We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing holiday”
Review of Clube Maria Luisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clube Maria Luisa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at these lovely apartments. I have stayed in Olhos d'Agua six times before (the first being in 1985 and the last 2005) but always at the Quatros Irmaos Apartments which have been wonderful. This year that option was not available until July so we thought we would try these having often walked by them on trips to Maria Luisa beach (and beyond) in the past. They were wonderful, the place was extremely quiet and I assume this is because the season has not yet started properly.

The facilities are fine (although I would have preferred a few more cooking implements;- fish slice for turning eggs, tongs, corkscrew, bottle opener. Plus large mugs for tea (we bought a couple and left them behind but I doubt they will stay in cupboard). I also would have liked to see instructions for microwave and hob.

The apartments are kept scrupulously clean by a lovely team of maids - we were only there a week and had two towel changes and beds made every day.

The garden and pool area is beautiful and you could hardly hear anything there apart from birds singing.

Sandra the Receptionist (who we saw the most) was lovely - so helpful and pleasant and she got us a fabulous deal on our airport transfer on our last day.

I would definitely return.

For those who do not know - Olhos d'Agua is a wonderful place - it is more built up now than in 1985 or 1997 (the first time I went there with my husband and children) but is still fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laneydix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Clube Maria Luisa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

Myself and my partner have stayed twice at these apartments and they were perfect for what we wanted, which was a quiet relaxing holiday, with our priority being close to the beach, which the Clube Maria Luisa is, you just walk out the entrance and down some steps to the beach, perfect! The aparments are exceptionally spacious and well equipped, with everything from a four ring ceramic hob, microwave, washing machine, fridge freezer and even an iron and ironing board. Lovely big balcony and we were lucky enough to have a fantastic sea view on our second stay. Within walking distance of a big supermarket and a selection of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

It would have not been so good without the benefit of a hire car. However the apartment was very nice - clean, large and well equipped. I liked the location - being so close to a lovely beach. As stated in previous comments the bar was not open (but then it was the middle of November and in any case we would probably not have used it). Neither were there any bars in easy walking distance. (Each evening we drove into Albufeira for live music at the Rock Cafe Bar and The Sir Harry Bar). I did like the pool area with it's garden setting.
The early morning cock crowing and some dog barking was a bit annoying. Since it got dark at 5.30pm (being November) it would have been nice to have a couple of English channels on the TV (as there was on a previous Algarve holiday - BBC1/Film 4).
However - all in all it is a very nice place to stay and we will probably return.
Travel tips-
The cups are very small. I suggest you retain your cardboard cups from the plane.
Also, take a walk 200 yds east from Olhos de Agua (along the beach is the tide is low -otherwise through the 'dunes'). You will the see an amazing system of wooden stairs and gangways leading to the cliff tops. Then go to the cliff top in front of the Porto Falesia Bay hotel for a fantastic view.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Avistatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The apartments are spacious and basic and you get what you pay for, can't fault that. Staff were friendly but just to note a few precautions:
1. It is not a 15 minute walk from the town. It is 30 mins at a fast pace to the new town along a main road or over an hour to the nicer old town. The party area is the new town.
2. The beach is nearby. The weather was poor when we were there so we didn't use this but I am sure it would be good during nice weather. The beach has one restaurant and the beach is not a main beach. This is in Albufeira itself.
3. Wi fi in all rooms? No. It is only accessible in the main communal area or around the pool. It is fast and slow depending on the time of day.
4. Opening times. Our transfer dropped us off at lunchtime between 1pm and 2pm. The place is closed then so we had to wait. The receptionist was having her lunch and saw us through the window so let us in after 20 minutes and then made a point of it being her lunch. We were then told it was full? Saw at least 5 other people all the time we stayed? Most days we were around the apartment the receptionist was on her "lunch break" for about 8 hours a day and was hardly rushed off her feet to make a point that we turned up at inconvenient hours....
5. The bar and restaurant were closed all the time during our stay. Surprising for a full apartment complex of five people despite being full? We were offered the vending machine as an alternative which comprised of a packet of biscuits and a lifetime supply of chocolate milk. There is a supermarket just up the road which is basic.
6. This apartment complex is in the middle of nowhere. Taxis to town are 8 euros and reliable.
7. Pool and sun beds are pleasant.
8. Beds are good if you like concrete. But I suppose you get what you pay for.
9. Cleaner likes to make a nse before dawn as does the rooster in the garden.
Overall, a budget apartment block ideal if the weather is nice. Buy your own food and don't expect a beer or any food on site, that is a 30 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bensons2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Could not fault the apartment itself , very spacious and clean . Staff very friendly and efficient . It was just the comlex itself . This is the first holiday my husband and i have been on where we were told the apartments were full ( when we asked for room 37 ) and never had a conversation with anybody . Where did all these people go !!!! . Just silence day and night. We all like a bit of peace and quiet but this was like a graveyard . We like to sunbathe around the pool area and cool off in the water now and then , but the pool was absolutly FREEZING . Went down to the beach , which i must say was lovely , and the steps are not that bad although a bit of a challenge when it,s hot . Not enough facilities on the comlex for us . It would have been nice to have the bar open or to purchase snacks when lying around the pool but sadly nothing available . The Clube Maria Louisa was a bit too isolated for us , down a dimly lit road to a dead end , with the constant barking of dogs coming from the surrounding houses and the early wake up calls from the local roosters . We stayed at the Club Praia Da Oura in February with facilities on your doorstep and actually mingled with other guests , it,s nice to meet other people !! Not our type of holiday at all , but we all like different things i suppose . When we return to Portugal ( which we love by the way ) it will be back to Albufeira .

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the second floor to have the best views , no,s 38 to 40 are very nice . Sun in the m...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Just back from a really fab time in Clube MARIA LUISA , Arrived there on fri afternoon was shown to my apt by Sandra a most wonderful host, Requested a second floor apt in which i was given on the Sunday by another helpful Lady Called Nadia This second floor apt was just beautiful , great sea view etc etc, These apts are really clean, and spacious , Would highly recommend them and will definately return ther again hoping to stay in no 40 or 37 if available????, A BIG THANK YOU TO SANDRA AND NADIA FOR ALL YOUR HELP,
Mary A, LOUTH , EIRE,

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 507MARYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Me and my partner arrived at this hotel on the 6th of October, we have travelled all over Europe before and stayed at many hotels and budget accomondations, this was the best one we stayed at (considering how little we paid!). The hotel/apartments are absolutley beautiful, set in a quiet part of Albuifera just a few steps away from the beach and two supermarkets. The hotel has beautiful clean and well kept gardens, pools and apartments with everything you could possible need.

The only downside is that if you arrive after 6.30pm reception is closed, we arrived at 10pm, it was dark and extremly quiet, even after knocking on room 43 (as disclosed on a sign) we had no luck and had to call the emergency number provided in order to gain access (the person in room 43 was called and came out to give us our key!).

The apartments are a short taxi drive away from both the new and old parts of Albuifera full of shops, restaurants and bars which offer food and merchandise at great prices! There is one restaurant directly on the beach but it is very expensive (mainly sea food menu starting at 40 euros per portion - 120 euros!!!). The beach has lifeguards present non stop who do a wonderful job and are always alert and offer good advice on swimming and dealing with the waves (which can get quite big, not reccommended for the non-swimmers!)

The apartments are very clean and the maid attended ours everyday to change the towels, empty the bins and sweep the floors which was great and reception provide you with the 'games room' passcode which you can use whenever you want (even in the middle of the night) in order to play a game of pool or use the vending machine for light refreshments.

Well worth visiting, a truely beautiful place with beautiful surroundings!

Room Tip: Next time we visit we will opt for a room that isn't on the ground floor as we were greeted by a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MimiLondon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
699 reviews
0.9 mi away
Falesia Mar by 3HB
Falesia Mar by 3HB
#5 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,341 reviews
1.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Maria Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Maria Luisa

Address: Travessa Torre da Medronheira, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Olhos de Agua
Price Range: £25 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Maria Luisa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clube Maria Luisa, is a cozy and quiet resort located in Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira, Algarve (southern Portugal). You can get here by plane, through the Faro International Airport about 30 km. From the Airport you can reach the facilities either by Transfer Service, Car, Bus or Train. The resort was built on top of a small hill, less than 100 meters from the beach. You can also take advantage of our fantastic swimming pool surrounded by a huge lawn garden. If you're the adventurer type Clube Maria Luisa can provide several activities such as excursions, theme parks, Quad, Jeep, Catamaran and fishing Experiences. We have T1 type apartments (2 + 2 pax) with TV, equipped kitchen, balconies (some overlooking the sea to the nearest beach: "Praia da Maria Luisa" (Balaia). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Clube Maria Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Luisa Apartments Hotel Olhos De Agua
Clube Maria Luisa Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing