We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”
Review of O Assador

O Assador
Ranked #27 of 52 Restaurants in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional portuguese restaurante with charcoal grill, house specialities and internacional cuisine
Dundonald, Belfast.
Level Contributor
380 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The food was ok, definitely nothing special. Portions were fine but there was way too much olive oil on the vegetables ! Dessert choice was poor. Service was fine and staff friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2020vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear friend
we normaly use a litlle of olive oil with vegetables and boiled potatoes maybe it was to much for you and i feell sorry about that, you should speak with the waither to bring other vegetables because that´s how it work´s´,nobody likes the same things it is not like home,about the desserts we have about 30 or more including fruits,cakes,home made desserts and ice creams and i use to be a cliente is well and don´t think it´s so poor of choices like that.
hope to have you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    52
    24
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Having read the reviews we were very disappointed with the food which was very average. My starter of tuna salad was ok so was my partners melon and ham but the main course of prawn and squid kebab was poor to say the least 2 prawns and quite small this was much better elsewhere, definitely would not recommend or return

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear friend
i don´t know if this review it´s really about this restaurante because we don´t have melon with ham in our menu since 3 years ago but to answer you about
our kebabs are standart but made with wild prawns and great quality of squids but because we like to have our clientes satisfied next time you should get 3 prawns,
maybe wen you come to this área you should visit our restaurante to really now us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Vile food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

On the last night of our holiday at the Velamar we did not want to go too far, despite knowing the majority of the restaurants to the right of the hotel serve food of a low standard. Mistake. Finally ended up at the O Assador, which is the last restaurant in a line... I had carrot soup which was watery and tasteless, my husband's garlic bread was stale and just dry slices of white bread. I had "roast turkey" to follow which was accompanied by the greasiest chips I have ever seen. I could not eat the turkey, which was swimming in grease. My husband, like a previous reviewer, went for the mixed meat kebab, which came hanging on a hook with fat running off it (12.90 euros for one kebab), and like the previous reviewer, once the onion and pepper was removed there were just two bits of chicken remaining with two small pieces of meat - one of which was inedible. My husband also had the greasy chips. We left most of our food and went away feeling disgusted.
The memory of the meal turns my stomach!
I would not recommend this so called restaurant to anyone, even the atmosphere is miserable.
I might add that this was a fourth visit to Olhos and the standard of the local restaurants was pretty low, although that could not be said of the prices. Certainly the top 3 on TripAdvisor earn their place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear friend
our chips are home made fresh and normaly everibody likes it,but sometimes people are use to the frozen ones and they very diferente,about the soup normaly we have clientes wo say that they are the best in the área and i feel sorry if something wrong happens, our garlic bread it´s made of tradicional portuguese bread and it comes fresh every morning sorry if you not use to it ,tht´s why we ask if it´s everithing good to now wat our clientes prefere.
hope to have you in our restaurante to give a pleasant meal that you deserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Only average”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Surprised by the ratings, only average certainly would not return. Have had better in the vicinity. In its favour were the male staff who were very friendly helpful and talkative, but its typical of many Portuguese restaurants around and certainly nothing to write home about or rave about. The kebabs which we had were quite stingy compared to others (2 prawns only on a prawn and squid kebab) poor value. Not many people in so not much atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear friend
about having not lots of people in the restaurante of course we have the same complain,but if you come on hight season maybe the complain it´s to many people, about the squid and prawn kebab we did that the standart one only with the diference that normaly they are made in some restaurants with farm prawns (we use wild prawns)and squids are even squids (we use soft real squids),we use prawns size 20/30 but can reduce the size to prepare kebabs with 3 of them , because we like to serve well but nobody does miracles.
hope you to visit us again because we are now in a change to satisfy or clientes at the best level they deserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Nice place with good food, very friendly staff and good value. Loved the piri piri chicken and would recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanne e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Assador also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to O Assador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing