do Lago
Price Range: £175 - £834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Do Lago Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quinta do Lago, a member of the Leading Hotels of the World, is an emblematic hotel built with the finest craftsmanship in a location fit for royalty, overlooking the Ria Formosa Natural Park and the Atlantic Ocean, with elegantly decorated rooms and suites that every year receive countless prestigious and discerning guests.Set in one of the most prestigious golf resorts in Europe, the hotel’s privileged location also offers walking access to the beach, magnificent views over the estuary and the sea, relaxing walks along nature trails where one can observe many species of birds, and a large, lush garden where guests enjoy a unique experience, characterised by the landscape’s tranquillity and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Quinta Do Lago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Do Lago
Quinta Da Lago
Quinta Do Lago Almancil
Quinta Do Lago Hotel Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing