We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Average”
Review of O Assador

O Assador
Ranked #31 of 52 Restaurants in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Traditional portuguese restaurante with charcoal grill, house specialities and internacional cuisine
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply Average”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this place with high expectations but it simply failed to live up to them. The food was average at best and I would recommend the Steak (Chicken or Turkey I believe) in mushroom sauce if you are after a decent sized meal for a reasonable price! The sides however were poor, cold dry chips and very bland vegetables! Avoid the garlic bread! Average at best!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephSmith0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
thank you for your review and im sorry if something been wrong with
your meal, ì am always serving and asking if the meal are good so you can tell
me to bring other chips or vegetables, about the turkey it is chicken and i hope you come to try
some other of our dishes because that one all the restaurants have it, all the best .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    53
    24
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I would consider this better than average but probably not very good, nice food, well cooked, lovely staff,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sham1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
thank you for the review, by the foto you have been on this restaurante
three years ago , hope you come to visit us soon because our service and food is
getting better day by day and we have now a renovate menu to try to make our guests
happy, all the best for all members of your family and you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and service! Always visit O Assador when in Balaia. Will be returning in June, best kebabs by far!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pet1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
thank you for your review , we are always trying to do our best, see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundonald, Belfast.
Level Contributor
405 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The food was ok, definitely nothing special. Portions were fine but there was way too much olive oil on the vegetables ! Dessert choice was poor. Service was fine and staff friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2020vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear friend
we normaly use a litlle of olive oil with vegetables and boiled potatoes maybe it was to much for you and i feell sorry about that, you should speak with the waither to bring other vegetables because that´s how it work´s´,nobody likes the same things it is not like home,about the desserts we have about 30 or more including fruits,cakes,home made desserts and ice creams and i use to be a cliente is well and don´t think it´s so poor of choices like that.
hope to have you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
531 reviews
482 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Having read the reviews we were very disappointed with the food which was very average. My starter of tuna salad was ok so was my partners melon and ham but the main course of prawn and squid kebab was poor to say the least 2 prawns and quite small this was much better elsewhere, definitely would not recommend or return

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inacio g, Manager at O Assador, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear friend
i don´t know if this review it´s really about this restaurante because we don´t have melon with ham in our menu since 3 years ago but to answer you about
our kebabs are standart but made with wild prawns and great quality of squids but because we like to have our clientes satisfied next time you should get 3 prawns,
maybe wen you come to this área you should visit our restaurante to really now us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Assador also viewed

Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to O Assador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing