We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for young families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for young families”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at this RIU hotel. It is a typical 4* All Inclusive. Very clean, rooms excellent apart from hard mattresses (mattress toppers were provided upon request). Bathrooms good, plenty of power in the shower. Fiddly individual shampoo/shower gel sachets - take your own! Hair dryer adequate although it cut out after about 2 minutes. The towels are ready for replacing, but fine. Pool towels can be changed daily, and the sunbeds were good. Never had to queue for food or drinks. Initially I was a bit disappointed that we had to serve ourselves for all drinks - even in the dining room, but after a day could appreciate why - it seemed to work well. The food was very good, no complaints at all. The staff are all dedicated and willing to please, all were happy and even the managements were regularly out and about.
The hotel was full, and the sunbeds were crammed in, but again, we never had a problem and always managed to find some. Night Entertainment was average, but very good for the children.
This hotel is an excellent choice for families with young children, and even though there is entertainment on throughout the day we were never hassled to join in, and the pool nearer the hotel was nice and quiet.

Wi-fi is terrible. My daughters went daily for a drink at a nearby bar for the free use of the wi-fi, as you only get 90 mins continuous use in a day, in the reception, which is full of people for their daily fix!

To summarise, it delivers what it says. We loved the location too, in a little fishing village, with just enough bars and shops, not too commercialised.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Loobylou1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    731
    225
    41
    16
See reviews for
836
954
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed for a week at the Riu Guarana from July 27th and had a lovely holiday. I did email before hand to request any upgrades and got a really nice reply back to say that it was not guarenteed but they would try. Upon arrival our room was lovely and absolutely spotless! Great views of the sea and pool and was told by our Thompson rep that it was the best room in the hotel.
Our rooms were cleaned every day to the highest standards and we had no problem at all getting a good sunbed, no need to get up early, people do reserve them yes, but we never had an issue in getting good sunbeds.
The entertainment team work tirelessly and seem to never go home! But always had a smile on their faces and encouraged people to join in. Overall fab holiday althought I would recommend taking a cardigan or something for the night time as it is quite windy and cold, it might have just been the week I was there but I was totally not prepared for it!
Highly recommend the dolphin driven excursion it's amazing xx

Room Tip: Email before arrival Use the local regular bus service, your rep with give you all the info Chilly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireandDanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrybridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

After being together for almost 3 years, this was our first holiday together, just the two of us, as boyfriend and girlfriend. We decided to go All Inclusive so we knew that we were going to have decent food every single day, a decent room to stop in, and that we would not need much money to save up to spend whilst we were there. After looking at many hotels in various destinations, the Riu Guarana was chosen. Our expectations of the hotel were met and also exceeded in certain areas.

THE GOOD:
- The cleanliness of the hotel was remarkable. There was never any rubbish outside near the pools, the restaurants were all spotless, the rooms were cleaned on a daily basis to a high standard (must give a shoutout to our maid Clara who was fantastic!).
- The staff were extremely friendly and made you feel welcome at all times. The hotel manager introduced all his heads of staff at our Welcome Meeting which was a fantastic idea as you never know how much effort goes in to running a hotel this size.
- The Animation team were brilliant. I know a lot of people on here have complained about them miming during their shows but 1) They're foreign, would you want the singing in a different language you didn't understand? 2) Their shows are basically a mickey-take of a variety of songs - as the choice of songs, costumes and acting showed. The miming added to the comedy value.
- The food was cooked and prepared freshly in front of you which is a fantastic idea. The variety of food was delicious and there was so much food that I had tried whilst here that I would never had tried before.
- The free water that was handed out was a brilliant idea - especially if you were planning a trip to the beach where food & drink was scarce!
- At 21 and 24, we wanted a drink somewhere else away from children just to chill out. We found a bar opposite the hotel where they were showing the Super League and European Athletics Championships = bonus for us both!! We also found an English pub in the village further down the road which was very quaint.

THE NOT SO GOOD:
- Despite the food being good, the repetitiveness of it all was too much - even after only 1 week!! It would be a good idea to have themed nights and not just themed restaurants I.e. Mexican night, Italian night.
- I know you don't go on holiday to go on the internet, but getting in touch with family back home via Facebook etc. was much easier than spending on texts! The wifi however was extremely slow, only viable in the reception area and only 90mins was allowed per 24 hours - all of which used in one session. Possibility of free wifi in all rooms, 24/7??
- The beach was described as a 10 minute walk away. Which it was, if you were a champion stair walker/climber!!! There were 3 ways to get to the beach. Firstly, turning left out the hotel and down the hill and in to the little fishing village. Although a nice walk and a seeing the village with shops and restaurants, the beach itself was tiny with very little room. Secondly, we were told to turn right out of the hotel and walk through the grounds of another hotel on the complex. The steps down to the beach were large and concrete (5 mins). At the bottom of the steps, there was a walk to the beach (through parked cars which was awkward! 5 mins). Once you got to the beach, there were only certain areas you could sit if you had a parasol, or didn't have your own sunbed (queue another 5-10 minute walk). The steps back up to the hotel was a nightmare - even for 21 year old heptathlete & 24 year old rugby player, this was challenging! Good luck to any families with pushchairs or any disabled residents!! On the third time, we found the steps that were on the photos on the Riu website and on Google. Being made out if wood and of normally height, we decided to walk down. Until we got half way on the cliff, and they just stopped. You then had to walk over loads of rocks, through bushes and trees, before hitting more rocks and finally the beach. Such a hazard!!!!
- There was no coffee/tea making facilities in the room so if you wanted a drink in the morning or late at night, there was nothing. You had to walk to the nearest bar (outside the pool) to get a drink. For us, this was down 6 flights of stairs, through the lobby, down more stairs, and back again! (Claustrophobic so don't take lifts!). Would be nice to have kettle etc. in the rooms.

Overall, we did have a great time at the Riu Guarana. It was a very special first holiday for us and we thank all the team for our lovely stay. We will more than likely be coming again!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heptathlete1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

By far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It was Spotlessly clean in every area, there were excellent facilities and catered from all ages, the food was wonderful with loads of choice across two restaurants. EVERY member of staff was friendly and helpful. The evening entertainment was always professionally done and wee worth watching.

Room Tip: Views over the pool probably better than over the front of the hotel but none were noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Hotel Brilliant, Friendliest people in the world. Food first class.
A long difficult trek to the beach. Bed very firm. Carpeted room so quiet at all times no chair scratching noises in a morning . Entertainment a bit Euro !! " Special Show" etc
Very Amateur ! But a nice place. Ohh ! And no football shirt wearing types !! Nice .

Room Tip: Would say all good ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
u.k
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just returned .. Had a lovely time..3 teenagers my friend and I.
Pool is very crowded with lots of young children but it is August! The activities during the day were fab something for everyone..especially loved Alix and his aqua aerobics ...
Drinks the norm all inc as was the food good but bit samey and bland... but the Asian restaurant was a nice change.
Beds were very uncomfy..rooms adequate. Lovely walk into village sardine festival was interesting.
Staff fabulous so helpful and friendly...
All in all a lovely holiday where we could of stayed longer....to please 3 teenagers is difficult but they had a brilliant time!

Room Tip: Pool view....All Floors are carpeted so it's quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shorrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We recently visited this hotel for a family holiday that included one 7 year old and one 9 month old children together with 6 adults ,age ranges 34to61.
Hotel was clean and well kept, reception was excellent, room service when used was quick and efficient, the pool areas, whilst a little crowded (you need to get towels on early or you are out if luck) were great for adults and children alike, animation staff not pushy however some of the entertainment at night was a little below expectations.
Food was plentiful but towards end of our 11 nights became a little repetitive.
Drinks not branded but ok , the hotel well deserves 4stars we have been in 5 star establishments that do not meet this hotels standards. Would go again but perhaps not in main weeks, but this was our choice this time. Family room my children had was a little cramped however.
Recommended

Room Tip: Rear view 5th floor for quiet room and sea view past adjacent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graleen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
946 reviews
19.0 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
983 reviews
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Guarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Guarana

Property: ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Address: Quinta do Milharo | Olhos D'Agua - Algarve, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 08200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Guarana 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2017. Located in Olhos d'Agua in the Algarve. 6-Storey main building and 2-storey annex building. 15 Minutes' walk from Praia da Falesia beach. Access to a small cove from the hotel Riu Palace Algarve is via cliff side steps (an approximate 10 minute walk). 8 Km from Albufeira. 500 M from various shops. 35 Km from the airport. 500 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Guarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Albufeira
Clubhotel Riu Guarana Hotel Albufeira
ClubHotel Riu Guarana Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing