We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monte da Quinta Resort
Nearby Hotels
Martinhal Quinta(Quinta do Lago)(Great Value!)
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$383
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quinta Do Lago Hotel(Quinta do Lago)(Great Value!)
US$418
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Encosta do Lago(Almancil)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vilar do Golf by Diamond Resorts(Almancil)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments(Almancil)(Great Value!)
US$212
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ria Park Hotel&Spa(Almancil)(Great Value!)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ria Plaza Resort(Quinta do Lago)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Four Seasons Fairways(Quinta do Lago)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
398
187
66
30
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
187
66
30
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubbed suitemonte dapool areasunrise suitesmall kitchenstar hotelpeacock barthe underground car parkfabulous hotelreception teampoached eggsground floorpublic areashired a carsmall shopsitting room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We last stayed at MDQ in 2012, when we had a 2.5 year old in tow, and a baby bump. We loved it so much that, fast forward two years, and we were back (with the bump now an 18 month old). Travelled with another family, who also had a 4 year old and 1 year old. We both requested ground floor rooms (an absolute godsend with kids) and luckily got them (although our friends had to go first floor for two nights, before being moved).
Rooms as great as we remembered; clean and spacious. A little bit of wear and tear is evident - a couple of fixings in the bathroom simply fell off during our stay, but overall very good. The beds were rock hard as we also remembered but, having read someone elses review, we asked for a mattress topper after the first night. This was promptly delivered, and meant that comfy nights were ours for the rest of our stay. An easy fix, and recommended if you find you're suffering.
The reception area has finished it's makeover since we were last there and, while it is lovely, I am not entirely sure it was necessary. What was wrong with the previous decor?? I am tempted to say the money may have been better spent ensuring the suites are in tip top condition, and little things like replastering the low walls outside at garden level, which seem to be taking a beating from the sprinklers.
We went half board again, which was absolutely the best thing to do with the children. The buffet offered immense choice (there was very little - if any - repetition in dishes throughout our stay). The chef - Ivo - was a delight. So helpful, clearly took pride in his work, and went out of his way to accommodate fussy kids. I was so sad to see the dining room so empty some nights; if you are reading this prior to a trip, I would strongly recommend at least a few meals there if you aren't half board. Don't be fooled into thinking 'it's a buffet so can't be that great', it really is lovely. We all came back a fair bit fatter :-)
The kids club was fabulous, and it's the right move to include it in the price. The animation team were a bit hit and miss; they got very little interest from people lazing by the pool, and at times seemed rather lazy with things like the kids disco which was held nightly. Our eldest (and plenty of other kids) loved it, but on our last night, this was replaced with bunging a DVD on (presumably so that the animator on duty could watch the football in the bar?!). After some pleas, we eventualy got our last-night-on-holiday dance in though. I'm just not sure that MDQ is the right setting for things like aqua aerobics etc.
Anyway, all in all, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Yes, it's pricey but we think it's worth it for knowing that you're going to have a great time and feel genuinely looked after. As we are about to be constrained by school holidays, I'm not sure we'll ever be able to afford to go back though!

Room Tip: Try and get a ground floor room if you have children; being able to release them into the garden is such a bonus.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILONGUEIRO, Marketing & Sales Department at Monte da Quinta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your experience at Monte da Quinta Resort.
It´s a pleasure to receive your kind words and to now that we matched your expectations.
We have already passed on your comments to Chef Ivo and his team.

We are also pleased to inform that we are doing more renovations and improvments at the end of this year, so in your next visit you will for sure feel the difference.

We look forward to welcome you again in Monte da Quinta, feel free to contact me directly to do your next booking.

Best Wishes,

Inês Longueiro
Marketing & Sales Department
sales@montedaquintaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We are repeat guests and stayed at The Monte da Quinta for two weeks recently with our 3yr old son & 7yr daughter. The hotel now offer free kids club from 4yrs upwards which was fantastic on the odd overcast day. The staff as always were outstanding and in particular I would like to mention Miguel Jesus and Patricia from the Animation team!! Our children had hours of fun getting involved in the classes and loved the movie nights provided in the evenings. I was very impressed with the time & effort they both put in when meeting and chatting with everyone and as a result I too availed of the toning and stretching classes on offer. It makes a difference when the staff take an interest in the people personally and also a great way to advertise the many classes and entertainment available. They are a credit to the hotel and we will definitely be back next year! Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILONGUEIRO, Sales&Marketing at Monte da Quinta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

It´s always a pleasure to receive you and knowing that we continue matching your expectations.
thank you for sharing your experience with us. we’re happy to know that our team played an important role in making your stay memorable.

Your compliments were already transmited to our animation team and in particular Miguel and Patricia who you have singled out.

We look forward to welcome you again soon in Monte da Quinta Resort,

Kind Regards,

Inês Longueiro
Marketing & Sales Department
sales@montedaquintaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at The Monte da Quinta for a week in June with our two year old son. We booked it on the basis we wanted a five star hotel with five star service but also a kids club and babysitting services and just an easy restful holiday. We arrived at 2pm to find our room wasn't ready which wasn't an issue as check in wasn't until 3pm, but the receptionist's attitude was unbelievable. She simply said 'your room isn't ready. It will be ready at 3pm'. We had no introduction to the hotels bars, restaurants, services and had to ask to be directed to a bar where we could get a drink. The two bed suite was very nice and very clean and we were given a Ground Floor location as requested. There was no information in the room about the area, local supermarkets, facilities in the room, how to work the tvs etc! I have never stayed in a place with such poor communication. We found the food excellent, particularly the freshly prepared food each evening and the chef was very kind to our son and cooked him whatever he asked for. The birds in the restaurant area was the worst thing I've ever experienced. They would sit eating food from your plate. Quite disgusting. The pools were nice, a bit cold. The daily aqua aerobics was just embarrassing. The ladies at kids club and babysitters were fantastic. I cannot praise them highly enough. The poolside bar staff were very friendly but there weren't enough of them. We had to wait a long time for food and the card payment service after every single thing you ordered became irritating after the first day. It really became intrusive. One evening we booked a babysitter and a taxi to go out and the taxi never arrived. The receptionist had forgotten to order it! And no apologies were forthcoming when we pointed out we had been sitting for 20 mins waiting all the while paying 17 euros/hour to a babysitter. The hotel was very nice (probably four not five star), but there was something really lacking and that was any kind of service level.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyCulps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILONGUEIRO, Sales & Marketing Department at Monte da Quinta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you to give us feed-back of your stay with us.
Your comments deserved our best attention and they are of huge importance for us to continue improving our service level.

We apologize for any inconvenience or lack of information and also informe that the issue related to the birds is being taken care.
We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Kids club and pool team, and your compliments were already transmitted to those colleagues.

If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best wishes,

Inês Longueiro
Marketing & Sales Department
sales@montedaquintaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights with friends while attending a wedding. Excellent accommodation with very spacious rooms.full catering facilities which however we did not use. Lovely pool and there is even a little "beach"for sunbathing. Friendly bar staff. A card system is used for drinks. The beds are a little firm but would not stop you sleeping.

The breakfast however was very disappointing and we only used the facility once. Awful service with the staff in a tizzy preparing the food. They were clearly under pressure. Rashers dripping in grease. The eggs were being poached and boiled in the same water! The fried eggs were also dripping in oil. The breakfast area was fine and very spacious and very busy. Maybe we were unlucky on the day. However overall a good spot very well maintained. Hire a car if you want to move around.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank keithcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILONGUEIRO, Gerente de relações com clientes at Monte da Quinta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We truly thank you for your review.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and that you found it to mach your expectations , not only for its facilities but also for its wonderful and helpful Team members.

We thank you for your honest opinion and suggestions regarding breakfast. They are certainly very appreciated as they really assist us to introduce improvements where our guests feel that they are most needed.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity and pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort more often.

Kindest regards.

Inês Longueiro
Marketing & Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have been visiting the Monte da Quinta Suites for quite a few years and our recent visit since the new owners refurb was just as good as all other visits. We welcomed the changes and I think regulars have to be patient and allow the new owners to ' settle in' and hopefully take people's comments onboard. During check in we were offered a room we knew we did not like the location of and they then did their best to offer us another which is were we asked for in advance in the first place! Usually they try and allocated a room you have had in the past and after a few questions during our stay we were told they had a new system in place and repeat customers ' history' had gone. Also all the reception staff seem to be new.

We met one of the young directors one night by chance and over a drink with him we shared some of our views on the changes, ie that the new beach area was possibly not the best idea unless they provide an area to get the sand off your feet/shoes so you don't bring it back into the lobby/bar and patio area. It did however provide an adult only area away from the pool but I think the sand coming into public areas was an issue. also I think there maybe a few disappointed children who were unable to use it to play in.
We liked the new bar area which also included our fav barmen Rui and Bruno, two great characters who welcome you back like lost friends! Breakfast area had also changed, now very open plan where the food was sited and they were constantly re arranging the tables to provide the best 'flow'. The addition of the live cooking was nice to see, ie, we could just order a poached egg leave a plate with chef and within minutes provided with freshly cooked eggs. ( this was available at the 'old breakfast ' but you had to ask one of the table staff. ) yes the birds were a pain but not as much as the wasps last October! There certainly were more birds during May than previous visits, word must have gone around the bird world! We did have to cover our side plate that had any food on when we left the table to fetch something else. I believe plans are in place to stop this. The staff at breakfast were very good with quite a lot of new faces, Luis, as ever was excellent during breakfast and also around the pool bar during the day.
The suites are excellent and we were again happy with the standard of cleaning even though it was late in the afternoon most days. On the whole we enjoyed our two week visit and look forward to returning hopefully in the Autumn.

Room Tip: Depend on what you like, early sun?, go for 'pool view' rooms. Late afternoon sun, front rooms. Quiet rooms ..countryside rooms. Although the front rooms were noisy this year due to lorries passing by going to and from a project down the road.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liverpoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILONGUEIRO, Marketing & Sales Department at Monte da Quinta Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family at Monte da Quinta and to know that we have matched your expectations.
Each year we try to improve our services to provide our guests the best vacations and your comments are of much importance for us to understand if those improvements are pleasing our clients.

Regarding the birds, all the non-aggressive mesures are in place and we expect to control this issue in the best way possible.

We have also passed on yout compliments to all our team.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Best wishes,

Inês Longueiro
Marketing & Sales Department
sales@montedaquintaresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews