We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is only one.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of O'Licorne

O'Licorne
Ranked #14 of 50 Restaurants in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“There is only one.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We used Tripadvisor to search out some decent local restaurants and this came high on the local lists. Seeing as we are partial to an Indian, we gave it a try. Not very well signposted, but easy enough to find, just off the main road from Olhos DeAgua to Vilamore.
We never have starters as popadoms are enough for us, and whilst they were fine, no lime pickle. Disappointing.
Our mains were plentiful and tasty though. Lamb bhuna for me with mushroom rice, peshwari naan and cheese and spinach and a lovely chickpea dish. The Mrs had coconut chicken, pilau and the same sides. There was vast quantities and as a suggestion, the rice is generous, as are the sides, so don"t over order.
Second disappointment, no Gulab Jaman, the wife's favourite. We know it goes off quickly, but you'd think they make a little for every night. There were three tables in, including us on a Thursday!!
We had a final drink which was equalled by a free one, on the house. Very generous measures too.
Two people, totally stuffed with beautiful Indian fayre for £71 Euros including drinks. Not bad.
All in all, I would recommend this place and will visit again, but only if I come to the area again on holiday.
If you are local, give them a try for sure.
They do take-away too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    45
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Can highly recommend this Indian restaurant. We visited it twice and on both occasions the food was outstanding, the price very reasonable and the service excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david63martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry England
Level Contributor
218 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“What a Let Down.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Visited here first week in June, wish I hadn't bothered, all the reviews gave a good rating so thought as I love curry best give it a try. To my disappointment it was bland (and I had the Madras Chicken Tikka), we had starters 2 mains rice,nan chips 2 drinks each and the total was 65 euro.
I wont recommend this one soz,

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Covbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited here a couple nights ago after reading the reviews on here, the service was great and the price was reasonable too, the staff we very helpful regarding my nut allergy also.
The food was fairly decent too, although I have had more flavoursome curries before even though I can only handle a korma or similar spice level. Maybe the hotter ones are more full of flavour, I wouldn't hurry back but I wouldn't advise people to avoid either.

Helpful?
Thank R-Burgess-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Still Top Quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had to try it again on our latest visit, just to see if they were still serving the same superb quality food. Yup, they're still at it. Tried something other than my usual Buttered Chicken and was yet again transported to gourmet heaven.
Bit disappointed that the charming "Madam" has returned to India and taken with her something of the special ambiance of this place, hence one star less. However, the boys are doing a grand job.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MatureTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Licorne also viewed

 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to O'Licorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing