We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for golfers at Quinta do Lago”
Review of Ria Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ria Plaza Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Quinta do Lago
Solna, Sweden
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for golfers at Quinta do Lago”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This place is convenient for golfers who want to play courses like Quinta do Lago, Naranjal and a few others in the area. There is a shopping center with restaurants, pharmacy etc. within walking distance, unfortunately 400 m along a well used road. The staff is friendly and service minded and handles transfers to and from the local golf courses punctually.

Rooms are OK but try to get a room on the ground floor since the corridor on the upper floor makes the rooms and specially the bathrooms quite cramped for space.

The restaurant is fine. Rich breakfast. Avoid having lunch or dinner in large groups since it seems they cannot handle many orders at the same time. Part from that the food is fine. Very nice bar and pool area with friendly staff.

This place is now trading under the name Ria Plaza resort.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are slightly larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgunnarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    11
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
225 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Spent a great fortnight relaxing at Ria Plaza.Rooms comfortable all with a balcony.Great pool and outside dining area.Bar very reasonably priced and serves great food into the bargain.Also has a decent restaurant .Staff all very friendly and helpfull. Will definetly go back.Have stayed in a lot of places in the Quinta area and this is certainly up there with the best of them. A great base for golfers as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnAislingSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We arrived at the Ria Plaza Resort at about 11am, a few hours to early for check in but our room was ready and upon walking in smelt very fresh and clean. Nice clean bed and sheets and also a clean bathroom/toilet with plenty of clean towels. Also provided with flannels and some shower gel.
The pool area was clean and looked nice to enjoy when the weather is a bit warmer! We used the Sauna and Steam Room which, again, were clean. Unfortunately they didn’t have the Jacuzzi available for use. The gym and spa that is available at the resort also looked nice. The prices for the treatments seemed fairly reasonable.
Breakfast at the hotel was better than I thought, with toast, tea, coffee, scrambled egg, sausage, bacon and beans available. Pastries, yogurts and fruit juices also available. All looked fresh and tasted lovely! The bar was also clean and prices were average. The food in the restaurant was very nice and eve though its not a large menu, still a variety of choices. Nice staff throughout the hotel as well.
Would definitely recommended hiring a car if you plan to stay here as it is a fair drive to Almancil centre. Would also recommended going for a horse ride at Pinetrees Riding School which is a 2 minute walk from the resort.
Definitely a nice place to stay if you are on a budget, very basic but nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettim_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Travelling on my own for a late Summer break I could not have been more satisfied with my choice of this hotel for my five night trip.

The complex was very quiet (maybe the time of year?), but this was just what I was after. Pool area was clean, well maintained and attractive (although the sea / palm tree scene painted on the back wall was a little dated and would be better presented by a fresh and plain coat of paint, maybe fronted with a few large potted palm trees).

Room was again, very clean, well maintained and the balcony looked out over trees and fields. Flat screen TV, minibar (reasonably priced for a hotel minibar), complimentary toiletries, safe, telephone, air conditioning and extra pillows and blanket (if needed).

Breakfast was excellent with a full choice of tea, coffee (by means of a machine), selection of juices, yoghurts, croissants, breads, meats, cheeses, fruit as well as a cooked option including sausages, bacon, grilled tomatoes, baked beans and scrambled eggs.

I ate three times in the restaurant and was very happy with the choice on offer, the quality of food, cost and particularly the service. Staff were very attentive, friendly, polite and professional in all areas (reception, bar and restaurant).

The hotel is a little remote and I did not have a car so the closest places to shop and eat were the Buganvilla Plaza and Quinta Shopping Centre (about 15 minutes walk). I also walked to the beach one morning and in to Almancil town centre another (both of which took about 50 minutes).

I would, (and probably will) stay there again and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone given my experience. Great place, great staff, great holiday. Really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aztec_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We arrived at this hotel; following an inflated cab fare because the driver could not find it. We were then 'greeted' by a stern faced male receptionist who barely asked our names .Our room was not ready (even though it was almost 3pm) and we were asked to wait (No apology given).

After that we were taken to our room which was dated to say the least (or possibly trying to imitate 70's style).We then tried to unpack and were left putting our toiletries on the 'shelf' which I believe was the toilet cistern cover ,due to the fact that there was no shelf space in the tiny, airless bathroom .Noticing our 'double' room was in fact two beds pushed together and not wanting to hear the toilet habits (we later became accustomed to) of our neighbouring room ,which was through a locked internal door we decided to see the local area.

We approached reception and asked where a good place to go was and could we book a cab. At this point the sullen driver at reception 'volunteered' to take us. Later we discovered that transfers were part of the service when he refused a fare for the cab. We were then deposited at a 'shopping' centre where almost every shop was closed .We wandered aimlessly through the 5 star arena and due to the fact we were in a 3 star hotel would not most likely have bought anything anyway .It was after six and therefore the transfer system had stopped, so we booked a cab back to the hotel (half a mile away) .To our dismay this cab cost 12 euro!! At this point we figured we would not be able to afford many more trips .I spoke to the reasonably friendly female receptionist at this point to explain our concerns about the fact that there was very little to do in the local area and the high cab fares.

On day two we decided to then go to the hotel bar and have a sandwich from the list of snacks printed on a menu at the bar.My husband sadly informed me that we could not have a sandwich because the restaurant had started serving. I approached the barman and asked for a simple ham sandwich (this was the same one that asked if we would like a knife and fork the previous evening when we ordered burger and chips).He said this was not possible because the restaurant was open .I queried the fact that they were advertising bar snacks and there was no indication that this was time limited .I also queried the fact that there was only one out of approx twenty tables actually with customers .He reliably informed me that there were 8 people in the restaurant. After seeing my exasperation at the fact that they could not make a ham sandwich he offered to ask the 'chef' if he could make one .At this point I was worried about any 'additives ' that could appear in my sandwich due to my 'demands' so told the barman not to bother but he insisted, so went to ask 'chef' who said he was too busy (with his one table) to make a sandwich so the barman 'kindly' volunteered to make it. I finally got my sandwich.

On day three we asked to go to the local 'shopping centre' in Almancil.There was nothing there for tourists and the place was a dump. We lasted one hour. Finally on day four we got a transfer to the airport, again with the same driver as day one .Although he provided an efficient and timely service it was one of the many uncomfortable journeys we had .At no point did he engage in any conversation and barely said goodbye at the airport, despite the fact that we at all points were civil and polite to him. Rudeness couldn't describe it!

We left this hotel with a very disappointed impression .They have a lovely pool and health club area but the staff (apart from one lovely lady in the health club and a couple of cleaners ) can only be described as frosty, rude and unhelpful. They really let the place down! The rooms are dingy and the hotel is boring and empty most evenings. It is too far from any local places to make it an affordable stay.

Finally the advertised internet service cost 4 euro an hour !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrowkeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Travelled for wedding anniversary and other friends were staying. Excellent value-good clean rooms;air con a bit noisy. Very good pool and restaurant (only had breakfast-good) Staff were attentive and polite. Very near to Quinta shopping and would be ideal centre for various golfing parties. Complimentary transport to beach. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biffo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I had a nice time here but expect that was partly due to the time of year. Going at the end of September meant that there was space around the pool which I suspect would not be true during peak season. The pool was nice but the only down side was the constant playing of music which I suspect is not what people want when relaxing and reading round the pool. Constant R Kelly and Rod Stewart was not going down well with most holidaymakers and even when staff were asked to turn it down, within an hour it was back up again. Besides this, the staff were helpful and friendly whenever possible. We did book the free courtesy bus but definitely re-confirm your return journey with the driver as you leave, we didn't and were left waiting for 45 minutes!! There is no kettle in the rooms so bring your own. We had a nice stay but the area is very pricey and if you have no car this makes it trickier.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckylcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinta do Lago
0.7 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 15 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Country Club
Four Seasons Country Club
#1 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#2 of 15 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monte da Quinta Resort
Monte da Quinta Resort
#4 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Plaza Resort

Property: Ria Plaza Resort
Address: Valverde, Quinta do Lago 8135-037, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quinta do Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Quinta do Lago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ria Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ria Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ria Plaza Hotel Quinta Do Lago
Pinus Ria Valverde
Pinus Ria Hotel Valverde
Ria Plaza Resort Quinta Do Lago, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing