We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Riu Guarana
Nearby Hotels
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Falesia Mar by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Falesia Garden by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clube Humbria by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Apartamentos do Parque(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TUI BLUE Falesia(Olhos de Agua)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,253)
Filter reviews
2,253 results
Traveller rating
1,135
818
239
43
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,135
818
239
43
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsasian restaurantswim up barentertainment teammain restaurantthe grillself serviceasian nightwelcome meetingevening entertainmentbar staffgreat holidaymattress topperbehind the scenesfree safequiet poolplenty of choicewelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
882 - 887 of 2,253 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Without the staff employed in April 2014, this hotel would not be able to function throughout the summer. There are too many rooms for the amount of area including the grounds that the hotel occupies. When fully occupied, the hotel is too crowded. Apart from this, we had a lovely holiday. Everything was up to standard. However, the outside seating areas are separated from the lounging area. This is a pity because if you would rather sit on a chair than a sun lounger, there are none to be found. We were able to borrow two from the pool bar though. Again, the staff are the mainstay of the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 501 has a good view and faces the tennis courts and the pool
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patsypike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We flew out to Portugal last week (20th - 27th April) and had a great time at the ClubHotel Riu Guarana. I've been on All Inclusive holidays before and have quite often found myself feeling let down at the end of the holiday either because of the pool, food quality, lack of drinks, staff, cleanliness or just quality in general - but this time I'm happy to report that this was without question the best AI hotel that I've been to (and in context this was the 7th). The hotel was spotless (including the staff areas), the food was great (and even better if you took advantage of the grill / asian places at no extra cost), the staff were amazing (and always went out of their way to help AND all spoke good English), the scenery was beautiful (make sure that you walk down the steps and across the cliffs to the town) and the choice of drinks was really good as well (even though the bar team seemed slightly confused when you suggested new cocktails......Merengue with Gin - lovely). And with all of that stuff in mind - there are only a few LITTLE negative things to mention (which in context compared to the massive plus points are tiny).
The In House entertainment / animacion team was probably the best that I've come across. They were funny, open and genuinely wanted you to have a great time. The only things that let this side of things down though were the rigidness of the activity rota (the same activities clashed every day - especially in the afternoon) and that the evening entertainment was fantastic on the evenings that it was kept in house by the team but was truely awful on the two days in the week that it was outsourced to external groups (the musical duo on the Sunday evening was probably the worst hotel entertainment that I have ever come across - and that aside musically were a really bad fit for the age groups at the hotel). Entertainment also finished quite abruptly at 10pm every night which I didnt think was particuarly good especially if you had a later dinner. I completely appreciate that not everyone will go on holiday for the activities of entertainment - but I thought it was worth mentioning for those that do.

Two other little things that are worth mentioning are that 1: Our double bed was rock hard and quite uncomfortable and that 2: descriptions of the food werent that good meaning that if you've got food allergies (I'm allergic to mushrooms) you need to be careful.

Please bear in mind here that my negative points (bar the Sunday evening entertainment) are really small things compared to how good we found the hotel to be overall. We got back yesterday - and are already waiting for an offer to turn up so we can take advantage and book again. If you go - make sure that you take advantage of the tour that the entertainment team offer around the hotel. It offers a really fascinating insight into everything that goes on behind the scenes at the hotel - and I cant think of many places that would open themselves up like that.

Room Tip: Our double room on the first floor facing the pool had a really hard bed! Other than that I would imagine that if you were in the right side of the hotel (furthest from the coast) that it could get a bit noisier in the evenings because of the bar strip outside. Last thing to say is that I'd hope the AC gets better in the hot months - it was ok in April - but I'd definitely want it to be cranked up!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Ignore the sad bad reviews this place is a very good 4*,the food is cooked,presented and plenty of it.
The place inside and out is spotless
The staff are so polite and sincerely want you to enjoy your holiday,they cannot do enough for you.
The old town Albufeira is well worth a visit as is Villamore
Thompson transfer requires a lot of improvement as it was the worst we have ever had any place, we use Thompson holidays 3/4 times a year but I think they are starting to become complacent so will probably start to try other operators again.

Room Tip: End rooms are quieter as some guests think they are the only ones there.We had 380 nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C-Kenny-m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just stayed for a week at the Riu Guarana and thoroughly enjoyed the break. The rooms were spotlessly clean, as were the hotel grounds. All staff were friendly and accommodating and very willing to help in any way..
The food we found a little
repetitive, but with so many choices each night, that didn't really pose a problem..
The entertainment team worked hard day and night to keep everyone amused and they were always there with a smile encouraging you to join in, but without being pushy .. Once they knew it was one of my daughter's birthdays, they at once acted on that, inviting her onto the stage at night to receive her birthday bottle of bubbly , making the evening special.
We made some good friends along the way at this friendly relaxing hotel and would very much have liked to have stayed longer and made some more !!!!
Great hotel...
Great holiday...
Highly recommend it..

Gill Massey
Spalding

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillMassey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

the staff are extremely helpful and friendly hotel clean and the food was good the grounds are well kept overall could not fault the hotel looking forward to going back this is definately a place to relax and chill out

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews