We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you like All Inclusive - a bit repetetive if you don't ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth Mid Wales
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good if you like All Inclusive - a bit repetetive if you don't ?”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I am having problems reviewing this hotel due to my reluctance always to stay All Inclusive but it was a last minute booking so here we go.... To be fair, the hotel is a good option if you like AI or have kids that constantly want want want. The rooms were modern, comfortable and with a good size balcony and a modern bathroom. There was BBC One and ITV on the TV which was a great treat whilst getting ready for a night out ! The rooms were carpeted and furnished to a good standard.

We e-mailed the hotel to request a high floor with sea view and they duly obliged - I guess that if you booked with an agency like Thomson's you'd be stuck with a room at the back. I went with my wife as a couple and by day 5 we had a bit of cabin fever and it always felt a bit like groundhog day as you eat all your meals at the same buffet restaurant. Don't get me wrong, the food was good especially breakfasts. We were able to eat outside on the patio every morning for breakfast, for every lunch and every night for dinner - this was great and we had good warm weather from 8th October for 5 days.

The pool are was tidy and well kept - no problem getting a sun bed in October, not sure about July / August. It was a great treat that you could pull your own beer and get your own coke ( 100% proper coke ) at a couple of service stations around the pool area.

Olhos de Agua is a great little spot with nice bars and restaurants by the beach. If you are travelling as a couple I would recommend self catering and eating out every night - plenty of choice although Olhos de Agua is a small resort in comparison to Albufeira.

Would I stay here again for a couples break ? No - see my review of Porto ay Falesia in 2010 to see why I'd go there instead.....

Room Tip: E-mail in advance to request a high floor with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwalltcoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    709
    215
    38
    16
See reviews for
801
931
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Incredibly impressed with the whole hotel from the start of the stay until leaving. Too bad we only stayed a week.

This hotel is made what it is by its staff. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them. They will do anything you ask, and do it with a smile. The reception staff were so helpful. They even sent champagne up to the room to say happy birthday to my girlfriend who I was on my holiday with, and when I asked to move room to a pool view, there was no hesitation and within half an hour I was in my new room.
Bar staff seem to really enjoy there job, and want you to enjoy your holiday. Waiters and dinner staff were very professional.
Cleaners did an incredible job of keeping the place up to scratch.
The welcome meeting was held by the management team who also really seemed to care about your stay and wanted to be there for you. The main manager for the hotel said in the meeting that his door is always open for his guests and even though I didn't need to speak to them, I honestly believe his door would have been open if I'd have needed him, but the hotel runs so well, I can't imagine anyone actually needing to go to him.
The entertainment team did everything they could to help you enjoy your stay.
There really isn't anything bad I can say about this hotel, or the resort in general. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Absolutely loved it.
So sad to go home.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nei1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is an excellent hotel in a lovely resort on the Algarve. We stayed there from 7 -14th October and had a great time.The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Ours was on the first floor overlooking the pool. Ask for a room with an odd number as those with an even number overlook the car park. Staff were very helpful the food was very good with plenty of choice at all meals.
There were some nice touches. The maids were very efficient and the whole complex was spotlessly clean at all times. There were free bottles of water at reception 24/7 and the TV in the rooms showed British terrestrial channels, BBC 1&2 as well as ITV1 & BBC World News.
The resort is quite small but has some nice bars and restaurants. We visited two of the three beaches within walking distance of the hotel and they were beautiful. Apparently from the bigger one you could walk to Villamoura though it would take you a few hours I would guess!
All in all we really enjoyed a restful week in the warm sunshine and I have no hesitation in recommending this resort and hotel for a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince56Reigate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We choose all inclusive package, you really get everything you want/need: Food are good, not only meat (chicken, pork, fish) and with nice vegetable, drinks, fruits and nice dessert and nice ice cream (Ola), nice 3 outdoor swimming pool (1 for baby which is really important for us) and 2 for normal. 1 indoor swimming pool with hot bubble bath, Sauna, Steam Room, of course you can have massage if you want; rooms are SUPER clean every single day during our stay (7 days); great service - you can always reception whatever you want/need, they can really help for what you need (ex. birthday special, anniversary if you want to arrange some surprise still during your stays, car rental, other activity in local consult...) They also have both Air-con and fan in the room, which most of hotels may not have...shower is great...free drinking water with really good quality...everyday have different great shows and activity during day times for adults and kids (but not much for under 2 years old as you can expected); staff of the hotels are really professional and always with nice smiling and attitude and talk to you sometimes pleasantly..

Only few small things:
- Outdoor Swimming pool of baby/small kid should make it warmer for baby/small children to play with.
- Indoor swimming pool is a bit too cold as well
- Bed is really a bit too hard, better be careful if you have back problem.
- No night light in both bathroom and room; pretty bright in the rooms
- No water boiler when you need to make coffee/tea/warm up baby food in your room because you can almost get food and drink from 8h30 to midnight in the hotel...

Room Tip: Better spend a bit more with bigger room, which will bring you really GREAT view of sea side and nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CR827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed here at the beginning of October 2012. On the whole it was really good. The only thing that wasn't was the entertainment. It was very amateurish and even late at night was aimed mostly at children.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbarruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This review is more to thank the reception Manager and his staff for being so helpful on our arrival,- when it appeared we had been involved in an internet scam (Outlet Hotels.com),- they had no knowledge of our booking -despite having paid 2 months prior. We were allocated a lovely pool view room with reassurances not to worry. They and we did our best to contact provider to no avail. The Riu team were very helpful in what could have been a very embarrassing and stressful time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsMFleetwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Our first visit to an All Inclusive Hotel and we were not disappointed.
Service by all members of staff - excellent, all attentive and nothing too much trouble.
Early flight, so arrived at hotel 10.30am - no problem checked in straight away with added bonus of room upgrade.
We were rang within minutes after entering room to see if everything was to our satisfaction, I requested mattress toppers for the bed and help as there was a problem with the in room safe both requests were dealt with in 10 minutes - very impressed.
Food and drink in abundant supply and hotel spotless.
Beaches nearby are sandy and very clean with fantasic views. Although, the two routes down to the beach via steps could be demanding for some if of maturing years or families with children - but the effort is well worth it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CockooCockoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.2 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
900 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,244 reviews
19.0 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,075 reviews
5.8 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#3 of 3 in Sesmarias
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Property: ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos D'Agua - Algarve, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Guarana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2017. Located in Olhos d'Agua in the Algarve. 6-Storey main building and 2-storey annex building. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel Riu Palace Algarve is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Albufeira
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Hotel Albufeira
ClubHotel Riu Guarana Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing