We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic clean rooms”
Review of Ria Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ria Plaza Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Quinta do Lago
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed in twin room from 8th - 15th Sept. Very clean and basic - ok for price paid. Breakfast on first 4 days had burnt scrambled egg and bacon that you could have soled your shoes with. As several people complained regarding buffet breakfast, the chef must have taken the criticisum on board as the bacon and scrambled egg suddenly became edible. No menu available for evening dinner - discovered that it was portugeuse buffet every night. Service at bar was very slow due to lack of staff.. No problems getting sunbed at pool. Hotel advertised a gym and beauty salon, neither of these were open, when questioned on this reception informed us that it need to be pre booked. Hotel within easy wallking distance to shopping mall where there is plenty of restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from fire escape as people using the metal stairs at night sounded like elephant...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanoCoylton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Ria Plaza Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

Ria Plaza Resort is in a great location as it is not far from the airport and a short taxi ride (Algarve Taxis arranged on request by hotel) to Vilamoura should you wish to visit the superb Marina or beach (Praia da Marina). The Marina is surrounded by wonderful shops and restaurants (spoilt for choice on where to eat). The resort is ideal for relaxing break and has a regular shuttle bus to Quinta do Lago beach which is excellent (pedlos, water activities available, restaurant beachside, selection of shops). Our twin room (comfy beds) and cleanliness was of a high standard with balcony. Stayed in August for 6 nights. Ria Plaza is a five minute walk to Quinta do Lago Shopping Centre where we either ate at San Marco excellent Pizerria, otherwise we ate at the Ria Plaza Restaurant where the food is excellent and reasonably priced. In fact all food and drinks very reasonably priced. Staff wonderful. Tennis facilities, pool area, small gym, breakfast good. (Would have given five stars except jacuzzi was not in operation during our stay). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

It was clean and the room was a nice size. The staff was pleasant. The bed was a bit hard but served the purpose. There was plenty of hot water and good water pressure. There was a blow regular strength dryer in the bath room. The hotel had an iron and ironing board to borrow. It was walking distance to a mall which offered a variety of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank signinsareapain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights last week, 2 adults and 2 children stayed in a Classic Junior Suite, basically one double bedroom with a sofabed in an adjoining room with bathroom. Hotel staff good, helped with ipod chargers and travel adapters. Room was a little noisy could hear everything that was going on around. Overlooked car park, would have preferred overlooking the wasteland would have been quieter. Breakfast disappointing, very basic, toast, tea/coffee from a machine. Fresh fruit and yoghurt, fresh juice. Bacon, sausage, scrambled egg, beans and tomatoe. But not very appealing. Swimming pool are was cleaned every morning, but pool not enticing enough to go in, and sun loungers dont look as nice as they do on the website !! In fact they are completely different. Would stay here again for 1 or 2 nights but no more. Ideally situated for Quinta and Vale do lobo.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsGMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Hotel was nice and clean,cleaners tidy daily. Pool needed more attention due to it looking cloudy and full of bits etc. Service at the bar and restaurant were poor due to not enough staff. Choices of food were poor on an evening especially, half the items on the menu they did not have when asked for and the price should have been less due to the quality given.Breakfast i could recommend! The area has no pavements to get to the other locations within walking distance and I found this frightening/dangerous as drivers would beep at you when not even in the road (too many drinks and doing it i would call more than dangerous!),it was also poorly lit. There were nice food places Marthinas was great but the prices were imense everywhere!Limited choices! Taxi 14 euro for 2/3 miles!? I love sunbathing but not 7 days on the trot and found it too expensive to do much else. I would highly recommend to go to the beauty place although advertised as beauty it was only for massages which thankfully was to my delight! 35 euro for all over 1hr massage totally relaxed after this!! It is a lovely place which is very limited but relaxing. Drinks at the bar were cheap as was the mini bar(although more choice could be given).Shower was great and decent hair dryer etc. It appears to be an up and coming area not yet establised / expensive possibly due to golf courses and £1,00000 homes around? Nice but not for me to go again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smilerloukata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

at first arrival i was a bit worried we were to far from civilisation,but i need'nt have worried, there are plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance,our favorite " o tanque " was great watching the locals coming in for a beer after work as it cools down then going into the restaurant to eat genuine Portuguese cuisine very reasonably priced! the hotel shuttle bus takes you to the beach or into Almancil free and then its a short bus hop to Faro. Hotel gym is well eqiupped and the pools are lovely and clean. I would happily stay again. Oh,the buffet breakfast was simple but tasty and fresh. recommended!

Room Tip: clean and tidy
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gus960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here during the Faro Rally, lovely clean place, staff were very helpful, great pool area, small shopping area with restaurants within walking distance. Would definately go back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TichnDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinta do Lago
2.7 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#2 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,606 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Country Club
Four Seasons Country Club
#1 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#4 of 14 in Almancil
277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monte da Quinta Resort
Monte da Quinta Resort
#4 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Plaza Resort

Address: Valverde, Quinta do Lago 8135-037, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quinta do Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Quinta do Lago
Price Range: £106 - £891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ria Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ria Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ria Plaza Hotel Quinta Do Lago
Pinus Ria Valverde
Pinus Ria Hotel Valverde
Ria Plaza Resort Quinta Do Lago, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing