We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Quinta das Achadas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Odiaxere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta das Achadas
Ranked #1 of 3 Odiaxere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a special place. We stayed in Mimosa which was perfect with everything you could need to feel at home. Jill and Julio are very friendly with pizza and salad ready on our late arrival and milk for our fridge. Breakfast was a spread and the communal meals great fun! It is laid back and glorious. My 6 year old wanted me to write "I liked it beacuse there were lots of different things to do - ping pong, badminton, football, swimming, playground, hot tub as well as the pigs and chickens". The local beach is 5 minutes away and one of the best sand beaches i have been to. Highly recommend it. Thanks Jill & Julio for a great holiday x I nearly forgot when i mentioned that my son was a bit sad to miss Hallowe'en they organised a hallowe'en party with pumpkins and trick or treats... that's the personal touch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivemic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Having just returned from a perfect 2 week October stay at the Quinta, I felt I needed to write another review just reiterate how much we truly love this special place and all the surrounding area. We are seasoned travellers but the homely comforts and hospitality of Jill and Julio keep drawing us back for more. Whether you just want to relax around the pool or shady cabana, do some of the spectacular beach, coastal or hill walks or just wander around some of the quaint towns and villages or drive out to the spectacular west coast, this really is the perfect place to stay. Each visit we make we still find different places to go and things to do. Equally enjoyable is the friendly banter with the other guests both at breakfast and the twice weekly evening dinners, all delicious and home cooked too. Jill and Julio are to be congratulated on the time, effort and hard work they consistently put in to make each guest's stay the best it could possibly be.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BWHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed at Quinta das Achadas in mid-August with two children aged 6 and 8. It really is the perfect place for families and is the first holiday since having the kids where we’ve felt totally relaxed. Jill and Julio have created a wonderful oasis of calm and although they make everything look effortless they work exceptionally hard to make everyone’s holiday special. The meals on the roof terrace (2 during the week we were there) were delicious and even though we said that the kids would eat the same as us they went to extra effort even making decorated cup cakes for them. Breakfasts were fantastic and we loved eating fruit from the Quinta’s trees and collecting eggs that had been laid that morning. It’s a very home from home atmosphere where it was fine to borrow anything to take to the beach (sunshades, buckets and spades, boogie boards etc ). The bustling town of Lagos which has fantastic beaches (Praia dona Ana and Praia do Camilo especially), boat trips (recommend the dolphin one) plus all the usual amenities (supermarkets, restaurants etc) is about 10 minutes drive away. Having not been to the Algarve for over 10 years I was really impressed with it as a quality destination. Lots of Portuguese were holidaying there in August and it didn’t have the ‘Brits abroad’ atmosphere of many places in Spain. We went to Slide and Splash, the waterslide park, which was busy as it was peak season but spotlessly clean and well run. Jill and Julio recommended places to visit (their ‘insider’ local knowledge is great) but the kids just loved it at the Quinta so we only got to a few of them. We’ve still lots to explore including the west coast and have already booked again for next May.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyB0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I had the most amazing stay at this place! Only stayed for five nights sadly but cannot wait to return someday! Isabella, Jill and Julio were so welcoming and friendly!! I will recommend to all holiday makers, perfect for family holidays with the beach and town close by and younger customers who are interested in nightlife too with many clubs and bars with short taxi journey away!! The dogs are so cute, quiet and friendly and didn't get in the way at all! So much to do in town and nearby and clean gorgeous accommodation with swimming pool! Breakfast served daily with so much choice. Perfect holiday and stay for any preference! I miss it already and only came back in July!

Room Tip: Depends on the size of you group! All perfect sizes and similar gorgeous style
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a wonderful week staying with Jill and Julio. They made us feel so at home. Situated just outside a quiet farming town the Quinta is like a little oasis to return too after the busy town or beach. Surrounded by beautiful trees ,plants and flowers you can sit and enjoy the tranquility.
The rooms and apartments are typically Portuguese with beautiful individual pieces of furniture. The bedrooms are well equipped with a large fridge and equipment for making simple cold lunches even though they are not self catering. We would love an apartment next time as the area has wonderful farmers markets with fresh food just waiting to be cooked!
The home cooked meals on some evenings meant we could relax and enjoy a few glasses of good wine without having to drive to a restaurant and the food was delicious. It was great to chat to other people and swap ideas for good days out. A big thank you to both Jill and Julio for all their hard work and attention to detail to make sure we had a good time. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have just returned home from a very relaxing 2 weeks at Quinta das Achadas. This was our 2nd visit, having enjoyed it so much last October we returned with our daughter and her boyfriend. On our first visit we stayed in jasmine which was very spacious, clean and comfortable with a great attention to detail. Everything we needed was supplied. This time we stayed in Mimosa which if possible was even better. The en suite bathrooms were beautifully decorated and very spacious, as were the bedrooms. The lounge area was very comfortable and cosy. I preferred this to jasmine although there isn't anything wrong with jasmine. Again everything we needed was provided in the kitchen. We started each day with a lovely breakfast supplied by jill and Juliom, the choice was always varied with local produce and some lovely homegrown melons and figs and home made marmalade. Quinta das Achadas is situated just outside the village of Odiaxere which has several small shops selling all the essentials. A short drive down the road is Lagos with its lovely marina offering a variety of boat trips and a good choice of eateries. I would say it is essential to hire a car to make the most of what the area has to offer, but Quinta das Archadas also offers a good size pool and a lovely hot tub (which we especially enjoyed when we stayed in October). A well equipped children's play area. We also enjoyed 4 meals during our stay beautifully cooked by Jill and Julio this gave us the opportunity to meet with the other guests and swap stories including places to visit. The atmosphere is very friendly but not intrusive and the attention to deal is second to none.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at the Quinta das Achadas for three nights as part of a trip across the southern coast of Portugal - it was most definitely the highlight. We were travelling with our two year old son who felt at home right away. The hosts Jill and Julio were extremely kind and accommodating. The apartment was equipped with a cot and Jill provided a baby bath, high chair and was ready to offer advice on visiting the region. Julio is also a fabulous cook and we enjoyed two fabulous meals at a reasonable price on the terrace with the other guests. The Quinta itself is very charming and the gardens lush and green. There was also shaded area that allowed our son to play outside in the midday heat. He was also happy to find many toys available for the children to use. The apartment was tastefully decorated with a lovely little terrace with tables and chairs outside. It's a beautiful place to relax and do very little or as a base to explore the wider region.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Odiaxere
4.6 mi away
Dom Manuel Hotel
Dom Manuel Hotel
#2 of 53 in Lagos
454 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villas D. Dinis
Villas D. Dinis
#1 of 53 in Lagos
390 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Rio
Hotel Marina Rio
#3 of 53 in Lagos
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,504 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quinta Bonita Luxury Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
Holiday Lagos
Holiday Lagos
#6 of 71 in Lagos
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta das Achadas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta das Achadas

Address: Rua da Barragem | Lagos, Odiaxere, Lagos 8600-250, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos > Odiaxere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Odiaxere
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta das Achadas 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Quinta Das Achadas Hotel Odiaxere
Quinta Das Achadas Lagos
Quinta Das Achadas Portugal/Odiaxere, Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing