We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aqua-Mar Aparthotel(Olhos de Agua)
US$592
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Falesia Garden by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clube Maria Luisa(Olhos de Agua)
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clube Humbria by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$340/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Falesia Mar by 3HB(Olhos de Agua)
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas d'Agua(Olhos de Agua)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agua Marinha(Olhos de Agua)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,324)
Filter reviews
2,324 results
Traveller rating
1,174
842
245
45
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,174
842
245
45
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsasian restaurantswim up barentertainment teammain restaurantthe grillevening entertainmentself servicefree safewelcome meetingbar staffpool towelsplenty of sunbedsbehind the scenesgreat holidaywaiter servicequiet poolplenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 2,324 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Just returned from this lovely place. Cannot find any fault in this lovely hotel. Staff are so helpful and pleasant and obviously enjoy their work. The management are on hand all of the time, even at meal times making sure everything is running smoothly. The beach is accessible by steps down the cliff top daunting at first but well worth the effort. Our rep Angelo at the hotel was excellent, really enthusiastic about his job, would go back to this hotel with no hesitation. Portugal is wonderful, first time there, but will return.

1  Thank Rosalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Just returned with my husband from a weeks stay at the clubhotel Riu Guarana, this hotel is situated in In what can only be described as a small village with a few shops bars & restaurants access to the beach is via 350 steps down a cliff side ..or via a path 5 minutes away to a small cove sea needless to say is cold!! With regard to the hotel itself it is large spotlessly clean, room was a good size & would appear to have recently been refurbished & was in excellent condition free safe & fridge. There a great number of sun beds with parasols & we had no issue finding a sun bed although around the larger of the two pools it was very cramped. The entertainment team work very hard filling the day with various activities if you are into that sort of thing, My score of average is down to two things the location (as already stated not much in Olhos D'Agua) but mainly the food in the hotel which we found to be lacking in variety pork is the staple diet it would seem one night we had what was described as "pork loin" "pork ribs" & "pig" if you are a pork lover this is the hotel for you. There is an Asian & Grill restaurant which run alternatively over two night periods something you have to book at reception to attend ... again the food is nothing to write home about. To sum up the weather was fantastic our holiday was ok but we would not return for the reasons mentioned i.e. Location & food

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guarana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear guest,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate the opportunity to respond. Since our main priority is to make our customers feel comfortable, we are glad to read that liked the room you stayed in and highlighted the cleanliness.

On the other hand, we do hope you will understand that it is difficult for us to comment on individual tastes or opinions, when the majority of customers do appear to be satisfied with the overall quality of the food offered. Therefore, it is important to inform you that we do check daily our food offer and quality in our specialty restaurants where we provide a wide selection of dishes catering for all tastes.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you again at one of our RIU hotels in order to deliver the high standards of guest service and quality which are typical at our resorts.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Online Reputation Manager
RIU.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Everything we needed and more!! We went all inclusive as all we wanted to do was relax for the week and that's exactly what we did!
Beautiful hotel close to all hotels and bars. Beautiful walk to the beach via the wooden steps.....idyllic!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank amandaeveritt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

This was a return visit together with friends which we met during our stay in 2016. Our refurbished family room overlooking the large pool was lovely and very quiet at night despite being over the disco. The new flat screened TV's are great but we would have liked a BBC news channel. The hygiene in the hotel is of a very high standard and the staff at all levels are friendly and work incredibly hard. We used the small pool and our only complaint was the use of inflatables despite a notice to the contrary and on mentioning this to a member of the management team we were told that they have to be "flexible". Sun beds were always available. The food was of a high standard but very repetitive this year and some of our favourites were missing. We tend to eat salad at lunch time but there was a lack of cold cuts or cold fish to have with it. Didn't see a sardine once during our stay. We have also enjoyed the poached fruit in the past but this appeared once. During the early part of our holiday the main restaurant at times was over loaded but as occupancy decreased this of course lessened. The grill bar, which was a refuge from the noise and chaos in the main restaurant at breakfast, was sadly closed during the latter part of our stay. We are not big fans of the evening entertainment and like to sit outside and chat to our friends but there was always a shortage of chairs and tables unless you got there early. We experienced this last year too. We went to the magnificent beach everyday. It is just a short walk away unfortunately uphill on the way back but well worth a visit and if you go via the village route you can meander through the friendly bars and shops. We are seasoned travellers and have stayed at several RIU Hotels in the past in different countries but came away this time feeling that sadly RIU are cutting corners and don't think we will be returning to this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrsGsnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We started our holiday after the kids had gone back to school, thank goodness. There were about 5% kids which was just about right for us. It seems to cater well for the little ones and those who want a quieter holiday can sun bathe around another pool which is peaceful.
The atmosphere seemed to be about having a lively time but there is absolutely no pressure to get involved.
On arrival we found the reception to be well organised and friendly.
Our room was on the fourth floor facing the pool, very nice too.

The good
- They have just completed a €4M Room refurbishment so the rooms were very nice and well appointed for its star rating.
- The pool and communal area's were very nice. Decent sun beds too.
- Staff at all times were brilliant in all their duties.
- The entertainment, done by the staff, was surprisingly good.
- The reception staff were helpful and friendly.
- The reception meeting, I rarely attend these, was excellent. Best I've ever experienced. The rep even took us on a guided tour of the resort.

Not so good
- The pool was cold as with all European Riu's
- The bar staff were good but the spirits and wines were not top brands.
- The dining experience was frenetic and at times overwhelming, that's the nature of buffet style service. Food was ok with a good choice.
- The dress code for the evening meal was more relaxed, i.e. Short trousers permitted, which was comprehensively abused by some guests. Beach wear is not suitable attire for an evening meal. I wore tailored short trousers and a short sleeved collared shirt.
- didn't really gel with the surrounding area although the beach front looked good.

Conclusion
Will I return, sadly not. The Club style Riu hotels are not for us. Also there was not enough to see and do outside the hotel complex. If a lively club style child friendly holiday is your choice then this would be ideal for you.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dinkyLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Guarana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel in Algarve and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Since our main priority is to make our customers feel comfortable, we are glad to read that liked the room you stayed in and highlighted our entertainment staff.

Even though all guests are welcome at this hotel, perhaps you would like to choose one of our “Adults Only” properties that have been specially designed for couples for your next holiday in order to better satisfy your needs.

We hope to see you again in RIU so that you can enjoy the quality, service and attention that define our hotels.

With our best wishes we remain,

ClubHotel Riu Guarana
Online Reputation Manager
RIU.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews