We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little Hideaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clube Maria Luisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clube Maria Luisa
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely little Hideaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Went on a last minute getaway with a friend and was slightly anxious about what we were going to get considering how little we paid to stay here. To say we were pleasantly surprised was an understatement. The hotel is set in beautiful, peaceful gardens with a spotlessly clean swimming pool... a lovely little haven for relaxing. The beach is literally a stones throw away and offers what the Algarve is famous for...its beautiful coast. There are two supermarkets within walking distance, although the first you come to is more of a corner shop and not really adequate for self-catering. The second supermarket however is excellent and about a 10 minute flat walk away. It is in this location you can find a handful of restaurants and bars. If you are looking for a party hotel this is not the place for you but we did however walk into the harbour of Olhas de Agua (which is stunning) and it is here you can find a much livelier scene, with plenty of bars and restaurants. it took us about 25 minutes to walk into the harbour which was fine with us but may not suit everyone.
The apartments themselves were clean, spacious and well equipped with even a washing machine to use. There is a microwave, coffee machine, kettle, fridge, hob but no oven, and you may want to take a corkscrew and some dishcloths with you. We found the staff to be really helpful and friendly, although it is worth mentioning that reception closes at 6pm so if you require anything its best to do so before then.
local transport links are also very good, with buses running regular to Villamoura and Albuferia (Buses don't run Sundays). Villamoura is well worth a visit. There is also a taxi rank located just around the corner from the supermarket.
Overall cannot fault this little hotel especially for a 2 star award and the very little it costs to stay here. We were over moon we found this little gem and will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank koalamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    70
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
98
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Decided to take a last minute break for some sun and these apartments were recommended by the travel operator, they were not wrong, we arrived at 11 o clock on the monday morning, Sandra greeted us at reception and checked that the apartment was ready as check in is usually after lunch, it was and she showed us to our pool side apartment and explained everything, we were impressed and were un packed and on the beach having coffee at 12.

In the afternoon we walked 10 minutes to the local shops,following the directions and short cut Sandra had explained to us, a very good supermarket and lovely Bakery/Coffee Shop ( Caffe Creme ). Great Chinese Restaurant as well.

The apartments are nice and quiet, the pool and gardens are clean and tidy, all well maintained on a daily basis, Rooms are all cleaned daily and regular towel and bedding changes. Very well equiped kitchen which includes Fridge/Freezer and Washing Machine.
All the staff are very friendly and helpful,especially Sandra who did everything she could to make our stay perfect

Unfortunately no Bar or Restaurant but we went self catering as we like to use local retaurants and Bars and enjoy sitting on the balcony having a drink late and it was no inconvenience to take our own drinks and snacks onto poolside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Really, really great. We had a last minute booking and hit the jackpot. We were to arrive late evening, but got lost and arrived very late! However, we were greeted pleasantly, shown to our apartment and asked to register next morning. We could hear the sea from the bedroom; we had a nice balcony from either bedroom or lounge. We found we also had a roof terrace! Fantastic. The weather was cool and we found plenty of extra blankets as well as the quilt. Then the sun came out and we walked along the beach to Albufeira and the village of Olhus D'Agua and via the cliff path when the tide was in. The apartment was cleaned every day, the bedding was changed during the stay and towels were fresh every other day. All the appliances worked well and there was everything we needed for total self-catering except an oven. There were two supermarkets within a short walk or drive. Easy access to everywhere and on site parking. The pool was clean and fresh, but too cold for us to swim, but so was the sea! - a great disappointment. The receptionist was very helpful and told us of lots of local markets. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Florrie921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Clean spacious apartment for two. Nice to have kettle, toaster, microwave and washing machine. Hairdryer in bathroom. Unfortunately no bar or restaurant on site so must be prepared to walk 10 minutes to shops restaurants each day. We arrived too late to visit supermarket so bought water and wine from restaurant for first night. Five minutes walk to nearest supermarket but had very little stock, 10 minutes walk to larger supermarket. 5 minutes walk down to beach and about ten minutes back up. Went early July and pool area always quiet with plenty of sunbeds and shade. Good if all you want is to relax by pool or on beach. We hired a car to see a bit more round and about and get shopping from larger supermarkets for breakfasts, lunches and drinks by pool or in apartment. If hiring car be aware of tolls on N22 which must be paid at post office 48 hours after use of road and not before. Worthwhile taking large mugs, dishcloth, tea towel, washing tablets, If arriving late buy some water etc. at airport to use first night and morning. Plenty of restaurants in main resort. Nearest restaurant was Tangerine in close by apartment complex, we did not think open at first but saw menu put up one night and tried it. We were only people there at first until one other couple came in. It has lovely view of sea. It is trying to be a bit different than most with a much more chefy menu. Prices very reasonable for quality food served beautifully I wish we had time to go there again. Great for couples who enjoy experimenting not for those who want huge plates. Calheiros was very popular reservations advised, We really enjoyed the lamb stew.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Laura186223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in May 2013 on our second visit. Great location close to the beach and the fishing village of Olhas D Agua is a short walk away. Apartments very spacious and spotlessly clean- toaster etc provided and even a washing in each apartment. Staff very helpful and courteous especially Sandra who is an angle and available to help in all situations. The private pool area is truly beautiful with lovely gardens. We hired a car as the old town and the strip are about 2/3 km away and having this available enabeled us to tour the surrounding areas (highly recommended). There are restaurants etc a shot walk away and after a night out it really pleasent to return to these lovely apartments for agood nights sleep.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank trenbane07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at these lovely apartments. I have stayed in Olhos d'Agua six times before (the first being in 1985 and the last 2005) but always at the Quatros Irmaos Apartments which have been wonderful. This year that option was not available until July so we thought we would try these having often walked by them on trips to Maria Luisa beach (and beyond) in the past. They were wonderful, the place was extremely quiet and I assume this is because the season has not yet started properly.

The facilities are fine (although I would have preferred a few more cooking implements;- fish slice for turning eggs, tongs, corkscrew, bottle opener. Plus large mugs for tea (we bought a couple and left them behind but I doubt they will stay in cupboard). I also would have liked to see instructions for microwave and hob.

The apartments are kept scrupulously clean by a lovely team of maids - we were only there a week and had two towel changes and beds made every day.

The garden and pool area is beautiful and you could hardly hear anything there apart from birds singing.

Sandra the Receptionist (who we saw the most) was lovely - so helpful and pleasant and she got us a fabulous deal on our airport transfer on our last day.

I would definitely return.

For those who do not know - Olhos d'Agua is a wonderful place - it is more built up now than in 1985 or 1997 (the first time I went there with my husband and children) but is still fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laneydix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swords, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Myself and my partner have stayed twice at these apartments and they were perfect for what we wanted, which was a quiet relaxing holiday, with our priority being close to the beach, which the Clube Maria Luisa is, you just walk out the entrance and down some steps to the beach, perfect! The aparments are exceptionally spacious and well equipped, with everything from a four ring ceramic hob, microwave, washing machine, fridge freezer and even an iron and ironing board. Lovely big balcony and we were lucky enough to have a fantastic sea view on our second stay. Within walking distance of a big supermarket and a selection of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.6 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#34 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
1.3 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
0.8 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#2 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
1.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clube Maria Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clube Maria Luisa

Property: Clube Maria Luisa
Address: Travessa Torre da Medronheira, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Olhos de Agua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clube Maria Luisa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clube Maria Luisa, is a cozy and quiet resort located in Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira, Algarve (southern Portugal). You can get here by plane, through the Faro International Airport about 30 km. From the Airport you can reach the facilities either by Transfer Service, Car, Bus or Train. The resort was built on top of a small hill, less than 100 meters from the beach. You can also take advantage of our fantastic swimming pool surrounded by a huge lawn garden. If you're the adventurer type Clube Maria Luisa can provide several activities such as excursions, theme parks, Quad, Jeep, Catamaran and fishing Experiences. We have T1 type apartments (2 + 2 pax) with TV, equipped kitchen, balconies (some overlooking the sea to the nearest beach: "Praia da Maria Luisa" (Balaia). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Clube Maria Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Luisa Apartments Hotel Olhos De Agua
Clube Maria Luisa Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing