We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore nonsense from foofoo_11”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Quinta do Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Carluke
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ignore nonsense from foofoo_11”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The manager has already responded to foofoo_11, but as a guest who has just booked his eighth stay at the hotel I would also like to respond.

I understand the frustration that the hotel booked was closed, but would suggest that any blame does indeed lie with Expedia. Hotel Quinta do Lago is approximately 2-3 miles from the Ria Park and definitely represents an upgrade rather than a like for like swap. The pool is average sized rather than small. The grounds and garden are not small. It is not rigid, corporate, unfriendly, lacking in care or personal touch in any way, shape or form. I find the decor of the rooms somewhat dated but this is a matter of personal taste. The sea is not far away and 'what looked like a marsh before it' is the Ria Formosa, a World Heritage Site no less! Restaurant prices are typical for a five star hotel. And no, I am not a footballer nor a corporate client. And the only thing utterly vulgar is foofoo_11's review.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lewis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelQuintadoLago, General Manager at Quinta Do Lago Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Mr. Bryce C.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your heartfelt opinion.

Returning guests, such as yourselves, are the biggest and most honest compliment to the effort we put in welcoming every guest we have the pleasure of serving, and a genuine incentive to go beyond our high standards.

I am also pleased to inform that we plan to continuously renovate our bedrooms and I look forward to your opinion of the changes we are putting in place.

We thank you for your preference and look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Quinta do Lago in the near future.


Always at your service,

Daniel Alexandre do Adro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    47
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
67
148
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We were not here through choice. Our break was booked via Expedia. Our chosen hotel was Ria Park hotel. Upon arrival at ria park, we were told that the hotel was 'not open'!!! Due to the fact that they condense staff and customers into one hotel-their sister hotel, Quinta do lagas. So we were sent there, with a casual 'sorry, Expedia should have emailed you the changes' and a map. Upon arrival, it became immediately clear the hotel grounds were VERY SMALL. small pool. Small garden. Little to do. Very very boring. It was so rigid. So corporate. So unfriendly. Lacking care or personal touch. Rooms were really grand. Clean. But very boring. The sea view was so far away and had what looked like a marsh before it. They call it a lagoon!!! Hilarious. NOTHING IN LOCAL AREA. unless you like golf. It was only for golf. Which is fine, had we booked for golf! My problem is the hotel was clean, but lacked any substance. As did staff. As did area. As did 'sea view' as did everything. VERY VERY EXPENSIVE. restaurant prices were obviously only afforded by their corporate clients or footballers! A complete joke. Utterly vulgar. DO NOT GO HERE!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank foofoo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelQuintadoLago, General Manager at Quinta Do Lago Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations and that you experienced a problem during your stay; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies, which I reiterate for the lack of advanced warning regarding your upgrade to your reservation.

At Hotel Quinta do Lago, a Leading Hotel of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; the staff at Hotel Quinta do Lado does its very best to make each guest feel welcome and have a relaxed stay, and we will certainly take your feedback in consideration to further improve our services.

Regarding the distance from the sea and the lagoon which the hotel sits in front of, it is part of the Ria Formosa Natural Park, which was recognized as one of Portugal’s natural wonders. It is a tidal lagoon which connects to the sea and the natural habitat to a wide variety of natural wild life, including many migrating birds. The beach can be found across the famous Quinta do Lago wooden bridge, at a distance of 400 meters.

The hotel sits on 37.500 square meters of gardens, and although I will not argue if this is a big or small area, please note it is considerably bigger that the grounds at Ria Park Hotel & Spa. The hotel has activities on offer in or close to the hotel, like playing tennis, bike and horse riding or swimming in our outdoor heated pool, and many others offsite are available for reservation with our concierge.

Allow me to once again express my sincere apologies for your experience at Hotel Quinta do Lago not living up to our standard and we can only hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.



At your service,

Daniel Alexandre do Adro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

As the title of my review says - excellent!! This hotel is wonderful. The staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you. They are very friendly but also extremely efficient, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is set in a beautiful place and the views are fabulous. Okay, as with earlier reviews, perhaps the bathrooms could do with a bit of updating but that is a small thing. How long are you in your room for? The pool is well looked after by Alex and the restaurant & bar staff are great. Not forgetting the reception & the concierge, ALL brilliant!! Hope to be back asap next year!!

Room Tip: Lagoon side with lovely views of the well-maintained gardens & the sea. Golf side, I believe th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelQuintadoLago, General Manager at Quinta Do Lago Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share these comments about your experience at Hotel Quinta do Lago. As a member of the Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strives to meet the needs and expectation of guests, and such positive remarks encourages our team to further improve our services.

Having guests return to stay with us is the biggest compliment we receive and the certainty that we lived up to our standard, so we thank you for your preference and look forward to again serving you in the near future.

Always at your service,

Daniel Alexandre do Adro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our second visit to this hotel and we were not disappointed. Slightly dated by today's high standards but still excellent with great staff to match.

Sunset from the cocktail bar not to be missed.

The breakfast buffet is also excellent with freshly cooked orders to boot.

Room Tip: make sure you get a lagoon view (south side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mactab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I spent 13 nights in this hotel in September. The location is superb for lovers of peace and quiet and lovely fresh air being situated on the Ria Formosa. Everything in this 5 star resort is expensive particularly the restaurants and the car hire and a car is essential for both going out to eat and also to play golf at the numerous beautiful courses around this area. We have stayed in this hotel many times before and the service continues to be excellent as does the quality of the food being served . However, it is extremely expensive to stay and eat in this 5 star hotel which would be okay if the bedrooms and bathrooms were modern which they are not. The Wi Fi does not work well in the bedrooms and around the pool area, there are no flat screen on the walls and the bathrooms are very old most of which do not have walk in showers!
It is many years now since the Orient Express Group spent a vast amount of money here before selling the hotel and I am sad to say there has been little modernisation since that sale to the present Portuguese owners . The hotel is freshly painted but the beds, curtains and carpets are all very tired and worn! All the staff try really hard to make your stay enjoyable but there is no Hotel Manager around to complain to since Mr. Alvarez left 2 years ago. A coffee shop area in this hotel would be a great asset as the bar area on the first floor is so old fashioned and dark and it has no hotel lounge in which to sit when the weather is bad.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Sea on the South side can be very hot in the day and at night when the temperatures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eny_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelQuintadoLago, General Manager at Quinta Do Lago Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay at our hotel.

I took good note of all your observations, to further improve our service, and of your preference for walk-in showers, which we will certainly attend in a future stay; rest assured that your kind comments about our staff and service will be conveyed to all.

Please accept my sincere apology for not having made myself more visible during your stay, although I am at guests disposition at all times, as is our guest relations Rui Coelho.

We thank you for your preference and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Hotel Quinta do Lago.


Kind regards,

Daniel Alexandre do Adro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I spent a week in Quinta do Lago with my mother. This hotel is perfect for anyone who would like a quiet, high quality holiday.

Everything was perfect, the staff were was always professional and friendly (absolutely perfect), the room was beautiful, the view over the lagoon was nice and the food was excellent as well.

I will return to this hotel and can only highly recommend it to anyone who likes peace, class and good quality.

Room Tip: If you can, pick a room with lagoon view, it is worth the price and gives you amazing views from you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xLadyGreyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Quinta do lago hotel has the best location in the quinta do lago just on the edge of the end of Ria fornosa and walking distance from the GiGi beach and Gigi beach pavilion where you can enjoy ourselves with fresh fish and seafood. The hotel has its own beach beds private area on the beach and the service in the hotel are of good quality very good services and the rooms are nice and large. Breakfast is good but it can be improved.

Room Tip: order room with Ria view and enjoy the sunset in the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinta do Lago
2.3 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,545 reviews
8.9 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
20.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Country Club
Four Seasons Country Club
#1 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
741 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 14 in Almancil
266 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
5,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Do Lago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Do Lago Hotel

Property: Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Address: Quinta do Lago 8135-024, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quinta do Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#3 Family Hotel in Quinta do Lago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Do Lago Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Quinta do Lago, a member of the Leading Hotels of the World, is an emblematic hotel built with the finest craftsmanship in a location fit for royalty, overlooking the Ria Formosa Natural Park and the Atlantic Ocean, with elegantly decorated rooms and suites that every year receive countless prestigious and discerning guests.Set in one of the most prestigious golf resorts in Europe, the hotel’s privileged location also offers walking access to the beach, magnificent views over the estuary and the sea, relaxing walks along nature trails where one can observe many species of birds, and a large, lush garden where guests enjoy a unique experience, characterised by the landscape’s tranquillity and natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta Do Lago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Quinta Do Lago
Quinta Da Lago
Quinta Do Lago Almancil
Quinta Do Lago Hotel Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing