We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
hull, uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Really fantastic family holiday with my 19 month old son, the Riu staff really gave us a lovely holiday. The range of food was wonderful and I really thought the A La Carte restaurant was a nice addition, just what I have come to expect from Riu.
I wasn't keen on the Riu beach due to the 300 wooden steps but the walk to the town beach wasn't that bad and only took about 10 minutes.
The fact that the kids club had a small playground and a ball pool inside was fab.
Regarding the boisterous kids we didn't see any but we did have my little boy tucked up in bed by 8:30pm.
I'd recommend room 249 as it was a lovely family room with plenty of space.

Room Tip: Family room 249
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helenps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    667
    207
    38
    15
See reviews for
764
872
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Came home on the 2nd of October after one week at the hotel which in itself was very good. Excellent service and facilities, entertainment a bit amateurish, but the food made up for that.
Have been to Riu resorts before and expected the same high standard of service but this hotel failed it's customers drastically by allowing hoards of children aged from 4 to 8 years of age to run around the complex during the evening until as late as 11.00pm They were climbing up the lampposts and trying to throw sunbeds in the pool until a waiter told them not to. The children were old enough to know what they were doing was wrong but their parents just let them run riot. Even the evening was spoiled by children running into the bars for drinks and gertting more and more 'wound up'. Surely someone from the management team could have talked to the parents in order to restore respect for the majority of customers. We will not be returning to this hotel and advise other travellers it is more for families with children.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view or you may get a carpark view with a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

would i go back bet your life i would.The hotel was great.The staff great.The food was very good for allinclusive.The pool area was spotless b.ut the water was bloody freezing.The staff could just not do enough.Entertainment was ok ! The staff worked very hard.The village is small but nice a few Bars Cafes and Shops.Trips to Albufeira and Villamoura are easy by taxi hope this is of help.would i go back you bet

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking tennis courts floors 4 and5
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baz1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Bearing in mind this is supposed to be 4* the place is run entirely for families with children. They still had children on the stage at 1030 at night. There is nowhere you can go as an adult to escape it.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the food is very good bearing in mind that it is a mass buffet. And the staff are accomodating.

There are just enough sunbeds to go round but they are crammed together by the pool. As I said, great if you've got kids - otherwise avoid it like the plague. Other people we met there said don't judge all the riu hotels by this one!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjonesgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Another fantastic holiday at this superb hotel. Excellent in all departments due to the efficient management of Juan and his team, who ensure the total comfort and enjoyment of all guests. Food, location, cleanliness and service all outstanding. We are looking forward to our next stay already!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NWPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Everything from the time we arrived until when we left this hotel was fantastic. Rooms, food, staff infact everything was great could not ask for more, although the evening entertainment could be better.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We arrived at Riu Guarana late August for 2 week holiday. Rooms very comfortable and good size - room impeccably clean (as was all hotel) - probably cleanest hotel I've stayed in. Management really good- around all day and night. Friendly and were all the staff. Good location near to beach. Fabulous beaches - stretch for miles. Not far from nearest town (short bus ride away). Really good food for all inclusive - menu based on 14 days so no repetition. You'd need to be really fussy not to enjoy. 2 thematic restaurants worth a visit but we mostly ate in main restaurant. Bars great - no queues and good choice of drinks. Bottles of water available at reception. Hotel was fairly busy as the spanish and portugese schools were still not back so lot of kids. Entertainment during day good - animation team fun but not too pushy. Variety of gym classes during day + aquagym, decent gym with recent equipment. Evening entertainment ok. Great hotel for kids/families.
Think our only complaint/comment would be that the sunloungers are really close together. Not so bad on the quiet days but when each lounger was in use it really was a bit packed in like sardines. Guess its also as the hotel has 500 rooms. Pool area is great - clean and big enough. We had a very enjoyable holiday for our first trip to Portugal.

Room Tip: Higher floor for pool view and rooms at back in shade in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUJU051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.2 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Property: ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos D'Agua - Algarve, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Guarana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2017. Located in Olhos d'Agua in the Algarve. 6-Storey main building and 2-storey annex building. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel Riu Palace Algarve is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Albufeira
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Hotel Albufeira
ClubHotel Riu Guarana Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing