We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for hypo kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This place is ok its down the hill from the palace and closer to all the little shops and quirky places to eat. The kids had a great time and this place is geared up for them. However its a shame its not quite as high spec as the palace. Would go again, but would book a weeks holiday for myself afterwards!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank hpw2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,106)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Guarana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

Our first family holiday with our toddler, we spent a week at the Clubhotel Riu Guarana at the beginning of October, and had a fantastic time! Booked through Thomson holidays, and was our first experience of an all inclusive...

** Location **

Olhos d’Agua – meaning eyes of the water – in the Algarve, southern Portugal. Approx ½ hour transfer from Faro airport by coach. Lovely area with a mix of local/tourist areas to get the best of both worlds, if you don’t like being stuck in the middle of nowhere. There are enough shops within walking distance, and restaurants, bars, cafes, supermarkets… Places closest to the hotel will be more expensive but enough choice. There is a nice little wine shop nearby where you can taste the wine and get other food/drink type souvenirs.

** The hotel in general **

Looks spacious, attractive and very clean, with staff who are polite and make you feel welcome. Staff speak English very well, and are very helpful when asked anything. The hotel is actually on lease by the Riu Group, rather than being one of their own hotels, so apparently has a little different feel to others in the group. We were taken on a tour of the hotel by Mikey, the entertainment head, and it is clear the staff are passionate about their work and the hotel.

** The room **

Not very modern, but clean and comfortable. Had two single beds put together, but was spacious and comfortable. My husband felt the mattress was a bit hard, so we asked for mattress toppers, which solved his problem. I thought it made the bed too soft, so I took the topper off mine. There was a TV (old style, not flatscreen) in the room which showed mostly European channels (German, French, Portugese) with English TV limited to BBC World, BBC1 and ITV1, and a couple of other ones. We didn’t spend a lot of time in the room so this wasn’t a big problem. There is a safe in the room, plenty of storage for clothes, a hairdryer inbuilt in the bathroom, and toiletries provided (soap, shower gel, shampoo, shower cap). There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room, but you can get these from outside the room whenever you like. We were provided a cot for our toddler, and there is air conditioning in the rooms, a fridge (not filled, so you can put what you want in it), and a little balcony area with seating and space to dry your clothes. (Room number 402)


** Entertainment team **
These guys deserve their own heading, as they are such an integral part of the hotel. There is an ‘animation’ team who are basically the guys who entertain and facilitate sports and activities in the hotel (lots of things to do, and games like darts, bingo, french bowls, jenga etc). They are all very friendly, approachable, and are always happy to help. Very quickly on, we got to know all their names and they treat you like you are their friend. The place wouldn’t be what it is without them, in my opinion! They don’t have a lot of budget allocated to them, so sometimes the evenings shows are a little low quality, but through the week, there is a good balance of ‘ok’ shows compared to ‘really good’ shows…

** Food **

One of the most important things! There is a main buffet restaurant where all your meals are served. We thought there was plenty of choice to be happy with, and we were always satisfied with our food. They cater for all nationalities who have differing requirements of breakfast, with choices including English breakfast, cereal, fruit, bread, pastries, cold meats, salads, yogurt. Lunch had plenty of choice with soup, bread, fresh pizzas, pastas, meats, veg, salad, cakes/dessert/ice cream. Dinner was usually similar to lunch with a bit more choice, and some special items. The local portugese dish for dinner was always very nice and worth a try – usually a hearty stew with rabbit or shellfish etc. There was shellfish and caviar one day which was a bit of a treat. Between lunch and dinner, there is also a snack session where burgers, hotdogs and toasted sandwiches are on offer, with some desserts also, which is good in case you are peckish before dinner. There was also a theme restaurant which alternated between Oriental Food and Grill, 2 days on and 2 days off. Booking the theme restaurant was easy as there was a list in the main buffet restaurant and you just put your room number down and the number of people dining, and we always got in. I can understand some people will get bored of the food after a couple of days, but providing you don’t overdo it and have too much variety in one sitting, then you can usually mix and match on different days. The food is not of gourmet quality, but I thought it was generally very good especially for the price you pay.

** Drink **

The wine, (red, white, rose) as mentioned in other reviews, isn’t the best, but didn’t think it was that terrible, it was fine especially if you made a white wine spritzer! There are pre-mixed cocktails (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) which we drank through the day – again not high level quality but good enough for us. There are plenty of spirits available, which are not branded but are a close match. There are machines where you can get tea/coffee, soft drinks through most of the day. The bartenders are amazing, and serve you quickly and efficiently. Every evening I would ask them for warm milk for my toddler which they were happy to oblige to.

** Hotel facilities **

There are two outdoor pools, a children’s pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, and indoor pool, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi. The water is quite cold in all of them, so just to be aware! People seem to reserve loungers early on in the morning by placing towels on them, which you’re not supposed to, but it happens. We always found loungers when we wanted them, but were not visiting during peak season so can’t comment on availability through the year.

** Kids **

There is a kids club, although our child wasn’t old enough to be left there, but it is available and seemed to have pleasant staff there who really care about children, and speak various languages. Even if you are not leaving your child there, you can stay there with them and do colouring and other free activities. They have a small playground area with swings and a slide. The kids all seemed to have fun. Most evenings, there is a little disco for the kids in the main bar area, preceding the evening entertainment, which us adults also enjoyed! They sing and dance to very catchy tunes, which will stick in your head for days, be warned! (It has been over a month since going there, and we still sometimes sing the songs.

*** Summary ***

I thought it was a fantastic hotel, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. For us, it had the right mix of entertainment, food and comfort. It may not have gourmet food and drink, or top class entertainment, but fun and family orientated it definitely is. We had a nice and relaxing week and we were sad to leave it! I don’t think it is a good place for staying 2 weeks, unless you are prepared to venture out and try alternative food and entertainment, as after a week, I think you would get a little bored. It was our first time visiting an all inclusive, and Riu hotel, and I would definitely consider a similar holiday in future, perhaps even the same hotel!

Room Tip: pool view room is a little nicer! good to be higher up also in case of noise from late nights...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank diva80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayied late october 2012,we are a couple aged 51 that like good comfort,food and sports.
The hotel is of a good 4 star standard,very clean,lovely grounds and 10/10 for food and overhaul done a top job as the hotel seemed very full,even for october.
Location good low key that suits us,can walk both ways around 1.30 hours each way to larger towns or around 5 euros by taxi.
The hotel if you have kids is the idea place for a graet holiday for adults like us thats left them at home not so sure,think the Ria Palace next door would suit you better,but still had a great time but would not return as to many children,kids disco at 8 etc.
Very large complex,in a nice location,and great value as last minute booking only £1000 for us both all inclusive.
We always book a hotel with tennis courts as thats our sport and our only complant is that it had a large belly in the middle.and no drainage ,and as it rained most evenings the court was flooded one end so the next day it never dryied out ,so we had to keep paying 10 euros the use the Ria Palace next door.
You can book one hour tennis a day,but only one court which also used for football.so if your staying in peek session,then i think that you would be lucky to play as hotel has over 600 hundred rooms
Overhaul a very good standard hotel,had a good time,not sure if you could ever get drunk,lack of units in drinks,Ria hotels very impressed by,will return to another one yes ,but will be adult only next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank markmWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed for 7 nights the second week in September. The weekend was busy with a lot of children in the week it was quieter. We stayed in a family room which was a good size, two separate beds and a step down to an area with a couch and tv, there was also a good sized balcony. The family rooms are in a separate building close to the largest pool. Only negatives were the beds, tv and cocktails (as addressed in other reviews). We did not go with a package company, took a taxi from the airport (I think it cost about 38 euros) and we were checked in upon arrival by the Assistant Manager. He constantly walked around the hotel making sure everything was good. The hotel is super clean, the food was lovely. We loved the evening entertainment the entertainment team were great. Also enjoyed the exercises in the pool each day, there were other activities available. It was nearly all families with children or couples, didn't see many single people. The nearby beaches and scenery is gorgeous and my 82 year old Mother made it up the many stairs from the beach. There are plenty of places to sit on the way up and several different flights of stairs to choose from. Would like to go back some time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissteryNewportCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The hotel was very clean and tidy. The entertainment team were very good and hard working they left you alone if you didn't want the fuss but included you if you did. We went away as a family for my dads 50t also bringing our partners and we had such a good week in portugal. The hotels location was jurist right the cab fares were reasonable to get to the towns and there was enough around the hotel that you could go out for walks etc.

Room Tip: The fans in the room were quite noise but you don't need to have them on as there is air conditi...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

we went to this hotel in late september .we are a couple in our fifties. it lived up to all the positive revues on this page .we found it very clean ,very friendly entertainers .good shows each night .the food was excellent , plenty of choice .the fish was lovely .the dining hall was very well managed.now the bar the team lead by fernando meant you never waited even with a room full of guests.the only down side and it has nothing to do with the hotel is the lack of good bars locally .the beach is close by down the hill .we would go back another time .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fagashlil186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We travelled with Thomsons and at the welcome meeting we were introduced to the Hotel Director, his Deputy and all the heads of departments, including Technical and Housekeeping. Nothing is too much for this team. The Director and his Deputy are seen around the hotel from early morning to late at night. Nothing escapes their eyes. They are easily accessible and mingle with their clients, never hiding away in their office.

The local beach of Olhos D'Agua is easily accessible and within comfortable walking distance, suitable for prams and motorised wheelchairs.

Taxi rank is situated next door to the hotel, Fare to Albufeira beach was only 8 euros. and only takes 15-20mins. We tried the bus going to Albufeira but had to change at the garage, so not money saving and a bit of hassle, we took the taxi back.

Even the rain didn't spoil our holiday, the entertainments team are superb, always finding ways to keep everyone happy during the day and their evening entertainment was great.

There are 2 restaurants next door to each other. The food is excellent, fresh and good variety, no porridge though but that can be forgiven when there is so much more on offer. Freshly cooked english breakfast, continental, cereals, you name it, they have got it. The other restaurant is open 3 nights, (2 grill buffets and 1 asian buffet) superb,

I must mention the bar staff, they are the fastest most pleasant team I have ever come accross, Cocktails are included in the all inclusive.

Our maid, not only cleaned but took time to fold towels and tissues. Our room was spotless.

The girls running the Kids club put their heart and soul into everything they did with the children, even including the in some of the shows. I dont know where they get the energy from.

Our room was a standard room at the back of the building over looking the car park (just one row of cars parked along the road), however, it was very very quiet and had a very pleasant outlook.

Would like to give a big Thank you to everyone and hope to be back very soon.

Room Tip: poolside rooms seem to get the sun most of the day, but our room was roadside and it was very quiet...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disappointed730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
993 reviews
19.0 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Falesia Mar by 3HB
Falesia Mar by 3HB
#5 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
104 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hotel Made Inn
Hotel Made Inn
#23 of 75 in Portimao
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos D'Agua - Algarve, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range: £140 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Guarana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2017. Located in Olhos d'Agua in the Algarve. 6-Storey main building and 2-storey annex building. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel Riu Palace Algarve is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Albufeira
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Hotel Albufeira
ClubHotel Riu Guarana Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing