We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed from the 8th till the 15th of June! On arrival we was welcomed with orange and sweets! Very friendly and very helpful reception staff. Are room was ready about 13.30, so we had lunch first which was very enjoyable! The food is lovely, from pasta, salad, fish, seafood, meat, pizza, garlic bread and chips. Also loads of fruit which was yummy and icecream. We ate around 8.00pm every night as the busiest time is 6.30 to 7.45. The grill is the nicest bat very much recommended my boyfriend loved their tuna stakes, and there fish is amazing specially the prawns! We spent most of the time by the pool, the quiet pool is recommend! If you want a sunbed get up around 8.00. If people have placed towels on sunbeds just tell staff and they will move towels as people aren't allowed to reserve sunbeds! The beach is lovely although it's a long way down! We only went once but worth a look. We went on the dolphin and cave tour for 35 euros. It was amazing and i recommend anyone to go! We saw 100s of dolphins was such an amazing experience. At night the entertainment is very much set up for children so we went down the road to the oasis bar which serve great cocktails and watched the football on their screens they also have live bands and a dance floor! At the hotel if you ask they give you free bottles of water! The spa is also amazing and very relaxing! Over all we had a lovely and would defiantly go back again :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VanessaAndJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    689
    211
    38
    15
See reviews for
780
901
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Riu Guarana from 5th June for 1 week. We have stayed at Riu hotels before and everything was as we expected from a Riu. The check in was quick and efficient even though there were quite a few checking in, we were even offered a drink. The room we had, on the first floor over looked the car park which was not a major issue for us. It was clean and well maintained. However the beds were rock hard but we asked at reception for a mattress topper which corrected this. The management greeted you when you went into the restaurant which was nice, we always managed to find a seat , the restaurant team were all lovely. We ate at the Grill and the Asian restaurant one night each which made a nice change and was a little less frantic. There were plenty of sunbeds and parasols. The entertainment was basically just the Riu Entertainment team and it was more geared for kids. It would have been nice to have had a few more outside acts. The major problem for us was that there was only the one bar available in an evening which was where the entertainment took place which disappointing. Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

stayed from 5th June for 7 nights celebrating our Ruby Wedding. The staff were helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived. They genuinely wanted you to enjoy your holiday. The management team were there to greet you as you went for breakfast and were there to greet you again in the evening. The restaurant staff were so efficient and there was always plenty of choice. The bar staff were so funny and you only needed to tell them your order once. The entertainment team worked so hard and some of their shows were fantastic, our favourite being The Crazy Show. We've never laughed so much. The pool area was spotless and there was plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. We requested a room overlooking the pool on a high floor and that is exactly what we got. The room was roomy and spotless with a fantastic view. The hotel was also in a fantastic location for visiting Faro and Albuferia with a great local bus service. A visit to Loule and Villamoura is also not to be missed. All in all we couldn't fault a thing and enjoyed a great holiday.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor overlooking the pool. Room 515. Excellent views and got the sun late aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

When we left this hotel, we were asked to complete a feedback form and we ticked all the excellent boxes across the board. This was because everything was faultless. The cleanliness, the food, the staff, the room were all great. The pool was spotless and the water tested daily. There were plenty of beds and brollies. A couple of minor maintenance issues in the room were attended to almost before I got back to the room. One pool was quieter than the other. The hotel is not sited on the beach or sea side but behind the hotel, there is a stairway down to a beautiful beach (however, there are 260 steps back up).
A couple of issues, though. The "cocktails" are essentially premixed slush drinks. Although the food is good ( and hot if you wait for the chef to refresh the dishes), the dining experience is a bit of a dogfight to get seated and get your food. The dining hall gets very crowded. The grill room is slightly better but the food is essentially the same - but you don't pay extra.
There is a free bus to a shopping mall and a taxi to town is only E10.

Room Tip: I would think a high room looking towards the sea would be preferable. We had a family room which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettySwallocks69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

stayed 15th may for 10 nts. We have stayed in a few riu hotels, but this one certainly didnt tick all the boxes. The staff, from reception to bar staff were good, the hotel layout was good, the room was fine, after that we go downhill. With only one bar ( pool) open during the day, this closed at 6pm, then the concert room bar opened.
Every night except for two nights, the animation team came on the stage. Coupled with kiddies on and off the stage from 6.00 till gone 11.00 (by the way,we like kids) the overall noise level was far too loud. There is no other bar or bar area inside the hotel to escape to. The drinks were, apart from the lager, pretty weak, ie Browns gin, whisky etc and a dodgy looking type of Baileys. On the upside, if you want to detox, dont go to a health farm, stay here !! food the consisted of cheap cuts of meat (various), but they did have a pasta station and we felt there were pretty good salad selections,but overall we felt the food was disappointing. Of all the Riu,s we have previously stayed ,they have been very good but the Guarana was a massive let down. to sum up we found this hotel to be lacking in the food and drink area, with a total disregard for people who may like to be provided with an alternative.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnyjim444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutton coldfield, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The main restaurant and two speciality restaurants are all buffet style with no waiter service. I would also not regard a grill as being a speciality restaurant.You help yourself to wine and beer.Tables are cleared promptly. Food was generally good although limited soup choice.
All hotel staff were very friendly.
Sun loungers in plentiful supply but may not be the case in peak periods.
Hotel well decorated and our bathroom seemed to be new.
Lots of activities for young children.
Surprisingly no shop in hotel.
Evening entertainment varied in quality.High energy dancing and miming to music.They made a real mess of Grease the musical.
The theatre is very poor as there are large pillars which severely affect the viewing.
Ten minute stroll to a small beach and a few shops and bars.
Many trips at the travel shop opposite the hotel which are much cheaper than those offered by Thomson.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms in the building incorporating the theatre get the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0121golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel and our check in was pretty good and clear.

The staff all round are helpful although we were lied to a couple of times by the receptionists when in need of a cork opener and also about a ball we lost on the complex which we retrieved ourselves.

The hotel itself was clean as well as the rooms which were made new every 2 days.

Food at this hotel is nothing special whatsoever. It's near enough the same every day. I've never eaten so much potatoes in my life. Very repetitive.

Wi-Fi was accessible in the lobby and you could use it for 90 mins daily which is more than enough, but once you log back out after 10 mins for example you could not use the remaining 80 mins so you would have to wait till the day after for your next 90 mins or pay €2 daily which we found was a bit ridiculous as we have not experienced this on previous holidays.

In pool bar was closed which was quite disappointing as well during our 7 nights stay.

All in all wouldn't really go back to this hotel again as there have been better in our past. Not what we expected to be honest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sham1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.2 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
863 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,183 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Property: ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos D'Agua - Algarve, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Guarana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2017. Located in Olhos d'Agua in the Algarve. 6-Storey main building and 2-storey annex building. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel Riu Palace Algarve is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Albufeira
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Hotel Albufeira
ClubHotel Riu Guarana Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing