We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an excellent week!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an excellent week!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a one-week All Inclusive stay and it was a fantastic holiday on all counts. The hotel is excellently situated within easy reach of some local shops, bars and restaurants, not that you needed anything else to occupy your stay!

I have read many reviews from people who have stayed here and agree with some of the comments, like the hard beds, tightly packed sun-beds and no English TV.... However, these are minor things and some of them are solvable if you let the hotel know. I had an issue with the shower being lose on the wall in the bathroom, I told reception and it was fixed within 24 hours.

I had also read previous reviews regarding broken/uncomfortable sun-beds. I can only assume the Management Team had taken notice of this feedback as whilst I was there they replaced approximately half of them! I should think they will be replacing the rest in due course.

The choice and quality of food was also excellent. Catering for a full hotel can't be easy but they make this look effortless!

I have also read lots of comments around the Entertainment team, mostly which are, in my opinion, fairly harsh. Whilst the acts may not be polished to 'cruise ship' standard, the team work extremely hard doing what they do.

All the staff work in excess of 10 hours a day, from daytime activities, to tours of the hotel, to rehearsals for the shows plus additional responsibilities and ad-hoc classes arranged at the request of guests. They do all this and then still have to organise and clean all their own outfits for their numerous shows!

I would like to personally thank Mike and his team for their passion, enthusiasm and dedication. It was a pleasure to watch them entertain all ages and still remain happy and pleasant on very little rest or free time - thank you.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    687
    211
    38
    15
See reviews for
779
900
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was our 6th year at the Guarana and although we still really enjoy this hotel, there are a number of improvements required. For example, the shower in the bathroom was inadequate with little to no power. The mattresses - as mentioned by a previous reviewer - were very hard and uncomfortable. Not that we wanted to watch a lot of TV, but there was no BBC or ITV channels - this has changed from the past, when British TV channels were available.
Around the pool, there are not enough parasols.
Food and drink are both good, especially the range of desserts. As always, the service was excellent and we have no complaints there. The staff were all helpful and friendly - first rate.
Having visited here for 6 years now, we feel that the hotel needs some love and attention (and money) spending on it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just returned from Riu Guarana and let me tell you how great it was! First I want to get rid of the negatives: the food variety at times was not that great and the quality was okay, the free WI-FI was horrible, and last but not least some people appeared a bit stand-offish. Aside from this, the cleanliness was great! The staff was very curious, engaging, and careful. There are shows for almost everday of the week. I got to hangout with one of the performers (just me and him, no one else), and this is a very popular hotel that everybody knows in town. Tourist coach buses come to the hotel like no problem. Beside the hotel, a nice street full of shops that leads to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetraveling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Fab hotel lovely service the only thing wrong was the beds are quite hard and I was looking forward to getting home for a decent nights sleep!! Food is lovely and lots of variety would defo return again for a long weekend break but couldn't stay longer than 4 days if the beds don't get changed!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelz7683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just returned from 10 day holiday at this hotel. Super welcome from Staff and Thomson rep Phil. Hotel room good size, very clean and modern, but beds very uncomfortable even after topper was put underneath mattress.
Food in restaurant excellent with a large variety at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Grill restaurant especially excellent.
Staff very friendly, and no queuing at the bar both day and night. Excellent service on collecting glasses and cleaning tables.
Swimming pools are good and are not overcrowded in both smaller and bigger pool. But sunbeds became like sardines in can as the week got busier. However no problem getting a sunbed providing you were up early enough!
Location of Hotel is in a quite resort, with the pebbly, small beach being 10 minutes down the road. Be aware of taxi expenditure around local area especially at night.
Entertainment by the entertainment team both day and evening, is geared to young families and older generations. Nothing for teenagers! Low budget entertainment made the evening a long night.
Overall we had a good holiday, just the hotel needs to refresh the entertainment to bring it more up to date.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank g00gleb0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned home after two weeks in this hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean, staff helpful and friendly, rooms spacious and comfortable. The evening shows were ok and the entertainment staff work very hard on these. To see the show you have to get there early because of shortage of seats due to the fact that there were so many children and pushchairs, despite the fact that there was children's entertainment early on in the evening. An adults only area with entertainment would be ideal.
The hotel is Situated quite a distance away from the beach so everyone stayed around the pools and we were packed in like sardines, no chance of moving your sun bed and if you left it for any length of time it could be taken by someone else!
The food was ok, plenty of choice but because the hotel was so busy and crowded sometimes you had to queue to get in the restaurant.
We have stayed at many Riu hotels over the years and this is one we will not unfortunately be returning to because of it being so overcrowded.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smudge817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just returned after a week's holiday with 2 teenage children. Hotel very clean and well maintained, rooms fine - we asked for 2 adjoining rooms and got them, food and drink VERY plentiful with lots to choose from, bars and public areas nice - lovely flowers around the edges of the paths etc. Gym and indoor pool fine. Evening entertainment .... entertaining, even the awful karaoke. However the main pool area seemed cramped and was very crowded -though we were there in peak time. It is worth walking down to the beach for a bit more space. Town itself nothing special. Lovely 3 mile walk along beach to Villamora (taxi back!). Saturday trip to Loule market was worthwhile though we booked through the tourist office in town which was half the price of the hotel trip.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main block overlooking the road. It was a bit noisy and kept us awake the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen1657605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.2 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,008 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Property: ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos D'Agua - Algarve, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Guarana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2017. Located in Olhos d'Agua in the Algarve. 6-Storey main building and 2-storey annex building. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel Riu Palace Algarve is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Albufeira
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Hotel Albufeira
ClubHotel Riu Guarana Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing