We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of O Assador

O Assador
Ranked #33 of 55 Restaurants in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Traditional portuguese restaurante with charcoal grill, house specialities and internacional cuisine
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I would consider this better than average but probably not very good, nice food, well cooked, lovely staff,

1  Thank Sham1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

thank you for the review, by the foto you have been on this restaurante
three years ago , hope you come to visit us soon because our service and food is
getting better day by day and we have now a renovate menu to try to make our guests
happy, all the best for all members of your family and you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent food and service! Always visit O Assador when in Balaia. Will be returning in June, best kebabs by far!

1  Thank pet1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

thank you for your review , we are always trying to do our best, see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The food was ok, definitely nothing special. Portions were fine but there was way too much olive oil on the vegetables ! Dessert choice was poor. Service was fine and staff friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2020vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear friend
we normaly use a litlle of olive oil with vegetables and boiled potatoes maybe it was to much for you and i feell sorry about that, you should speak with the waither to bring other vegetables because that´s how it work´s´,nobody likes the same things it is not like home,about the desserts we have about 30 or more including fruits,cakes,home made desserts and ice creams and i use to be a cliente is well and don´t think it´s so poor of choices like that.
hope to have you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Having read the reviews we were very disappointed with the food which was very average. My starter of tuna salad was ok so was my partners melon and ham but the main course of prawn and squid kebab was poor to say the least 2 prawns and quite small this was much better elsewhere, definitely would not recommend or return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear friend
i don´t know if this review it´s really about this restaurante because we don´t have melon with ham in our menu since 3 years ago but to answer you about
our kebabs are standart but made with wild prawns and great quality of squids but because we like to have our clientes satisfied next time you should get 3 prawns,
maybe wen you come to this área you should visit our restaurante to really now us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

On the last night of our holiday at the Velamar we did not want to go too far, despite knowing the majority of the restaurants to the right of the hotel serve food of a low standard. Mistake. Finally ended up at the O Assador, which is the last restaurant in a line... I had carrot soup which was watery and tasteless, my husband's garlic bread was stale and just dry slices of white bread. I had "roast turkey" to follow which was accompanied by the greasiest chips I have ever seen. I could not eat the turkey, which was swimming in grease. My husband, like a previous reviewer, went for the mixed meat kebab, which came hanging on a hook with fat running off it (12.90 euros for one kebab), and like the previous reviewer, once the onion and pepper was removed there were just two bits of chicken remaining with two small pieces of meat - one of which was inedible. My husband also had the greasy chips. We left most of our food and went away feeling disgusted.
The memory of the meal turns my stomach!
I would not recommend this so called restaurant to anyone, even the atmosphere is miserable.
I might add that this was a fourth visit to Olhos and the standard of the local restaurants was pretty low, although that could not be said of the prices. Certainly the top 3 on TripAdvisor earn their place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BellaSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear friend
our chips are home made fresh and normaly everibody likes it,but sometimes people are use to the frozen ones and they very diferente,about the soup normaly we have clientes wo say that they are the best in the área and i feel sorry if something wrong happens, our garlic bread it´s made of tradicional portuguese bread and it comes fresh every morning sorry if you not use to it ,tht´s why we ask if it´s everithing good to now wat our clientes prefere.
hope to have you in our restaurante to give a pleasant meal that you deserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Assador also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to O Assador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing