We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Just returned from 2 week stay at the RIU Guarana with my wife. Had a really good time. Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel and grounds kept very clean and tidy. Good variety of well prepared food available. Our bedroom was on rear of hotel, which suited us because it didn't get direct sunlight. Only drawback to this is that you do hear some dogs barking at night. If the balcony doors are closed it's not really a problem. If this doesn't work have another brandy! If you want the sun go for a poolview room. Read one or two negative comments about the food and animation team before we went. However, as stated above, food very good, Only saw animation team in the evening as we like to get out and about and see the countryside. We thought the team's shows, which last about an hour, were OK. The only exception was the comedy sketch show which wasn't that good. On two occasions the entertainment was provided by external acts of singers and dancers and they were good. All in all a good hotel and a nice resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank acorntours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    665
    206
    38
    15
See reviews for
763
869
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were a party of 6, 2 + 65's, 2 adults and 2 teenagers, booked as a package holiday with Thomsons. On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by friendly checkin staff and a late night cold buffet was provided. Rooms were spacious, very clean and had everything you needed and a lovely view of the pool and the sea. Throughout our stay we found all the staff to be very friendly, in particular the riu entertainment team who provided all manner of activities during the day. There was something that appealed to everyone and they made a special effort to get to know the guests which our 2 teenagers particularly enjoyed. Evening entertainment may not appeal to everyone but there is no denying the team did their very best to provide a show with audience participation for people of different nationalities. Food was plentiful, freshly prepared so couldnt fault the quality or choice. The only 2 drawbacks we had with this holiday were the temperature of the outdoor pools (very cold!) and the fact that the hotel could only offer courtesy rooms at a price of 30 euros. We had a great week weatherwise, lovely and hot, beach was a short 10 minute walk away and was lovely. This hotel is situated half way between Albufeira and Vilamoura which can be reached by local bus or taxi. We particularly enjoyed the taxis which provided karaoke in them! Overall, a great hotel and wouldnt hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool have lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

one week holiday of pure r & r.beautiful clean hotel.food and drink plentiful. beach closest to hotel exactly as described in brochure, wouldnt take children to that beach quite difficult with all the steps,sea was quite rough as it was a cove ,there are others more accessible.towels are available at reception for beach/swimming pools.can be changed daily.deposit of 10 euros which is refundable.free bottled water at reception.used the gym and indoor swimming pool daily.perfect escape for a bit of peace and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank welltravelled012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage,Herts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We visited in October 2011. The hotel overall is excellent.The check in was speedy and friendly with a drink offered while waiting. All the areas of the hotel were cleaned to a very high standard including the bedrooms and ensuite. The food quality and variety was very good. We were surprised that considering there were 500 rooms there was no lack of tables in the dining room at any time. We can highly recommend the hotel tour behind the scenes e.g kitchens,roof,entertainment etc.,Wil definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the pool are quieter and higher up you can see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara4743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We could not fault this holiday,The staff were excellent from the initial reception to the bar,pool,restaurant and not forgetting the cleaners,The animation team did their best and with the mix of cultures entertained us all.The only criticism was the hotel was closing in November and withdrew facilities without notice such as the a la carte restaurants,disco and pool bar.The restaurant was good but catered for the german palate and we would have prefered more local portuguese dishes.......

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank humpty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I have recently returned from a two week stay here with my partner. We had a room on the fifth floor overlooking the gardens/swimming pool and the sea. The Riu Palace Hotel is directly infront of the hotel next to the sea but you can still see the sea. The room was lovely, the bed was hard but reception organised a mattress topper very quickly so it wasn't a problem. The safe in the bedroom is free of charge. The tv shows itv and bbc 1. There isn't a kettle but you can get one from reception for a 20 euro deposit (Just remember to take mugs and teaspoons ).Free large bottles of water are at reception, it's worth taking small empty bottles to carry round and refil. There is a small minimarket very close to the hotel which sells milk and other essentials. If you walk up to the traffic lights and turn left and walk for about 10mins you will find a large supermarket, you can get a small map from reception.
The food is really good and plentiful.Food is available 8-11.30, 12-3, 3.30-5.30 and 7-10pm. The cakes very tasty and they are presented in small slices so you can get a selection and lovely ice cream. You can help yourself anytime to beer,coke,sprite, water and fruit juice They have a separate themed restaurant which alternated nightly between Asian and Grill (I think this was because it was end of season)
The hotel is spotless, the cleaners worked very hard and were thorough, the lady who cleaned ours was called Suitlana and she was lovely. All the staff were polite and friendly. Twice lightbulbs blew and they were changed very quickly and when we had a problem with the safe the maintenance man was there in 10mins. Amazing service. There is no need to take towels as for a ten euro deposit you can get a large towel at reception and change it daily then get your money back when you leave. We asked for another key and that was supplied for a 20 euro deposit. I used the gym daily and often I was the only person there, I also used the indoor pool which was heated, there is also a steam room,sauna and jacuzzi.
There is a small selection of books to borrow by reception and computers with wifi. This costs 1 euro for I think 10 mins.
The hotel has a very good entertainment team, the morning starts with volleyball and aerobics if you want. Also bingo, aquasize football and tennis are available. There is a childrens club and in the evenings a childrens show with hokey kokey etc.
There is also a show put on each night at 9.15 for about an hour.
We didn't get down to the large beach but we could see it from the top of the wooden steps. There was a handrail and seating but I have been very ill and knew I would struggle to get back up. Hopefully I will manage it next time as we hope to go back in May.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chefCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Guarana, travelling with friends to celebrate my husband's 50th. Check - in was quick and easy and we were allocated standard rooms next to each other on the second floor. Nice and cool overlooking the front of the hotel. Hotel rooms are kept beautifully clean every day and towels are changed daily. Bottles of water can be collected form reception free of charge. Don't take beach towels, just hire them for 10 euros and these can be changed daily between 9-12. Plenty of choice at mealtimes and we ate on the patio area every day and night. Bar service is excellent and there is plenty of bar staff on to serve lovely cocktails. We mostly sat by the quiet pool area and soaked up the beautiful October sun. A walk down to the beach is recommended to burn off those lovely danish pastries. We also walked down to Villamoura along the beach front- at a good pace we got there in under an hour and a half. A visit to Villamoura is a must- chill out in a stylish bar and watch the world go by. Take a look at the luxury boats and dream of winning the euromillions. We didn't partake in any of the activities, but there is plenty to do if are feeling active. We watched a bit of the entertainment, but not really our thing- prefer to sit and chat and play our cards. The staff at the Guarana are very friendly and the service is excellent. The soaring October temperature ( very unusual for this time of year) was a big bonus.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cath61Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.2 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Property: ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos D'Agua - Algarve, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Guarana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2017. Located in Olhos d'Agua in the Algarve. 6-Storey main building and 2-storey annex building. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel Riu Palace Algarve is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), RIU Hotels and Resorts, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Albufeira
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Hotel Albufeira
ClubHotel Riu Guarana Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing