We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Guarana
Nearby Hotels
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Clube Humbria by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Falesia Mar by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Falesia Garden by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos do Parque(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
TUI BLUE Falesia(Olhos de Agua)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,249)
Filter reviews
2,249 results
Traveller rating
1,134
816
239
42
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,134
816
239
42
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsasian restaurantswim up barentertainment teammain restaurantthe grillself serviceasian nightwelcome meetingevening entertainmentbar staffgreat holidaymattress topperbehind the scenesfree safequiet poolplenty of choicewelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,169 - 1,174 of 2,249 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2011

one week holiday of pure r & r.beautiful clean hotel.food and drink plentiful. beach closest to hotel exactly as described in brochure, wouldnt take children to that beach quite difficult with all the steps,sea was quite rough as it was a cove ,there are others more accessible.towels are available at reception for beach/swimming pools.can be changed daily.deposit of 10 euros which is refundable.free bottled water at reception.used the gym and indoor swimming pool daily.perfect escape for a bit of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank welltravelled012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We visited in October 2011. The hotel overall is excellent.The check in was speedy and friendly with a drink offered while waiting. All the areas of the hotel were cleaned to a very high standard including the bedrooms and ensuite. The food quality and variety was very good. We were surprised that considering there were 500 rooms there was no lack of tables in the dining room at any time. We can highly recommend the hotel tour behind the scenes e.g kitchens,roof,entertainment etc.,Wil definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the pool are quieter and higher up you can see the sea.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara4743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We could not fault this holiday,The staff were excellent from the initial reception to the bar,pool,restaurant and not forgetting the cleaners,The animation team did their best and with the mix of cultures entertained us all.The only criticism was the hotel was closing in November and withdrew facilities without notice such as the a la carte restaurants,disco and pool bar.The restaurant was good but catered for the german palate and we would have prefered more local portuguese dishes.......

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pools
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank humpty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I have recently returned from a two week stay here with my partner. We had a room on the fifth floor overlooking the gardens/swimming pool and the sea. The Riu Palace Hotel is directly infront of the hotel next to the sea but you can still see the sea. The room was lovely, the bed was hard but reception organised a mattress topper very quickly so it wasn't a problem. The safe in the bedroom is free of charge. The tv shows itv and bbc 1. There isn't a kettle but you can get one from reception for a 20 euro deposit (Just remember to take mugs and teaspoons ).Free large bottles of water are at reception, it's worth taking small empty bottles to carry round and refil. There is a small minimarket very close to the hotel which sells milk and other essentials. If you walk up to the traffic lights and turn left and walk for about 10mins you will find a large supermarket, you can get a small map from reception.
The food is really good and plentiful.Food is available 8-11.30, 12-3, 3.30-5.30 and 7-10pm. The cakes very tasty and they are presented in small slices so you can get a selection and lovely ice cream. You can help yourself anytime to beer,coke,sprite, water and fruit juice They have a separate themed restaurant which alternated nightly between Asian and Grill (I think this was because it was end of season)
The hotel is spotless, the cleaners worked very hard and were thorough, the lady who cleaned ours was called Suitlana and she was lovely. All the staff were polite and friendly. Twice lightbulbs blew and they were changed very quickly and when we had a problem with the safe the maintenance man was there in 10mins. Amazing service. There is no need to take towels as for a ten euro deposit you can get a large towel at reception and change it daily then get your money back when you leave. We asked for another key and that was supplied for a 20 euro deposit. I used the gym daily and often I was the only person there, I also used the indoor pool which was heated, there is also a steam room,sauna and jacuzzi.
There is a small selection of books to borrow by reception and computers with wifi. This costs 1 euro for I think 10 mins.
The hotel has a very good entertainment team, the morning starts with volleyball and aerobics if you want. Also bingo, aquasize football and tennis are available. There is a childrens club and in the evenings a childrens show with hokey kokey etc.
There is also a show put on each night at 9.15 for about an hour.
We didn't get down to the large beach but we could see it from the top of the wooden steps. There was a handrail and seating but I have been very ill and knew I would struggle to get back up. Hopefully I will manage it next time as we hope to go back in May.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor .
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chefCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Guarana, travelling with friends to celebrate my husband's 50th. Check - in was quick and easy and we were allocated standard rooms next to each other on the second floor. Nice and cool overlooking the front of the hotel. Hotel rooms are kept beautifully clean every day and towels are changed daily. Bottles of water can be collected form reception free of charge. Don't take beach towels, just hire them for 10 euros and these can be changed daily between 9-12. Plenty of choice at mealtimes and we ate on the patio area every day and night. Bar service is excellent and there is plenty of bar staff on to serve lovely cocktails. We mostly sat by the quiet pool area and soaked up the beautiful October sun. A walk down to the beach is recommended to burn off those lovely danish pastries. We also walked down to Villamoura along the beach front- at a good pace we got there in under an hour and a half. A visit to Villamoura is a must- chill out in a stylish bar and watch the world go by. Take a look at the luxury boats and dream of winning the euromillions. We didn't partake in any of the activities, but there is plenty to do if are feeling active. We watched a bit of the entertainment, but not really our thing- prefer to sit and chat and play our cards. The staff at the Guarana are very friendly and the service is excellent. The soaring October temperature ( very unusual for this time of year) was a big bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cath61Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews