We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua-Mar Aparthotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Aqua-Mar Aparthotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect location for a family holiday.

Firstly it's located across from the Oasis bar and shop and only 5 mins walk from the beach and main restraunts in the town. It's a ten min walk from the supermarket. Ten and fifteen euro respectively get you a taxi to the centre of albuferia or vilamoura

The rooms are large, modern, well equipped and spotlessly clean. They are cleaned each day and all areas of the hotel look like new.

The pool is quiet with plenty of beds and a small pool for toddlers, it's perfect for young families. There is a bar but it isn't staffed but the staff from reception will come down and serve you.

For a perfect location for a family holiday aquamar is a brilliant setup.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciaranbowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    57
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
51
76
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here in August 2013. Great location for the beach and plenty of good restaurants within walking distance. \The apartments are very spacious and comfortable. The only draw back is that the balconies are small with not much sun getting onto them. The public areas were always very clean and tidy. Nothing to do with the hotels but a taxi to Aqualand is 45 euros with hotel to airport times being about 45 minutes. Taxi to old Albaferia was less than 10 euros.

Room Tip: Did here some complaints from people staying in non pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcock, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

stayed here for a 10 days in mid june with my husband and child, apartments are very well fitted out, loads of space and v clean. Apts were cleaned daily with fresh towels every day n linen changed once a week. We had a room facing out onto the car park with a small balcony that didn't really get sun I would recommend the upper level pool view rooms if you want a sunny balcony, its worth paying a bit extra. Aqua mar has 3 pools two large pools n 1 small kids pool all kept very well. as the complex is small the pool area never gets over crowded.
olhos de agua is a great spot for families I would highly recommend this hotel and the area. apt located 5mins walk from beach and you have restaurants n bars at the front of the complex.

Room Tip: upper level poolside rooms have best balconys n they get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Arrived on the 24th June, Olhos de Agua is only half an hour from the airport. The Aqua Mar is a small hotel, only about 30 rooms and is very quiet and peaceful, which fits nicely in with the resort as a whole in the main. It has 2 floors, the ground floor and then a lower floor that offers access to the pool area. We had a room on the ground floor which suited us as we had a push chair so no messing with the lift each day (though as the hotel is so small and only has two floors calling the lift was never an issue when we needed it to go down to the pool).

The room is very spacious and had a large bathroom with a bath, a shower in the bath and also a separate shower cubicle (we had an end room, 216, the bathroom was bigger than our friends next door who didn't have the separate shower cubicle), a large kitchen and a living room. It had 2 balconies, one off the bedroom and a smaller one off the living room. It was well decorated in a contemporary, modern and tasteful style.

There were two single beds in the bedroom and a sofa bed in the living room (a single). The hotel provided an extra fold-up single bed for us and a cot, both at no extra charge.

There was free remote-controlled air-conditioning in both the living room and the bedroom. The kitchen has a microwave, a kettle, built-in hobs, fridge (with ice box) and a toaster plus crockery, cutlery, pans etc.

It is a short stroll to the beach, no more than 10 minutes. The beach is quite small and can get busy especially later on in the day when the tide starts to come in and the beach gets smaller (but by then we had retired to the hotel pool).

The hotel has two pools plus a small toddlers pool. The two pools are quite deep for kids (my kids are only 5 and 7) as they cannot touch the floor. This didn't seem to bother them though!

Olhos de Agua is small and quiet but has a good selection of restaurants. We ate somewhere different every night and were never disappointed with the food. It is certainly not a place full of young, Club 18-30 types which I saw as a plus as I have three little boys and was just after a peaceful, relaxing holiday (well, as relaxing as it can be with three little boys!). It's certainly more suited to those with families who can do without the noise of a louder resort. Albufeira up the road can cater for that.

One thing that might annoy some people is that our room, 216, was at the end and had a window overlooking the road at the side that also has a bar across the other side that was quite loud sometimes, but not overly so. And it was only really noticeable if sleeping on the sofabed in the living room.

On a few occasions we needed to ask for something from reception and both times it was dealt with quickly.

I had a lovely time with friends and family in Olhos de Agua and couldn't really ask for more from the Aqua-Mar and would gladly return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end have a larger bathroom and extra shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Very pesantly surprised.

We stayed at the Aqua-Mar for 7 nights, the apartment (210) itself was very large & clean. It was well equipped, 2 balconies, bedroom, bathroom & kitchen. I'd certainly recommend getting a poolside view (clean pools, little chap cleaned them every morning), certainly worth paying the extra - no noise from the main street & sun late in the afternoon. Centrally located in the village, 5 minute stroll to the beach, lots of good restaurants around. All the staff seem very chilled.

Only a few small groans:
Could of done with a toaster.
Bathroom needs better lighting.
Bed could of been softer.
A kettle that switches itself off.

We've been going to Olhos for around 9 years & you'd be hard pushed to find something of this size & quality for the price they charge anywhere else in the village. We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Poolside, rooms next to reception have a good WIFI signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 917PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Just returned from six nights at the Aqua Mar and really enjoyed it, apartments are huge and very modern, rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels left, hotel room was very well equiped with tv, dvd player, iron, toaster, kettle, microwave etc. Hotel was very quiet and we had six peaceful nights sleep, lovely little park for the kids on site, pool area lovely, pool itself was freezing but great size, great location, 5 mins walk down hill to beach, taxi stand close to hotel so really handy for travelling into albuferia old and new town, very reasonable taxi fares. We would definitely recommend this apart hotel and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chewitt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Just returned from a 4 nights stay at Aqua Mar and have to say that we had a brilliant time!

We arrived earlier than check-in (Faro airport is about 40 mins away) but our room was ready so we went down to settle in.

The room was amazing and probably the nicest apartment of this kind i've seen, good size bathroom with twin basins, large kitchen and seperate lounge/diner with large tv and dvd, the decor is bright and modern and has everything you could need. Unfortunately we were on the lower level with a view of a sloping ramp that went down to a carpark, this made it seem like we were in a basement and made the apartment dark, we live in rainy Manchester and as we only had 4 nights in Portugal we definately wanted to make the most of the gorgeous weather so we asked if we could move and luckily (maybe as it was out of season) we were moved to room 210 which over looked the pool and was south facing. We could get wifi in the room as we were next to reception but not sure you would in any of the other rooms but there are lovely sofa's in reception were you could do your internetting if needed.

The pool was great with plenty of loungers etc, it would have been lovely if the pool had been heated as in April it was freezing but sure it would be perfect during the summer months.

There is a bar which was never manned during our stay and again maybe this was due to it being out of season but the prices seemed a little expensive (a coffee was 2 euros but if you went to one of the many local cafes you could get an espresso for as little as 60cents) but guess you are paying for the convienience, if you ask on reception someone will get you a drink.

I also noticed that there was a tiny gym...if thats what you wanted to do on your holidays!

The only thing that I didnt like about Aqua Mar was the cleaner who did ignore our 'do not disturb sign'. I know that some people may love getting their towels changed everyday but it would have been great if you could 'opt' out of this as we are mindful of eco tourism and you really dont need your towels changing every day but the cleaner wouldnt take no for an answer and would still go into the room when we were not there and change everything.
I do also wonder if the hotel recycles as we managed to acquire quite a few bottles and cans during the four nights we were there but there are recycle bins just down the road and we took the bottles ourselves but it would be nice to know that if we had left them that the hotel would have also recycled for us but it was really not a problem to just do it ourselves.

Olhos d'aqua is a quiet place but that is exactly what we needed, we did go to nearby Albufeira on a local bus that took about 15mins for 2,20 euros (a taxi is about 10 euros) it was horrible! so tacky and 'the strip' is horrendous, loud, brash full of stag do's, if you have a little explore though you will find some lovely places in the old town.

I have to mention that the beaches are completely stunning! They are spotlessly clean and are so pretty with ochre coloured cliffs that being spring were covered in gorgeous flowers. We did actually walk along the beach one day all the way to Albufeira which was brilliant if a little challenging at times (wear good shoes) it took us about 6 hours but that was stopping off for drinks/lunch/swim and it was a great day out. You can walk along parts of the cliff which has some railings and a few benches along the top if you need a rest.

I would definately recommend this hotel as a good value for money holiday in the sun. We booked via booking.com and got an amazing deal of 4 nights for 80euros which is a complete bargain! Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank discomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.2 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
0.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#20 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Falesia Mar
Luna Falesia Mar
#5 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua-Mar Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua-Mar Aparthotel

Property: Aqua-Mar Aparthotel
Address: Rua 25 de Abril, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-647, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua-Mar Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and TravelUp so you can book your Aqua-Mar Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua-Mar Aparthotel Hotel Olhos De Agua
Aqua-Mar Aparthotel Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing