We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect start to our holiday.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Cantina

A Cantina
Ranked #29 of 48 Restaurants in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Like a previous review we we stopped by Melanie outside the restaurant offering a 10% discount if paying by cash or a free bottle of wine! Lovely Portuguese vegetable soup to start, I had codfish chef style and my wife had swordfish, both were excellent, we both had a dessert with tea and coffee and two rather large brandies. The atmosphere was great as was the service, I am writing this whilst still in Portugal as we are going back to have the steak on the stone which looked spectacular. Highly recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RFS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    46
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

came to A cantina after being persuaded by a lovely lady outside to try it out, have to say it was one of the best meals ive had since being here , definitely recommended

Helpful?
2 Thank Loxley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Went a couple of times on holiday. Would really recommend it and would suggest you have the steak on the stone as a main course .Service and surroundings are excellent,

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bphannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we have visited!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have been to Balaia a few times now, and this is by far the best restaurant we have ate at. Superb food and very helpful staff. They even arranged a birthday table for us! We are returning to Balaia again this year and will be visiting A Cantina again. Have recommended them to all our friends! Looking forward to June!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pet1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Super food and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Attached to a hotel but daily table d'hote good value and sufficient choice for most palates. Outside terrace is open but covered and restful. Staff attentive and efficient. Enjoy

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank daddyjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Cantina also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to A Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing