We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined by screaming kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte da Quinta Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Quinta do Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ruined by screaming kids”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We went in September and stopped in the Suites for 12 nights - and unknown to us was the fact they were shutting the "Club" pool bar a couple of days after our arrival, so not only were the Hotel guests using the pool but all the villa/club people invaded the pool area, which meant a scramble for sunbeds (and being lucky to secure one) and loads of screaming kids even though it was school term time. For an expensive 'exclusive' hotel this was a big turn-off. Not only that but even when sitting in the 'quiet' area by the bar parents insisted on allowing their brats to sling the cushions around the flower beds and create havoc. Crying babies at night disturbed the peace. The suites themselves are superb, if expensive and cleaned daily. As an older couple who travel in term time to avoid children this is not the place for a 'couples' holiday. The fact the hotel did not inform us of the impending invasion from the Club or give discount for the inconvenience, in what is a very expensive 4 star hotel is disgraceful. Then to add to our grievance along comes a 'jolly' works outing (2 nights/3 days) - they took over the bar swamping the poor bar-man - an hour's wait for a drink is too long. Due to the influx of people the 'a la carte' menu was suspended and it became a luke-warm help yourself buffet for the remainder of our stay, which ended up in expensive taxi fares to restaurants due to the quality of the buffet. The accommodation may be 4 star but they rest of the hotel is not.

Room Tip: Sunrise side has the quiet garden if you are lucky enough to have considerate parents or there are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taittinger2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    174
    58
    28
    26
See reviews for
308
169
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here for a short break in october/november 2011 and we had a great time!

Everything about this hotel is very nice, from the very spacious rooms (I would rather say luxury apartments due to their size) to the pool area and food and drinks. Price of drinks by the pool are very reasonable. We are very found of Quinta do Lago but have had a hard time finding a really good value for money hotel here until we booked this one. Don't hesitate if you are thinking of going.

Only thing you have to know about this hotel is that it is a bit remote and not very close to the beach. You will have to walk for about 15 minutes to reach the beach or bring your own car. For us it was worth it compared to paying the price for staying at one of the beachfront hotels down the road.

Internet connection orked very well during our stay.

Please also make sure you try the Casa do Lago Restaurant which is a short walk away and absolutely great!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Just returned from a thoroughly relaxing break at the sunset side of the hotel. Booked from previous reviews on trip adviser and the photos! Which, by the way represent the quality of the hotel to perfection. Plus points: lovely spacious, extremely well-equipped modern apartment, two bathrooms in a one bed apartment, rooms cleaned daily, friendly staff, a sweet scent and clean open areas throughout the hotel, lovely sun loungers, towels supplied, access to a fantastic spa (although this is charged at five euros per suite, not extortionate, but why bother?). A 15-20 minute walk to the beach, which was quite pleasant. Food in the restaurant was generally ok, service could be slow at times. A few issues: the on site shop does not adequately cater for self caterers. There is a supermarket about 10 mins away in a car, but we mostly ate out or in the restaurant.
Quinta is not your usual tourist location. Pull out bed had an extremely lumpy unuseable mattress, this had to be used In sofa bed mode instead. There is no bus service which means you would definitely require a car/taxi to get around, could be problematic if you wanted to see more of this beautiful country.

Overall a fantastic stay, in a beautiful hotel. I would definitely go back. Not a place for noisy hens or boisterous stags, a relaxing break!!

Room Tip: I love the idea of watching the sunset, as I was never up early enough to see it rise! Sunset side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerak T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

There is a lot to really like about this hotel, and a few things that, in my opinion, rather spoil it.

Firstly, the positives: huge rooms with lovely generous balconies and large living/dining room, two bathrooms (for a one bed suite), lovely tasteful decor, very warm and helpful staff, fabulous breakfast, nice pool with plenty of loungers, good location (could be closer to the beach but this is not an issue if you have a car or bike). Overall the hotel was great.

The negatives: a standard one bed room is only available as two twin beds with separate bedding. This was not a major issue, as it is stated on the website. The big negative was that the mattresses are incredibly uncomfortable - ours were very very hard, and as they were also not pocket sprung it was difficult to get comfortable on your back or on your side. I was surprised that such a lovely hotel had such poor beds! The air con did not work in any of the rooms of our party - it appeared to work and was making noise but did not drop the temperature, adding to the sleep discomfort. Irons and boards are not available for guests to use due to the increase to their insurance, and ironing is only available at a cost. Housekeeping invariably leave the patio doors open on the first floor after cleaning to air the room (it was very humid) - our valuables were thankfully kept in the safe but it is very disconserting to find the door wide open every day on return!

We would stay there again, but perhaps will try to modify the mattress with some of the other bedding to pad it out.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplepiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just returned from our fourth visit to MQS and had the best time ever.
The weather hovered in the high twenties every day and the reception,restaurant,spa and
services remain as excellent as ever. We left the premises one time only during our week stay
for a visit to Gi-Gi's restaurant by the ocean edge .My wife and I always coose to occupy a ground floor suite in the "Sunset" wing and enjoyed fabulous sunsets every day.
We used Yellowfishtransfers for travelling from Faro airport and back and was most impressed
with their service and reasonable prices.
We hope to return to MQS twice in 2013.

Room Tip: As mentioned in my review a suite on the "Sunset" wing is is preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chigwell2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We rented a 4 bedroom villa in August. Admittedly it is a bit expensive but the service is second to none. If you call customer services they come out straight away. The pool was cleaned every day, the villa was clean when we got there and well maintained (though each villa is different). The location was very useful as only 25 mins from Faro and 5 mins from Vale de Lobo. The one complaint would probably be the breakfast which was pretty dull and expensive but other than that I would definitely go again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparegunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

We had a family chilling week here after the end of the cricket season. It was everything we wanted. But to be clear first, Quinta de Lago is an expensive area, so if you want to do cheap don't come here. Meals for 4 are about €150 & you'll need a hire car, although you can do taxis for about €14 to Vale do Logo for example. We had a two bed townhouse, it was superb, maid service each day, full sky sports, free cable Internet in the villa, with free wifi in the Club houses, plunge pool, kitchen with dishwasher.....we ate lunch a couple of times at pool side bar which was good. The restaurants in this area are superb, we didn't have a bad meal. For a casual night we went to the Irish Bar at Qunita Shopping which was superb as a pub resturant. The best resturant in the area on Trip Adviser was Mr Freddie's & it didn't disappoint. The actual residential area is superb, it's hilly as well so great for a couple of laps of walking in the day to keep you going. We will be back.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank StevelCumbriaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quinta do Lago
0.9 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.7 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Country Club
Four Seasons Country Club
#1 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
9.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte da Quinta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte da Quinta Resort

Property: Monte da Quinta Resort
Address: Avenida Andre Jordan, Quinta do Lago 8135-998, Portugal (Formerly Monte da Quinta Club)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quinta do Lago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#4 Family Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quinta do Lago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Quinta do Lago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Monte da Quinta Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Quinta do Lago, a golf resort inside the Ria Formosa Natural Park, Monte da Quinta is a five-star All Suites Hotel, offering Luxurious suites, swimming pools, restaurants, bars, gym, spa and meeting rooms. Nearby leisure, golf, tennis, horse riding, water sports, and bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monte da Quinta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Da Quinta Club Hotel Quinta Do Lago
Monte Da Quinta Hotel
Monte Da Quinta Resort Quinta Do Lago, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing