We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest review from fussy traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Booked this hotel at the last minute......7 days before we left....looked at the reviews and they generally seamed to say it was a good to great resort.

Arrived at 2130 in the evening and was quickly checked in and directed to the restaurant before it closed which was great as we had not eaten. On return to the reception we were given a run down of how the resort operated. Shock one was that we had to pay to use the safe in the room the cost depended on how long you were staying. One week stay cost 20 Euros with an additional refundable deposit of 10 euros, I have never had to pay for a safe before. Shock two was that you had to pay 10 euros per pool towel which was refundable. Additionally to change your towel was a further 1.50 Euros per towel. Luckily we had brought our own towels. We felt that after spending money on all inclusive that it was a shock to have paid out 30 euros instantly.

We were delivered by golf cart to our room which was great, we were in block A which was right next to the pool and amenities. The room size and standard was disappointing as it was a so called superior room. The child's bed was a fold up camp bed, which is not what I was expecting for my 10 year old daughter. The room is bare and we cannot see what makes it superior in their rating, having spoken to other guests during our stay the general consensus is that the room s are a poor standard. Another guest told us that the difference between basic and superior is the balcony table is nicer and there is a TV in the superior room. We got over this as we spent little time in the room.

We were happy in block A as it was close to everything, but be warned if you are early to bed it is hard to sleep due to the noise from entertainment which goes on till around midnight. We did enquire to move room which the hotel said they could move us to H block which is more central to the complex. We declined as we stayed up for every night and was so close to everything. During the stay the wardrobe door fell off as I was sliding it. I phoned reception and they instantly sent someone to come and fix it. Very impressive.

The pool was lovely. There was no real urgency to reserve a sunbed, although as soon as we were up, we would put our towels down. This was at about 8.30am, on our way to breakfast. There was plenty of choice at this time and we would go to the pool at around 9ish and there were still lots of free sunbeds. We liked to be near the pool, due to having a 10 yr old but there is plenty of space, lots of grass area too.

The beach is really near, literally just down a short track, then down some steps, some have counted and said approx 94. I am not a walker and managed it fine, as did my 10yr old. We decided to walk to Villamoura along the beach as we didn't want to pay the 20 euros taxi. It was quite a long walk, approx 40mins, but again we all managed it. It is pretty there, there is a marina with some lovely yachts and an area with a selection office bars and restaurants. It is worth going but there isnt lot there. We used the hotel shuttle service to Albufiera one afternoon, we took the 3.30pm shuttle there, the last of 3 stops leaves you in the old town. It is easy to get round, there is a square down the road where you are dropped off and each part of it leads to shops and the beach. We didn't really like it there, it's quite busy and there are a lot of touts trying to get you into their restaurants and bars. Worth going though just to say you have been. The shuttle to get back to the hotel was was 8pm but we were done by 6 so we took a taxi back which cost 15 euros.

The food was really good. I am a fussy eater and really enjoyed the variety. There were a few theme nights, a chinesennight, Portuguese night and around the world. Breakfast was good, with full English available every day and pancakes / donuts on alternstive days.

The entertainment was good. They have their club song and dance, which was gangnam style. It was entertaining and my daughter loved it. It wasn't in your face, the team just danced and you could join in if you wanted. The evening entertainment was good too, different things each evening, either in their theatre or on the terrace. It is typical holiday entertainment.

Overall it was a lovely holiday, the only let down was the room and the charge for changing towels. We would not go back again because we like to visit different places but if you, like us, are looking for a relaxing holiday, sitting by the pool, having a walk on the beach, in the middle of nowhere, with people like you, then this is the place to go.

I am a very fussy traveller and this reviews a 100% honest. ENJOY!

Room Tip: If you want to be near to the amenities, request a room in A-E blocks but remember they may be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDG105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 2,290 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just returned from 9 night stay at the Adriana Beach Club Hotel, 2 adults, 2 teenage girls (18, 15) and had a *** GREAT TIME ***.

We had booked a hire car for airport pick up - GOLDCAR rental via Holiday Auto's - they will be avoided in future see a separate review for that experience!

The Adriana is 'out of town' so the car was v.useful to visit a few places during the holiday (Faro Old Town, Zoomarine dolphin show, Albufeira, Villamora, The Mall) - you can actually walk to Villamora along the beach but it's about an hour so you need ear plugs :)

Hotel welcome was v pleasant with fizzy wine and golf buggy to room. We had two rooms, which were pretty basic across the road from the complex with a 6ft square 'almost a balcony'. We'd booked a 'standard room' via 'LOWCOSTHOLIDAYS' who had then booked a 'basic room' with the Adriana! - the Adriana reception were very good at sorting this and we moved to a standard when two were available after a couple of nights which had a decent balcony and more room space in the main complex. Cleaning staff were super efficient and the room was kept very clean.

We thought the outside bar area was a bit quiet on our first night and then about 200 people turned out from the 'theatre' show adjacent to the bar! - aha missed that! ... the entertainment then continued on the terrace until about 23:30. The evening entertainment was mostly provided by the EXCELLENT 'ANIMATION' team who work amazingly hard day and night so all credit to them.

The hotel grounds are REALLY well maintained and lovely, lush and spacious.

I've no idea what time people get up to 'towel the loungers' - v.early for sure - but we could always get four at the pool around 08:30 and you could always get some to take out onto the grass if you missed the boat.

The food was great for that 'buffet help yourself' type fayre, you could always create something interesting and tasty from the various things on offer - OK after 9 nights it was nice to return for a chili and other UK staples & some decent cheese! - the chilled wine and beer on tap in the dining room was very acceptable. The all inclusive bar is great - not a big fan of the cocktails which were pre-prepared and sweet - but beer, G&T & soft drinks on tap is nice (8x G to 2x T seems to be the standard mix unless you suggest otherwise)

The weather was fantastic, mostly 30's , the beach is down - & up :( - 90 steps but is lovely sand and stretches for miles both ways with a gently shelved entry to sea and life guard on duty. . .you can walk along to a nice beach bar after about 20mins.

So all in all a great break and highly recommended - well done Adriana

Room Tip: Make sure you have, check with hotel, a standard room (i.e not basic)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rich_harding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

An excellent choice if you want a good all inclusive resort. The food is great, all the staff are so helpful and friendly from the reception staff, the restaurant staff, bar men and cleaners. We travelled with three kids and they had a brilliant time,the kids club kept them entertained every day. One of the best holidays in the algarve. The only negative we had was a charge for each towel change. Overall a fantastic holiday and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

First time to this hotel and so impressed.The grounds are extensive and very very well maintained.Lawns everywhere where you can relax under a tree on a sunbed and let the world go by.There are a lot of different birds about so if you like bird watching take som binoculars.We even saw 2 foxes on site plus bats at night.
We where in bloc z which is the furthest away from the reception.Ive heard reports of its 20 mins away,what a load of rubbish its about 5 mins and a great walk.Room again was bigger than we expected spotless inside.As said beds are a bit hard.
Staff wise i have never seen so many at a hotel and they where all great from cleaners to Dorilla on reception.
Got a 15 hr wifi pass for 15 Euro for my phone which wasnt bad as you have 3 months to use it,make sure you log out each time though.Had a couple of problems at the start as its new but again Dorilla sorted it for me.We also forgot our code for safe so phoned reception and the porter was at our room in 10 mins to sort that ,so great service.
The site is basically in 2 parts, small pool where the grill and small restaurant is and main pool with large restaurant is .We ate mainly in the grill as its quiet and some great food.The meat and fish is top quality and you can go from one to another to pick what you want.
Entertainment wise we played volley ball twice a day and water basket.Theres also football pitch 6 tennis courts 3 boules and 2 volleyball courts.They did water arobics where they pushed you hard,latino dancing ,stretching and bingo etc.All the animation staff where great ,big thanks to Laurent ,Oceane and Norman and all the team.
The hotel is remote but thats why we chose it,we walked along beach to Villamora but it was scorching so got taxi back 15 Euro.Had a great meal there .
Used bus from hotel to go to the Old town of Alberfura ,dont bother with the strip.
We didnt use beach as i need shade as suffer from prickly heat.This time i took 180 mg of fenafexadine a month before and during trip.I hardly had any rashes which was amazing and the few that come up didnt itch.I put hydrocortasine cream on and they went down,
Met some great people of all nationalities whith doing the games .
All in all a great family complex that you will love,its just so relaxing and no idiots about.
Oh and yes i was the one with the Stoke city shirts on all week.They where washed every night.
If your going soon you will love it so ENJOY

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gasmancheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at the Adriana for 7 nights in July, we hired a car and the hotel was easy to find but is slightly off the beaten track. We were very impressed with how clean the hotel is, the staff take great care in ensuring that every inch of the hotel and its grounds are spotless. Check in was fine, nothing special, just quick and no nonsense.

Our room was in A block and was very close to the main area of the hotel. This had its advantages (handy for popping towels down, it was 7.20am by the end of our stay and great for popping to breakfast in the mornings) but it also comes with disadvantages. The evening entertainment could have been in our room, it was so loud and goes on well into the night. On the nights when the children were too tired to stay up It was difficult getting them to sleep with the noise being so loud. But, they did and we just got used to it. The entertainment is varied and we felt catered for everyone.

Our room was a large superior double. It was very clean, smaller than we had expected, we were all in together, more of a studio I'd say but nice all the same. The balcony was a nice size and overlooked the beautiful gardens. The beds are very hard, lots of others have mentioned that in their reviews and they are right but its all down to personal preference.

The food was great, varied, fresh and plenty of it. As a family of four we all have different tastes and we all had plates full of different foods. Breakfast, lunch, evening meals and snacks were all well prepared, a wide choice for each sitting and great service from the restaurant staff. The only point I would raise is that as someone who does not eat/drink dairy I had to ask each morning for soya milk. It was never a problem, the waiter/waitress would pop off for a couple of minutes and come back with a carton of soya milk. I would have liked the non diary option to be readily available which would mean not having to ask each day. You could fill up with fresh water at many water stations through-out the resort and the all inclusive ice cream was fab, lots of flavours and totally unlimited!! The children loved it.

We didn't visit the two other restaurants on site, they were further into the complex and away from the main area. We went for a nose and they had the same food, just smaller restaurants. There is also another pool by these restaurants so people staying further into complex have this as an option instead of the walk to the main centre each day.

The staff spoke many languages and along with the British the hotel had many French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese and German visitors. We liked this, it added a more cultural feel to the holiday.

The entertainment around the pool in the day was great fun and not pushy, the staff are always polite and the children thought the gangnam style dancing was brill. The 'aqua gym' is also a good activity and the other activities were equally as good, providing something for everyone. We didn't use the kids club, there was plenty to do around the pool. There is also mini golf at the hotel which was great for the children. We took a walk along the beach into Vilamoura, only took 10 minutes, the beach is beautiful, the hotel has direct access with their own sun beds.

There is a handy shop on site lots of pool toys, gifts and newspapers. It was reasonably priced too.

We took some trips out, we had the car and we like to see other areas of the Country. Vilamoura was beautiful. The boats and marina are spectacular, we also went to Albufeira to the markets and shops. This was also nice, very different to Vilamoura and as we left you could see the bars filling and we were stopped every two minutes by people asking us to eat in their restaurant. The hotel runs a free bus service into Albufeira, you just have to book at reception the day before.
We also had a day at zoo marine which was fab. We all enjoyed it, great shows, well run and lots to do.

We would go back without a doubt, we had a lovely holiday, we would just request a room a few blocks away from the main area next time, but all in all a fab week with lots of fun to be had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ches1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the Adriana (2 adults and 2 teenagers). Beautiful hotel in a lovely clifftop location. All the amenities are 4 star except the "basic" rooms which need updating and the quality of beds and bathroom need improving. We stayed in block AB, which is across the main driveway, but only a short walk from the rest of the resort. Staff were friendly and helpful, food was excellent with plenty of choice to suit all tastes. Grounds are well maintained and there are plenty of sunbeds in the gardens and at the quieter pool near the Grill restaurant. Short walk to the beach (down 92 steps)which has sunbeds and a lifeguard on duty. All in all a great, relaxing holiday. Would recommend this hotel, especially to families.

Room Tip: Probably worth avoiding the "basic" rooms if you can afford to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alirocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Fantastic hotel and staff, travelled with family, 2 adults and 2 children aged 7 and 10. The food here is the best I have had out of all my holidays, excellent grill/barbecue restaurant, and superb buffet in main restaurant. loads to do during the day.........volley ball, tennis, table tennis, mini golf, basket ball, and not forgetting the animation team which provided entertainment for the children as well as for the adults, this resort also has it's own theatre with fun filled entertainment in the evenings.
Definitely recommend this hotel and would go back next year.

Room Tip: AA/AB blocks are way out of the resort across the road which is part of the resort but a long way fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhavnitapithiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
2.5 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,069 reviews
2.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,458 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,014 reviews
4.4 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.8 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort

Address: Apartado 6115 Rocha Baixinha, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-379, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range: £94 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an area of 17 hectares, Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort has 439 rooms, providing family environment, diverse service offer and quality care. Situated in Olhos de Água, in the municipality of Albufeira, in the Algarve, this Resort is housed in natural environment and enjoys a privileged location next to the beach, guaranteeing the peace and privacy of our guests, yet ideal for holding events. The proximity of the city of Albufeira and Vilamoura tourist complex, two tourist destinations and animation of the region represents an alternative for those who prefer to explore the potential around the hotel. The All Inclusive concept takes in this hotel its highest expression, given that waiver include the diverse range of services provided. Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort offers a huge variety of buffets in our 3 Restaurants: A main Restaurant and two theme restaurants(availability and time-tables may change and are subject to seasonal demand), which include meat and fish dishes, as well as vegetarian options, freshly baked pizzas,soups, pasta, salads and desserts. Throughout the day, in addition to the main meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner), there are snacks. Drinks are also included, throughout the day and during all meals. There is water, soft drinks, beer, wine and other alcoholic drinks. In our hotel, the All Inclusive offer theme nights, where our buffets change and give you the possibility of enjoying new dishes: Portuguese, asian, tropical, mexican and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarina Beach Club Hotel Olhos De Agua
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Albufeira
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing